We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient Cabins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel to your Saves list
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent location. Close to Downtown area, restaurants and Marinas. Clean cabins of various size, well maintained pool area, basketball court and also pet friendly lodge. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Have choice of private studio to 3 bedroom cabins or hotel accommodations next to the lake. Some hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    80
    24
    14
    20
See reviews for
100
109
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times already. We enjoy the Studio Cabins with the Whirlpool! Carpets do need some updating and the water heater does not support filling up the tub, but we do enjoy the fresh air and the atmosphere! Always our first choice when going to Big Bear. Super close to the Village also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I were looking for a nice relaxing and quiet get away. We found it at the Frontier We rented one of the cabins and found it clean and very comfortable. The staff was great and very helpful with any questions that we had. Would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and have always had a wonderful time. This last visit was terrible though! We had room 119 right by the lake with its own private deck. At first we thought score, until we saw the giant spider webs covering the private deck, the people kicking soccer balls into your car as they play in the parking lot, loud/ drunk crowds on the deck and wrost of all the people smoking right outside your bedroom window (which of course was open due to no air conditioning and summer heat) and the smoke wafting into your room as you try to sleep. The roof was also exceptionally loud any time anyone in the room above took a step or rolled over in bed. Needless to say we will not be staying the the motel ever again! The cabins on the property however have also been great. If only we could do the trip over again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The frontier was a nice place to stay, walking distance to the village. My only big problem was no AC it was hot hot hot!!! We were on the second floor with no AC. The beach was a great place to watch the fireworks, but you could not swim in it. It was not really nice water. Next time we will try a cabin in the shade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect! A Great location close to downtown, such an awesome room at a low price. Clean and neat, with a comfortable bed. The whirlpool tub was amazing. So happy with their dog friendly atmosphere. The pool and jacuzzi was relaxing and convenient. We had a lil BBQ pit in the lawn and were able to enjoy a nice lunch at the picnic table. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Speings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We always have a great time at frontier and think the location is perfect! It's family & dog friendly and I would recommend it to anyone! It is walking distance to the village and lake which makes it even more perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to Barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.