We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot in the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel to your Saves list
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too hot in the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Service was good, pool and spa were just right. Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning in our room. We only had a ceiling fan and another stand alone fan. Very tough to sleep until it got a little cooler in the wee hours of the night. Furniture was a little too rustic for my taste. The tv was set in a armoire, but the door wouldn't stay open completely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    69
    22
    14
    17
See reviews for
94
98
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Small but roomy cabin with comfortable beds and plenty of space to "hang out". Friendly staff. Plenty of movies to "rent" at no cost. Nice swimming pool. Quiet location despite being close to main road.. Convenient to Village and to Alpine Slide.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We arrived on a thurs. afternoon we checked in and was shown were our room was. When we walked into our room it must have been about 85 degrees. Surprise! no air conditioning. It was about ninety outside (granted there was a heat wave that week). Thankfully there was a small fan left in our room for us.That evening we realized that there was so little lighting you couldn't see to get into your suitcase. There was one overhead light attached to a ceiling fan that had a forty watt bulb. The other light was a bedside lamp with a low wattage bulb and a dark shade, that was it. When we tried to go too sleep it was so hot even with the fan right on us we couldn't sleep. Get this, we paid 160.00 per night for this place. We asked to check out early but was told that we had paid for two night so no refund. Our television did not work so they had to send someone twice to finally get it to work. My review is do not come to this hotel it is way way way overpriced. I would give it a 2 star rating just because it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that your experience was not satisfactory. Unfortunately, here in Big Bear we don't always see high hot temperatures, but occasionally we will have a "heat wave". Because of this, many property's in the Valley do not have Air Conditioning.

I am pleased to let you know that we have began updating our TV service with new channels and a great picture. It is my hope that you will give us another shot; I know you will be impressed.

Best,

Ryan Vasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I loved it there I did call because u do want to get the cabin over the motel it was worth the extra money. My kids loved it there so close to everything we walked a lot and we cant wait to go back. The place was clean and they had free coffee and hot cocoa in the lobby. They also had games and videos u can rent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had an amazing view from our lake front cabin and well worth the price for some well needed R & R. They have small cabins to large 5 bedrooms cabins. With the trees all throughout the property it gives you a very warm, woodsy feel. Great customer service and very clean room. We will stay here again for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Loved the location and access to the beach. The property is beautiful and the cabin was perfect for our family. Definitely will stay here again! Only thing we would like to see some improvement in was the TV channel selections!

Room Tip: Variety of options and this provided the specific kind of accommodations we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Classic Big Bear stay for those that know Big Bear and do not expect 4 star luxury. Big Bear Frontier has both Cabins and Hotel Style Lodging. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin not lake front but very close with a view of the lake. Most of the Cabins are attached to other units, so for the most part you are not in an independent/individual Cabin (a few are stand alone cabins). There are trees everywhere and the property felt very "woodsy". There are two sections to the property, some are closer to the lake while other are a very short distance away across the street (not a busy street). ALL units (hotel and cabins) have access to the lake. The exterior of the whole property is well maintained and has a quaint appearance. Cabins have BBQ's (bring your own BBQ utensils/only BBQ brush was provided) and moderately stocked kitchens with just the basics (ours had no dishwasher so break out those dishpan hands). No A/C so if traveling in the summer be aware. Our unit had stains on the carpet, small tears in the sofa, and a loose panel on the stove, but it had comfortable beds and seemed clean, although I did notice PETS in the other units were all over the furniture. Everything in the cabin was functional. There is also a pool, which we didn't use but the kids seemed to enjoy. Staff was very efficient and friendly and eager to please. At booking I made a specific request which they pleasantly took care of. Free WiFi was pretty decent. I would recommend Big Bear Frontier to anyone looking for a basic no frills stay in a beautiful mountain setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to Barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.