We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper option in a very special place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huilo Huilo Canopy Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Neltume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huilo Huilo Canopy Village
Save
You added Huilo Huilo Canopy Village to your Saves list
Km 55 Camino Internacional Panguipulli | Reserva Biológica Huilo Huilo, Neltume 7650185, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Curico, Chile
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheaper option in a very special place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a unique and very enjoyable experience staying in a very unique part of Chile. The treetops cabins are very basic but are peaceful and a good place to base yourself for a day or two. The brewery is a short walk up the hill, prefect for a beer and a pizza after a day exploring the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    11
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
18
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concepcion, Chile
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place isn't easy to get to, there's a long drive but it is worth it. The place is so unusual in design and the area is stunning. I'd recommend camping so you can enjoy the hotel's services but without having to pay for a room.... Then at the end of your stay, have one splash out night in one of the fabulous rooms!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Awesome place in Patagonia, Southern Chile. Worth the journey through Los Rios, past some spectacular lakes volcanoes and mountain ranges. You need transport to fully appreciate this beautiful region, and accommodation can be a bit sparse, but not at Huilo Huilo. You get there by following the International road through Los Rios, which goes past Huilo Huilo to the border with Argentina. The hotel is an extraordinary concept, located in a private rainforest reserve between 2 stunning lakes and a volcanoe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The canopy village is a great place to stay when visiting Huilo Huilo. It's less expensive than the main hotels, and there are plenty of amenities: a large kitchen to cook in, a private bathroom (not inside of the treehouse, but in the main building just 50 yards away), and a cozy lodge with multiple fireplaces and a large balcony (where private events are probably held, but it was open to canopy villagers when we stayed there). The treehouse had electricity and two space heaters. It was stocked with cots, sleeping bags, and a small table.

Although we were staying in the Canopy Village, we had full access to the main hotels, where there was wifi, restaurants, and excursion booking. Our only mistake was not bringing along enough groceries and having too many meals in the expensive hotel restaurant. If you have a car, there ARE small grocery stores down the road in Neltume. We did enjoy the cervezeria, which is very close to the Canopy Village and which serves beer and some food (we had pizza) until 8pm.

Huilo Huilo in general took some figuring out. The place is privately run and pretty much every excursion available requires a fee. There are no maps and really no room for non-guided exploration. We did two hikes from the reserve entrance, and both had modest fees (about $10 usd). We also walked up to Puerto Fuy and back to the Huilo Huilo lodges on a trail that goes along the river. This was a nice hike but wasn't printed on any maps. We fished with guide Miguel on the Rio Blanco, which was a real treat. Note that you aren't allowed to go to the river at all without Miguel, so it's worth hiring the guide. With your own car, it costs about $120 usd per person. We kayaked in the lake from Puerto Fuy. As usual, this involved not just renting kayaks but going out with some guides. The guides were nice: they carried water for us and took our picture. The kayaking was about $30 usd per person, and the views were nice.

The buildings all around the Huilo Huilo complex are spectacular: from the Puerto Fuy lodge to the Cervezeria to the Cafe del Bosque by the park entrance to the Magic Mountain Lodge. Just seeing it all is an experience and worth the trip to Neltume and Huilo Huilo. At the point (early 2013), it all seems relatively undiscovered by travelers outside of Chile and Argentina.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in a treehouse for two people and enjoyed panaramic views from inside and all along the walkway leading around canopy village. Treehouses had light and heating which was an added bonus I hadn't been expecting! Unique concept, very good price and a very fun way to spend a couple of nights in such a beautiful place. We visited the hotels but genuinely think canopy village is the most entertaining place to be if you want to wake up surrounded by nature. All of the Huilo Huilo reserve is amazing and there's lots to do, either wandering around the different attractions or opting for paid excursions. The only annoying part was trying to leave, we waited three whole hours outside on a Sunday for a public bus to show up, perhaps the hotel, given that they promote sustainable tourism, could have clearer information about bus schedules or more reasonable group transfer prices (not everybody travels by car!). All in all an amazing time was had though, I'd go back to canopy village again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huilo Huilo Canopy Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huilo Huilo Canopy Village

Address: Km 55 Camino Internacional Panguipulli | Reserva Biológica Huilo Huilo, Neltume 7650185, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Neltume
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Neltume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Huilo Huilo Canopy Village Chile/Neltume

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huilo Huilo Canopy Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.