We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO CHARMING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel to your Saves list
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SO CHARMING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Honestly Its the perfect place to go to unwind, relax and be surrounded by a stunning lake and nature!

LOVE the front desk guys. RYAN is a dream to work with and was great with updating us with weather info when we called the days leading up to our arrival. he ensured my sister and I had cabins right next to each other and we did! Just a totally cool guy ~ made the checking in experience less of a head ache. Filled us in on restaurants that would work for me (Being that IM vegan and i love wine! )

LOVE the cabins
*Quaint
*warm
*clean
*whimsical
*affordable
*great location!
*kitchen/fridge
*cute patio you can sit and drink in/have a cigarette w/out bugging other customers.
*right next to the lake!
*near fabulous restaurants and antique shops

I really dont have anything to complain about! loved it!

Will def come again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    23
    14
    18
See reviews for
95
102
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
I.E.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the third time we've stayed here. Every time we were greeted professionally, courteously and in warm spirits eagerly awaiting to make our experience an unforgettable one. This time was completely different and so much so that we will not be staying here again. The G.M., Ryan Vasquez accommodated us as much
as he Professionally and rightfully should have because as any and every business owner knows, every customer is important. And every dollar counts. Especially in this Economy. The poor quality of the room (Cabin #5) was shocking. While spacious and in a good location it smelt of Pet urine & Feces. I understand this place is " Pet Friendly" but even people with pets do there best to make sure there house does not smell of urine and feces when Guests go over. As such the management and staff need to do more to ensure the Rooms/Cabins are cleaner and comfortable for all guests. So many awesome places to stay in Big Bear Lake we will not miss this one.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just awesome, what a well-kept secret. There is no reason to have your own cabin in Big Bear when you have access to this...It was clean, well-situated, quaint and AWESOME.

The service was great, Ryan the general manager greeted us personally and kept tabs with us during our 4-day stay

Room Tip: get a cabin, not the hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Grabbed this place at the last minute for a trip to Big Bear (wanted to get up there before the snow hit). Stayed on the motel side (not the mini-cabins).

Pros: Room was clean, had a refrigerator and microwave. Didn't hear any neighbors (although I'm not sure I had any- parking lot was fairly empty). Late check in procedure was quick (call number on sign by front door, operator asks which hotel you're at, asks your name, then gives you a four digit code to access a panel with your room assignment and key).

Cons: Bed was a little lumpy, pillows were flat, shower had weak water pressure. Wall heater was very noisy and only had two settings: off and full blast. There was a portable heater in the closet that I pulled out and set on low. It made less noise and kept the room from getting too cold. TV had very few channels- not even ESPN.

In sum, I'd go back if I needed a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay in a lakefront cabin #29. It was very romantic...whirlpool, fireplace, and king size bed all in the bedroom. It's in a great location to everything and has a beautiful view. The staff is great and they even hung up a birthday sign for my boyfriend to surprise him. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don`t expect any luxury otherwise you will surely be disappointed.
This is a simple mountain hotel. It is clean, they clean the rooms daily but do not do the dishes.
Shower was just ok. Bathroom had no tub. Room small but ok.
This was nice to have a kitchen as we were with our kids so we could fix our dinner some days.
There is no front desk if you arrive late (you have to call a number to get instructions for your keys).
Nice fireplace in our chalet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The cabin had an electric fireplace (a heater with glowing bulbs to look like a fire). This did not even work consistently. The heat broke down completely on Christmas Eve. They interrupted up evening 3-4 times and finally brought in 3 space heaters. So instead of a cabin with a real fireplace (told repeatedly by desk clerk - we DID have a fireplace), we awoke to people climbing around trying to fix the heat. I went to the lobby in hopes of sitting in front of a fire and was very rudely told she was way too busy to start the fire. When asked about the message I sent through Booking. com, she said nobody ever reads those. When I mentioned about no heat in our room, she said, "yeah, that's why I spent over $600 to try and get it fix on Christmas day." I had sent the message before our arrival because I read other reviews that indicated a virtual 'toss up' for comfort and staff. Unfortunately, despite trying head off problems - they ignored the message or any hopes for a joyful Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Location: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to Barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge
Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel Big Bear Region, CA - Big Bear Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Frontier Cabins & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.