We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Knot Guest Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pine Knot Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
908 Pine Knot Ave., Big Bear Lake, CA 92315   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Winter Weekdays
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Wow, a wonderful place to stay! Great for family or a romantic interlude with your partner. You are really away from it all yet very close to the shops/restaurants. Gloria & Larby were great hosts!

Our cabin was spacious & very well appointed. It fit our family of four very nicely with the kids in a separate room. The fireplace was charming & we thoroughly enjoyed the jacuzzi. There was a complimentary bottle of cider, chocolates & bath salts to go with the jacuzzi. The candles were a lovely touch; not forgetting the toiletries in the bathroom were luxurious. And the skylight above our bed... very nice indeed.

The kitchenette was well stocked with cooking equipment & there were 2 mini fridges!

There's a playground for kids & a barn with the owners' lovely llamas which you can take for a walk & 2 rabbits to pet/feed.

Seems in winter you can tube or sled down the slopes in the property but we were in Big Bear a week or two too early!!

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting & our cabin
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    33
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
52
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2006

We decided to stay local for Christmas but wanted a taste of winter so we decided to look at Big Bear Lake. We have never visited before and didn't really know where to begin. Of course we checked out tripadvisor.com first. I couldn't believe the number of "excellent" ratings this place got! So my boyfriend called and they had a cabin available for the nights that we wanted.

Two and a half hours away from our home in Hollywood, we loved going from 75 to 35 degrees (on our own terms). We arrived and found that the cabin was walking distance from the village area - a plus for us! Gloria met us at the front desk and sold us some additional firewood which came in handy over the three nights that we were there. The cabin (# 20) was up on a hill and had a view of the llamas' barn. It was a very cozy but not too small cabin with a great in room jacuzzi, kitchenette, very comfortable bed (with high threadcount sheets!) and great fireplace. We were a short drive to tubing, ski areas and shops and restaurants as well.

It was a lot of fun for us and we would go back again in a minute. I recommend Peppercorn's restaurant and the Pub for live music.

  • Liked — location, jacuzzi
  • Disliked — walk up a hill in the snow - but it got us out and about. :)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

This is a great place for families and couples. The attention to detail is amazing for the rate. Candles, sparkling cider, nice soaps and cozy blankets all greet you in your cabin. Our children loved the llamas and the bunnies. The caretakers let them feed the animals carrots and the kids loved the small playground and exploring the property. We'll be back for a snow visit!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We have many family memories at these cabins. Summers, winters, and in between. We have stayed in every cabin on the property (except the newer loft) with 2-6 people and always enjoyed it. They are perfect for any family or group. They are always the best deal in big bear, especially if you want to be near the village. It is dog friendly also. We recommend highly two newer restaurants, Jacalita mexican and Mambo carribean. Enjoy

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

I can't say enough about Pine Knot Guest Ranch.It was like home only better.You're close to everything, you don't need a car.It is located right up the mountain on the same road that goes through the village. My daughter and I walked all over the village.The ranch has lamas that you can take out for walks.They are Dolly and Willow.My daughter had a blast walking them and so did I.The people are very friendly.They treat you just like family.I'll never stay anywhere else.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We just spent a nice, peaceful weekend at Pine Knot Guest Ranch for our second anniversary. We stayed in Cabin 12, which is directly above the office. It's a one-bedroom, with a fully stocked kitchen and a single-person jacuzzi. While it was small, my wife and I thought it cozy. At first, we were a little anxious about the room being above the office, but we had nothing to worry about. The ranch was quiet, and our vacation was tranquil.

The staff at the ranch were nice and personable. The grounds are well kept, and the llamas and bunnies are adorable. The ranch is located in a quiet, residential area, removed from the hectic, touristy Village. But, the shops and restaurants are still in walking distance.

Big Bear is beautiful in the summer, and we recommend Pine Knot Guest Ranch as a perfect getaway.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Knot Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Guest Ranch

Address: 908 Pine Knot Ave., Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins on two peaceful acres. Walk to the Village and lake. All cabins have in-room whirlpool tub, fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen, and porch. Free Wi-Fi. Pet friendly. Visit our bunnies and take the llamas for a walk. Sledding when snow permits. Most cabins for 2 or 4, one for up to 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Pine Knot Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Hotel Big Bear Lake
Pine Knot Hotel
Hotel Pine Knot
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Knot Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.