We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo Loco

El Pollo Loco
41383 Big Bear Boulevard, Big Bear Lake, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 41 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Yuma, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Whenever I get the chance I have to satisfy my craving since there isn't one where I live. Love the Chicken Tortilla Soup but just the regular pieces if chicken are my favorite.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good healthy meal for fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What can you say bad about zesty broiled chicken breast with rice and beans. Yum!
My favorite condiment is the green avocado/tomatillo sauce for dipping chicken or chips.
This place must be popular because it was quite crowded at 2PM. Service was fast.
I feel they are a bit pricey but hey I was on vaca..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I am Loco for this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were looking for a place to grab a bite while waiting to check into the hotel. We found El Pollo Loco. I had seen several of these around so I wanted to try it out. I had the 1/2 chicken. The pricing was reasonable and the chicken was very good. I had cole slaw which was fine, but nothing spectacular. The fries were pretty typical fries in a fast food restaurant. I tried the horchata drink and thought it was very tasty. It is rather sweet, so if you are dieting, I doubt you will want it as it seems to have quite a bit of sugar in it. The only thing puzzling to me was the fact they served tortillas with the meal. I really did not see anything to use them for. My wife had the chicken salad. She thought it was fine, but she is not much of a fan of Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Poor service, not the typlical EPL quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The service was slow, the food tasted stale and did not have the quality of food at the El Pollo Loco we typically go to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Franchise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Always ave loved the chicken there..Best fast food mexican food.So happy no hamburgers there
Good service..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Loco also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to El Pollo Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo Loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.