We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge to your Saves list
STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge
Skarsjon, Skinnskatteberg, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A unique place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you have to opportunity to visit this place while in Sweden, you should really do so. You live in the natural forest, without any electricity, make your own fire, go to the spring to get water, enjoy the lake, the sauna or just simply wander around in the beautiful surroundings. The staff is very helpful, the place has all the necessities (such as knives, candles etc.)
Its a nice place to stay for a romantic weekend as well as with family or friends - simply being there is an adventure, and resting for the soul.

Room Tip: The timmerkojan is a bit bigger and has bedclothes, while you have to bring a sleeping bag to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas S, Owner at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hi!
We are glad to hear that you like your stay!
Hope to meet you some other time =)
Regards, Andreas in Kolarbyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

First of all, I would like to disclose that I actually visited the Kolarbyn lodge a few years ago but had not written this review, but since the dropdown menu provided options for a year back, so I selected April 2013. The reason I am writing this late is that I read an article on Yahoo Travel and I just wanted to share my experience.

I went their with my office mates and it was an unforgettable experience. Yes, it is a good way to completely cut oneself off from devices. After natural light fades away, it is candles and fires. We went in October so it was very chilly at night. We carried some food and it was a good meal around the fire. The wood was chopped aleady and all we had to do was buy it. The lake is a great spot for a pleasant dip and then after that we headed in to the cabin to warm up with the sauna. The toilet is an eco toilet which is shared by all visitors. The lodges are very basic and yet we had a great time chatting around the fire over drinks and hearty conversation. The staff members were very helpful and friendly.

The experience was great in terms of the feeling one gets when simply being away from all the trappings of our day to day life. Without light, it gets pitch black and the night sky is dotted with stars. The area was very peaceful and silent, apart from what little bit contributed by us visitors. The thing to take note is that the impact on the environment is as minimal as it can be (when compared to big hotels and resorts). It was also a reminder to us that such spaces of unspoilt nature are increasingly harder to come by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas S, Owner at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello!

Great to hear that you like your visit in Kolarbyn.
Thanks also for writing about your stay and that you are happy about it.
Maybe meet you some other time in Kolarbyn =)
All the best, Andreas in Kolarbyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Granted this place is not for everyone...
• You sleep on wooden bed in a wooden hut
• You have to walk to the composting toilets in the dark
• You have birds flying into your cabin through the cracks above the door to wake you up
• Room service is nonexistent – you have to first make a fire and then make your own breakfast...oh and did I mention you need to get water from the well first, taking care not to disturb or displease the fairies who watch over the well?
• You have no showers, baths or running water of any variety. If you need to wash, you do so in the stream or throw yourself into to lake
• Oh – and visit in winter and it is cold...so, so cold. So to warm yourselves up you light a fire... But did I mention you first need to chop the wood yourself?

All the above are reasons why this place is so, so, so incredible. Given that it is a living nightmare for so many people – you’re guaranteed to only stay with like-minded people who love the outdoors and relish every moment with no mobile signal and no electricity. It’s one of my most favourite places to stay of all time...and I did so whilst suffering from raging flu! I dream about this place and night and am frantically plotting when I can return.

It’d be wrong of me to write a review and not mention how managing the camp managers and guides are who operate out of Kolarbyn. They are so friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable – they’ll advise you on the tastiest mushrooms to pick from the forest, identify the best places to see wildlife and will share their lovely warm coffee with you when you wake from a very late lie in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I visited this place in summer so it was hot every day (there was a storm one night, but the cabin was dry and cosy). There are not too many biting bugs in the area which was nice. The lodge is near a large lake that allows for pleasant walks in the area. There are blueberries growing everywhere and peaceful surroundings. We didn't see a moose but saw some moose tracks and droppings. We also saw a grass snake while walking and many fish while swimming and cute little red squirrels and birds that visit the lodge itself.

This is a great experience, living with nature, washing in the lake, cleaning pans and dishes in the stream, drinking water from a well and cooking on an open fire. Rowing on the lake at sunset is very romantic and you can make use of the floating sauna day or night. At night we lit out cabin and the sauna by candle light. It’s best if you ditch electric torches and mobile phones so as to escape entirely from the modern world but if you need to get back to modernity, the local town is only a 5 minute drive away.

This is the best thing I did in Sweden and I highly recommend it for all nature lovers. I am sure I would have seen more animals if I had been able to afford a tour but I was travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Thank you so much to Marcus, Andreas, Jann and Tobias for our amazing 3 night stay. We have just come back and thought the whole experience was perfect. The eco-lodges are cosy & romantic and the whole camp was lots of fun. We loved every part of our stay - moose safari (with wild sweden), bikes, dinner by the lake , mushroom foraging, boating, fishing, late night camps and more! We cannot criticise it at all - and we will definately be coming back to harness our bush craft skills. We absolutely loved this place!Especially big thanks for allowing us to stay despite the lodges being closed. I am so pleased you said we could continue with our trip, I would have been gutted to have missed out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Färna, Skinnskatteberg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Kolarbyn’s Family Expedition is a great adventure for the whole family. I was there with a group of 11, the youngest being 4 and the oldest 72. We learned how to make a fire, how to send SOS signals with smoke, use GPS to find a treasure and how to make drinking water with an old beer can, moss and coal. In between the activities, guide Andreas told us a lot about nature; the animals, trees, berries and what you can eat during the season.

Room Tip: You can book all activities seperately at Kolarbyn or you combine it with a stay in one of the cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our stay in Kolarbyn was a fantastic experience. No, it's not a plush hotel room but the coziness of the huts and the peace of the location more than makes up for any hard bed! The staff were great and we had everything we needed, including cooking equipment. There were fresh eggs available for campfire-cooked breakfast as well as bread, cereal and jams etc.There was also flour so we were also able to make pancakes with wild blueberries we picked around the forest! We booked a 3 night package with two wildlife tours which included fantastic evening meals. The lake behind the hut-village is beautiful and we took their rowboat out to enjoy the peace. The lakeside sauna is also a must!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge

Address: Skarsjon, Skinnskatteberg, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Swedish Lakeland > Vastmanland County > Skinnskatteberg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Skinnskatteber...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolarbyn Eco-lodge is called Sweden’s most primitive hotel and guests from all over the World come here to stay for a few nights for outdoor activities such as wildlife watching, hiking or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge Sweden/Skinnskatteberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.