We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Town Buffet

China Town Buffet
40989 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
(909) 866-7887
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 39 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Big Bear Lake, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The owners had two restaurants - China town buffet by the airport which was closed down and a second restaurant on Big Bear Blvd newly named Dynasty. The China Town Buffet had some Dept of Health issues and then there were some legal issues with their lease (rumor) which caused them to consolidate to the Dynasty. The food is below average - at least what I had there 6 years ago. My church group would go for lunch buffet which was stale (not many eat here so food sits). I went back for lunch buffet recently, hoping for a change since there is only one restaurant now, but it was the same. However, friends wanted Chinese for dinner one night and I had shrimp and snow pea dinner and it was very good. It was fresh not buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, Ok Food, Friendly Owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family was craving warm Asian food, and we found this place amongst the sea of cafes, diners, sports bars, and steakhouses. Although there seemed to be a Japanese restaurant, it looked closed, so to Dynasty's Szechuan food(that's what it said on the brochure), we went.

While we do appreciate that even such a restaurants exists at Big Bear, I can't say the food was too memorable. Being a vegetarian, I order the Buddha's Feast, while my family ordered the won ton soup, almond chicken, chicken chow mein, and beef with broccoli. None of the food was terrible, but like I said, it wasn't terribly delicious either. In fact, I was expecting lots of flavor, but finding very little, I ended up adding in lots of red chili sauce (I live for spicy foods), and my family did the same, which was surprising since Szechuan cuisine, I thought, was supposed to be spicier.

The owner and our server were very kind and very welcoming. I felt a bit bad for our server because she seemed to be the only one serving the entire restaurant, but she was still attentive and prompt. Overall, I'm a bit ambivalent.

Glad to have this alternative, but wished it was a little better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not to good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

this restauant has been going down hill fast. the selection is meager the quality marginal, and the mongolian bbq terrible. the plates were dirty the ingrediants were spilled all over each other. all together a poor dining experiance

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“RESTAURANT CHANGE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The owner of this restaurant has closed the buffet and has moved the Mardarin Garden Restaurant (formerly located at the Big Bear City Airport) into this space. The restaurant name has been changed from the Chinatown Buffet to the Mandarin Garden and he has retained the mongolian BBQ at this location. While the food off the menu is good when the owner (Barry) is cooking, it can be hit and miss otherwise. The mongolian BBQ is always pretty good since you pick your own ingredients, sauces, and spices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Not As Good As It Used To Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I used to visit this restaurant every week. The mongolian BBQ is still pretty good however, the regular buffet is not near as good as it used to be. On our last visit the food on the buffet had been sitting there for a long time and it was luke warm and crusted over. They used to have an ice cream machine for self-made desserts but they got rid of that a long time ago. Unfortunately, we no longer go to this restaurant as often as we used to due to the lower quality of the food overall.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Town Buffet also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to China Town Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Town Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.