We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non pretentious, good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Bear Restaurant - CLOSED

Happy Bear Restaurant
40824 Big Bear Boulevard, Big Bear Lake, CA
(800) 766-9776
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Non pretentious, good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you want to go to a local place, with good burgers, this is your place. Kid friendly, although didn't let my kid pick up things from the floor since it was not the cleanest. Staff really nice and food was great. Make sure you bring cash

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    2
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We stopped in for breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We originally planned to have breakfast elsewhere, but it was the slow season and many restaurants were closed certain days. So after trying to find someplace to have breakfast, we found this place. The food was average. Nothing special here. The staff was very friendly. We almost didn't eat here because they are a cash only establishment and that's a bummer for us since we usually don't carry cash.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a delicious breakfast that fueled me for the day of Snowboarding! The egg dishes are delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a great place. Had a nice lunch. The staff was great and the service friendly. We will be back that's for sure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat there often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We eat here at least twice during our stay in Big Bear for the Big Bear Lake Antique Classic Car show each August. Good food, good service, friendly staff and owner.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Bear Restaurant also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Bear Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.