We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amangela's Sandwich and Bagel House

Amangela's Sandwich and Bagel House
40729 Village Drive, Big Bear Lake, CA 92333
(909) 878-0015 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Restaurant details
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

With construction still going on in front, it took some time to figure out just how to get inside, but it was well worth it. We had delicious sandwiches, beer and wine and enjoyed the live music playing all afternoon. There are both inside and outside tables and a friendly vibe in the air. Very enjoyable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    41
    20
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Palms, California, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great variety and good sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Amangela's is right on Village Drive in "The Village" section of the city of Big Bear Lake, and right now it's a bit difficult to get to because half the street is torn up for some renovation or improvements or something. But it's worth the hassle because they do a very good job of providing bagels and sandwiches.

Bagels? Something like nine different varieties and a plethora of toppings. Sandwiches can be put on a bagel, four or five kinds of bread or focaccia bread. Then you have Boar's Head meats, cheese, vegetables (cucumber? jalapenos? red onions? yep) and several kinds of dressings. They could steal the old Burger King slogan of "Have It Your Way" and be right-on.

Sandwiches come with either chips or a small container of potato salad, which doesn't seem to have any mustard at all, but some ripe olive bits and chunks of green onion. Their on-line menu price is incorrect -- it is now $8.50. But the sandwich was big enough to share, we took it down to Rotary Park next to the lake along with our store-bought sodas and had a pleasant picnic. And you can get a coupon on line for 10% off, so that helps. I kind of wish I lived in Big Bear so I could try all of their varieties of sandwiches, though with the many combinations and permutations available that may take several years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food, service issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I had breakfast here. We both had the salmon beagle and lattes. The food was good, but there was some sort of issue, and we ended up waiting a bit too long for this to have been a quick breakfast spot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Sandwich Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stop for lunch in the Village. Very large portions so be careful when you order. Food was awesome and it was a great choice for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Unfortunatel for the restaurant it was in the middle of a town renovation, but the place was busy in spite of any setbacks.
Pretty good menu for a small place and the food was good, especially with their own homemade breads and rolls.
Will definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amangela's Sandwich and Bagel House also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Amangela's Sandwich and Bagel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amangela's Sandwich and Bagel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.