We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox & Goose Inn

The Fox & Goose Inn
Pudding Pie Hill, Wigley, Peak District National Park S42 7JJ, England
01246 566335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Wigley
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a late review. I haven't eaten here recently but did a year or so ago. We were considering The Fox and Goose as a wedding venue and found all staff to be extremely helfpul and accommodating. We ate fish and chips one evening and they were delicious. Also visit regularly for a pint and find the views alone worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    22
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Very tastefully decorated, loved the conservatory dining area, beautiful views. Would like to go on a sunny day to sit outside-if we ever have any!!! The food was beautiful and we mentioned this to the chef also. Good value for money. Can't really recommend this restaurant enough but will be visiting it often. One area to consider is doing a bbq outside on sunny days-would draw us in every time and means quite affordable for families to come too

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

cant find anything good to say about this visit.Went for Sunday lunch with friends they had sold out of beef only pork or chicken offered. Starters served cold asked for it to be warmed up arrived back tepid. Ordered a glass of Rioja and was served Merlot. WILL NOT RETURN

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had a very excellent lunch in this pub. Came across it by accident when out walking. We didn't eat at the time but have gone back since and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great pub serves good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We followed the new signage to this fab pub, real ale on offer and a super menu at realistic prices. It was early so we had no problem getting a table but most were reserved. I had fish and chips and I'm pleased to report it was excellent, real chips and fresh fish perfectly battered...and the mushy peas were good too, my wife had the goats cheese salad, she loved it. We're back today to try lunch with friends, sitting outside on the new decked area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Goose Inn also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Fox & Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox & Goose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.