We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bear vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Newbury Park, California
1 review
“Big Bear vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Loved the location and access to the beach. The property is beautiful and the cabin was perfect for our family. Definitely will stay here again! Only thing we would like to see some improvement in was the TV channel selections!

Room Tip: Variety of options and this provided the specific kind of accommodations we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    20
    14
    17
See reviews for
93
95
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Classic Big Bear stay for those that know Big Bear and do not expect 4 star luxury. Big Bear Frontier has both Cabins and Hotel Style Lodging. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin not lake front but very close with a view of the lake. Most of the Cabins are attached to other units, so for the most part you are not in an independent/individual Cabin (a few are stand alone cabins). There are trees everywhere and the property felt very "woodsy". There are two sections to the property, some are closer to the lake while other are a very short distance away across the street (not a busy street). ALL units (hotel and cabins) have access to the lake. The exterior of the whole property is well maintained and has a quaint appearance. Cabins have BBQ's (bring your own BBQ utensils/only BBQ brush was provided) and moderately stocked kitchens with just the basics (ours had no dishwasher so break out those dishpan hands). No A/C so if traveling in the summer be aware. Our unit had stains on the carpet, small tears in the sofa, and a loose panel on the stove, but it had comfortable beds and seemed clean, although I did notice PETS in the other units were all over the furniture. Everything in the cabin was functional. There is also a pool, which we didn't use but the kids seemed to enjoy. Staff was very efficient and friendly and eager to please. At booking I made a specific request which they pleasantly took care of. Free WiFi was pretty decent. I would recommend Big Bear Frontier to anyone looking for a basic no frills stay in a beautiful mountain setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Cabins are super small and for the price you can get a much better deal with a lot more room. Boat dock only good for fishing off of..not accessible by boat. Walls are paper thin. Zero privacy lots of traffic noise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Great customer service, well Maintained room and clean, conveniently located steps to big bear, highly recommended. Great views, great establishment. I stayed a full week to relax it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here a few weeks before Christmas, it was wonderfully white. We had a great time family of 4 and a dog. We stayed in a one bed cabin with fire place that had a mud room to take off your wet stuff to keep a dry carpet. Fire place was lovely cable was not only a few channels and they were staticey. Shower, heated worked great. The kitchen said full but didnt have much as far as pots and pans measuring cups etc.. full size fridge pool is tiny but clean and jacuzzi was hot! Would stay again even though you have to book and pay in full in advance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent location. Close to Downtown area, restaurants and Marinas. Clean cabins of various size, well maintained pool area, basketball court and also pet friendly lodge. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Have choice of private studio to 3 bedroom cabins or hotel accommodations next to the lake. Some hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times already. We enjoy the Studio Cabins with the Whirlpool! Carpets do need some updating and the water heater does not support filling up the tub, but we do enjoy the fresh air and the atmosphere! Always our first choice when going to Big Bear. Super close to the Village also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to Barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.