We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preseli Venture is SO worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Preseli Venture

Preseli Venture
Parcynole Fach, Mathry, Fishguard SA62 5HN, Wales
+44 1348 837709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Mathry
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preseli Venture are a long established adventure provider offering sustainable adventure activities and walking holidays on the inspirational Pembrokeshire coastline in Britain's only coastal National Park. We provide top qulaity Coasteering, Sea kayaking and Surfing adventures at the very best beautiful and wildest locations, well away from the crowds and we cater for everyone: adults, families, groups, couples, individuals, schools and college groups. Come jump on in, no experience needed and join us for the experience of a lifetime on our Adrenalin Cocktail weekend breaks, family adventure holidays, sea kayaking courses and longer holidays for adults, right through to our Endorphin Blaster half-day adventures and self-guided eco walking holidays. We offer our lovely 5 star eco lodge accommodation on the coast as the perfect base from which to enjoy the adventures and exploration of the stunning National Park coastline.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Preseli Venture is SO worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I am currently studying abroad in London, England for the semester. I heard about Preseli through my school and on a whim booked tickets. It turns out Wales was in the process of one of the worst storms they've had in ten years. Most would think an adventure filled weekend full of outdoorsy activities would be ruined... but not this weekend. My group and I ended up having the time of our lives, both the instructors and the Preseli staff welcomed us with open arms and made the weekend so worthwhile. Coasteering was insanely incredible, as was the hike and the sea kayaking. Honestly, I would recommend Preseli Venture to anyone who wants to have a memorable weekend!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
A lovely first review to start the 2014 season off with - thanks Jen :) Yes, it was a little bit breezy and rainy over the weekend but we are soooo happy to hear you had a fantastic time. It was great to experience the Welsh coastline with you and have an awesome time 'whatever the weather'! Alec :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mendham, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They really take care of you at Preseli Venture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I added a trip to Wales onto a business trip in Manchester, and really wanted to go sea kayaking. Preseli filled the bill perfectly, plus I added on a half day coasteering. First, let me say that the lodge has a wonderful energy about it. The food is home cooked and delicious, the rooms and lodge are simple and nice. The whole place seems very well thought out (really loved the drying room and in-floor heating). Despite it being mid-November, the weather was great and with all the gear Preseli provides, you don't need to worry about the cold. The guides were helpful and enthusiastic, dispelling any fears the group may have had about jumping off of cliffs into the ocean. I am in my early 50s, and it was all great fun. Don't hold back on this adventure, you'll love it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
A brilliant idea to add us to your business trip! Thank you for your lovely review and joining us. It was great to welcome you and have fun exploring the coastline with you. Glad to hear you were cosy and warm in and out of the sea :) Alec & the Preseli Venture Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was introduced to Preseli Venture somewhere in the region of 10 years ago and was blown away by my experience. From the moment you arrive you made to feel welcome in a comfortable lodge sat in some stunning scenery.

The accommodation is homely, quiet, and warm. The bar has a pool table, sofas and wood burner for them chillier nights. The food is fantastic from the Friday night meal right through to Sunday lunch.

Coasteering was a new activity which I'd never even heard of before but gave it a go and have loved it ever since. The thrills and spills of scrambling round the coastline and leaping into the unknown are exhilarating. Our knowledgeable guides knew where the water was deep enough to safely jump and where it was better to scramble. You never feel pressured into jumping, everything is at your pace.

It probably sounds like an advert for Preseli and to a degree it is - if you've never tried anything outdoorsy, then try these hassle-free guys! Its why I've been coming back nigh on yearly for the past 10 years and I'll continue going back in the future.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
It was so great to welcome you back to Preseli Venture and adventure with you along the coast. Thank you for your kind words and we're happy to hear we kept you well fed and you had fun adventuring with our guides :) We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future for more Pembrokeshire exploration and relaxing accommodation. Thanks again, Alec & the Preseli Venture team.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best first Wedding Anniversary ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our half day coasteering. I was so impressed with the whole experience from getting the day booked with Alec to the day itself.

Preseli is so well set up for the activities they offer which I haven't experienced elsewhere before-so there is no fear of thinking you will be cold as they have wetsuits to fit all sizes tightly (as they should be!) and additional layers which really make all the difference. The instructor's on the day had such a great attitude to how they delivered the activity and were very approachable and friendly.

I also loved the added value of explaining to everyone about the animals and plants in the habitat we were using which I think is very important, as for me, coasteering is not only about climbing around and jumping off rocks.

It was very enjoyable and I urge everyone to book now! We will be back hopefully next year! :-)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
That's great to hear you enjoyed your coasteering adventure with us. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We have many different sizes of wetsuit as we like to keep all our adventurers warm and cosy :) and yes, your're right...it's not the full experience without learning a bit about the beautiful animals and plants that live on and around the stunning coastline. Looking forward to welcoming you back already, thanks again. Alec & the Preseli Venture team.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Sun, Sea, and Seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had an incredible 48 hours at Preseli this weekend. I know it's October, but the weather could not have been more perfect. We had a small group (9 for all but one of the activities, when we had 13), and I think that made for an even more amazing and intimate experience. I'd recommend booking a weekend that's less busy. I think our small numbers made for an even better experience. The outdoor activities were everything I'd hoped they'd be. My only complaint was that the pace was a little faster than I was expecting, but that, too, was exciting, because I had the opportunity to push myself beyond my comfort zone, which is sort of what the adventure weekend is all about.

The instructors and staff are wonderful, personable, and great fun! There was a great balance of guided activities and freedom to explore. It really felt like a family by Sunday morning! Viv's cooking is to die for, and there were always vegetarian options. The bar is reasonably priced, the lounge is cozy, and the beds and bathrooms are lovely! They're sort of summer camp-style lodging, comparable to the nicer hostels I've stayed in in Europe.

I would HIGHLY recommend a weekend in Wales with Preseli. If possible, arrive early on Friday and hang out in Fishguard! It's a lovely little town with many colorful locals who are happy to chat and share terrific stories.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for a great review :) And we are glad that you had such a blast! Sorry if the pace seemed a little fast sometimes, but as you said it is all part of the adventure and sometimes it is necessary so you get the full experience! The weather was amaazing for October (I think you guys brought it with you!) and it was a great little group! As for your recommendation to pop into Fishguard it is a great place with lots of history and some interesting characters ;) You know where we are if you ever fancy coming back! Lots of love from Libby and the Preseli Venture team xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preseli Venture also viewed

Fishguard, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Preseli Venture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preseli Venture, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.