We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good wine great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Diamond Tavern

Black Diamond Tavern
42172 Moonridge Road, Big Bear Lake, CA
909.366.0871
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Steakhouse, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Black Diamond Tavern offers contemporary, American cuisine in a mountain approachable setting. With a bar, lounge and community table for casual dining and a fireplace framed dining room set with booths, Black Diamond can provide a range of experiences from intimate dining to a more interactive, social environment. Black Diamond provides weekend live entertainment along with 7 day a week happy hour from 3-6.30pm.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food good wine great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner house made chips are great. Step above bar atmosphere. Food is good. Decent wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    29
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for an early dinner on a Friday. Our server was really nice. We enjoyed some of the happy hour specials (really cheap beer - price not quality) and liked our food. The food was just alright though, not great. I got the fish and chips and he got the French dip sandwich. The ambiance is very casual but nice enough. Because it was happy hour, we got quite a lot of food for not much money. Our only complaint was one server (I think another reviewer even mentions her too) who literally would not stop bothering us. She was not OUR server, she just seemed to roam the restaurant bothering the customers. Weird. If they would get rid of her (or just make her stop), then I would have given it a higher rating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faunskin, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good for late night and live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our group of six enjoyed the meal and the live entertainment. The drinks were generous and the prices were very fair.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, funny servers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Okay, first part. A cute little server comes by and asks how we are doing. We are near the end of the meal and my teenage daughter is a slow eater. The server asks if she is done and my daughter tells her no. No joke, not even 30 seconds go by and the same server comes by and asks my daughter, "Are you done with that?" My daughter was so polite, but looked at my wife and I like she just got sucked into the Twilight Zone.

The food is average. It hit the spot after a long day of ziplining and lake viewing. The pizza crust seemed a little store bought, pre frozen, not handmade. The salads were average, nothing to shout from the mountain tops. The fish and chips were the saving grace. Fried fish was flakey, decent portion, and the malt vinegar aioli was spot on.

Instead of bread, they bring out fresh potato chips. Look out cholesterol here I come. But, I lost the will power, and asked for a second serving.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice romantic spot! Great food! Nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stopped in for dinner. The restaurant was dark and they had candles lit in the fireplace, my wife thought it was romantic. I ordered a pizza called the Hangover, it was different and very delicious (chorizo, jalepenos and pineapple). My wife had the Calamari appetizer and some of my pizza. Staff was friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Diamond Tavern also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Black Diamond Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Diamond Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;