We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intimate and fun....eye to eye with nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge

Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge
43285 Goldmine Drive, Big Bear Lake, CA 92314 (Formerly Moonridge Animal Park)
909 584-1299
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Big Bear Alpine Zoo is a rehabilitation facility offering injured, orphaned and imprinted wild animals a safe haven; temporarily while they heal or permanently as they are unable to survive on their own.We are extremely proud that 90% of all the animals brought to us for rehabilitation are successfully released back into their native environment.Those that remain with us on exhibit are either too injured or have been imprinted by humans and can not be released back into the wild to care for themselves.
phoenix, az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“intimate and fun....eye to eye with nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

did this just as "something to do", and now realize what a shame it would have been if we had missed the opportunity. not your typical zoo. great staff and you are pretty darn close to animals you would have seen in the wild before we two legged animals moved in. don't miss this, especially if you have kids along (although just as interesting for adults). try to get there in the mid morning when the bears are tearing into breakfast. awesome!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    59
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was my husband's idea, and I'm so happy we went. The staff was very friendly and gave us interesting stories of individual animals they kept..they have some beautiful amazing animals that you may not see in your typical zoo.

I loved it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We took a break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to a Zoo where it is completely funded by donations. The animals can not be rehabbed enough to return to the wild. One is missing an eye, another a leg, and yet they are cared for by volunteers and survive to say "hi" to folks who come to visit. There are several families of rescued Wolves, Grizzly Bears, Black Bears, and even a Bison, and Eagles. If you have time, slow down for a moment and see zoo that cares.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great For the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We love this zoo. It is not large, but it has a nice variety of animals, including three grizzly bears, black bears, a bison, wolves, eagles, owls, foxes, deer, and mountain lions. We enjoyed being there during feeding time, and learning about the animals as they were fed. You have a very up-close view of each animal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small zoo but big thrills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We really like the fact that the zoo is more of a rescue than a zoo. Most, if not all, of the animals were injured at one point and the zoo nursed them back to heath.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Region, CA
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.