We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nothofagus Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nothofagus Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Nothofagus Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 55 Camino Internacional Panguipulli, Neltume, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neltume
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Magical place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotels are amazing! Sometimes it resembles the scenes of Lord of the rings. It makes you feel in other world. It's the most peaceful place in wich i have been, the service is very nice, the food is great. Trust me, you'll have the best sleep ever. It's also good if you want to go with your couple.
The only critique that i could find is that the prizes are very high but the service isn´t 100% perfect. There are numerous of amateurs working in positions that need more expertice and quality. For example, people that works in the spa.
If you want to go, be prepared for a long trip by car or to pay a lot for a transfer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
45
108
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Arrived at the hotel after a long drive, no porter to be seen. Room excellent at the top of the circular shaped building. Italian buffet evening meal - frankly poor/bad! Hotel being extended - so a bit like staying in a building site. Most of the common areas - Spa, Bar, etc - were really tired. The overall impression is that the owners have taken their eye off the ball - especially where device is concerned. the staff are really friendly and helpful went asked, but have not been trained to ask first. In terms of food and service, the hotel Marina de Puenta Fuy, next to the ferry slip is much better. In fact, my wife and I would have preferred staying at that hotel - much more geared to couples than Baobab.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Great destination hotel! We live in northern Chile so were able to book a package through LAN Chile Airline that included airfare, transportation from Temuco arpt to Huilo Huilo and back to arpt, all meals ordering off the Chef's Menu, and select 1/2 day excursions. Trip from Temuco to Huilo Huilo was a 2 hour scenic drive. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival and our standard room had been upgraded to a superior which is a room with a balcony -- great view and very comfortable room. No air conditioning which could be a problem during summer but window opens as well as door to balcony and no bugs!! Sure you could request a fan from front desk if necessary. Restaurant service was excellent as was the food. Excursions were very good as were the guides. English speaking guides can be requested. There are two self-guided hikes by the hotel taking you by the Fuy river. There is a brewery across the road from the Baobab -- excellent beer! We scheduled the XL Condor canapy (zip-line) for the following morning. Guides were very good -- felt as safe as I could considering what it was I was doing. I've never experienced such a feeling before -- neat, neat experience!! My husband booked a volcano hike the following morning which was described as 4 hours but didn't include travel time to and from so keep that in mind. He loved it. I scheduled a botanical hike and very much enjoyed it. We didn't utilize any of the spa services. Meant to get to the pool but never made it. Weather in March (4th - 7th) was highs in the lows 80s and maybe 50s at night? Did get fog on one of the days but still very comfortable temps. Felt very comfortable in hiking clothes at restaurant -- not at all a stuffy place. Lots of excursions to pick from that you'll see upon arrival at the hotel. A truly wonderful destination experience -- loved every minute of it -- just don't have any complaints. We arranged with front desk for our transportation out the following day and no problems were encountered. We loved it and can't wait to return for a winter stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Virginian
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The hotel is fantastic. Beautiful wood everywhere, a spiral ramp that has all the rooms on it, a stream running through the floor and pretty views out of huge windows. We are in the lap of luxury in the middle of nowhere. We went up to the hotel’s roof to get the panoramic view of the area. It’s really stunning with the two snow peaked volcanoes in the distance.

There’s been wonderful attention to detail in making the hotel look very natural. It’s not “perfect”--you see a few cracks in the windows repaired by covering with branches and some insulation sticking out here and there --but on the whole it’s wonderful. It also seems to be under construction throughout the grounds, but the main hotel and pool are complete. The pools are great--one indoor and heated, one outdoor and two hot whirlpools.

The whole atmosphere is very relaxing.

We also booked two excursions with the hotel and had an excellent time on each--both were private.

This was the only hotel we stayed in that charged for Wi-Fi, though.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Had an overnight stop at the Hotel Boabab. It is an amazing building made almost completely of wood in the shape of an upturned cone with a spiral ramp running up the inside leading off to the rooms- think snail shell shape. Our room looked out over the snow capped volcanoes, and was well equiped and large enough. Bathroom too was well designed. Our only complaint was that it was too hot and with underfloor heating difficult to turn off. We ate good evening meal, and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
The staff were helpful, but I was glad I have a little Spanish, as they spoke no English
Very convenient for catching the ferry at Puerto Foy
Don't miss visiting the Huilo Hulo waterfall- it was spectacular and hotel reception will give you free entry tickets

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Baobab hotel in Huilo Huilo, around three kilometers from the Pirihueico lake in Chile, surrounded by beautiful trees. The Baobab is an amazing place in all senses. The hotel is interesting, beautiful, comfortable and original. The rooms are very nice. We made three guided tours. The guides are young and enthusiastic. Everything is around eco-tourism. Walking in beautiful woods recognizing different plant species or following a beautiful river. Take good trekking shoes if possible. If not, sneakers with a non slippery sole will do. The food in the hotel was excellent but a little pricey and there are not other options. Everybody in the hotel was helpful and the service was very good.

  • Liked — The whole experience was great
  • Disliked — No other options where to eat
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nothofagus Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothofagus Hotel & Spa

Address: Km 55 Camino Internacional Panguipulli, Neltume, Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Neltume
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Neltume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nothofagus Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Nothofagus Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nothofagus Hotel & Spa Chile/Neltume

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nothofagus Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.