We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puketi Heights B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Okaihau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puketi Heights B&B
Save
You added Puketi Heights B&B to your Saves list
476 Puketi Road, Okaihau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Okaihau B&B and Inns
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my first visit to the area, and could not be happier with my choice of accommodation. The room was spotlessly clean, bright and airy, and the surrounding area and landscape a little bit of heaven on earth.
Ian and Barb were great hosts, and their knowledge of the area, not to mention wines,is vast and extremely helpful for a visitor to the area, also the forest walk is a must, and very informative and enjoyable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I came here 5 years ago and had such a great experience that I decided to bring my significant other here on this trip. It was just as amazing as ever with many new upgrades that made our stay that much more enjoyable. Barb and Ian are great hosts and have a true knowledge and passion for the surrounding area. We both can't say enough good things about them and the Puketi adventure and we plan on making this a regular stop whenever we are back in Northland. We will look forward to coming back and experiencing even more in our future trips with all of the new and exciting additions they have planned.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was my first time staying here and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique experience. It is a quiet and refreshing environment with a lovely private space for myself as well as a common area that is relaxing and comfortable. It makes such a difference to have down to earth and fun loving hosts who are great company as well. I enjoyed my time, and although I sought out this accommodation for a bit of down time and the setting was more than fitting I would love to come back to enjoy a nature walk as I have heard many great things about it.

Room Tip: Just an overall wonderful experience. Relaxing in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Adventure Puketi.
The accommodation was very clean and fresh and inviting.
The location is lovely and peaceful and quiet and just perfect for relaxing.
There is everything you need and a very relaxing and private hot tub which just tops it off.
The hosts are very knowledgable , friendly and accommodating.The gardens and grounds are just lovely and the place is very well cared for.
The food was great and the fresh fruit divine.
Value for money and highly recommended to all. We've already booked our next stay at Easter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candy53, Owner at Puketi Heights B&B, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It was a pleasure to host you for your two day get away.
Look forward to your return at Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

very beautiful place to stay , the rooms are modern and clean , the gardens and the surrounding grounds are very beautiful , there are spaces to go and sit quietly to read a book and there are places to entertain and party , the hosts are very engaging and entertaining .
The pool is nice to escape the heat of the day . and the spa pool great way to unwind after a long day. the food was fresh and breakfast available to cater to all tastes from fresh fruit platters to to a sumptuous cooked breakfast, there are short walks if you are so inclined down the the hidden waterfall for a nice refreshing dip to a bush walk surrounded by native flora and birds .
i would highly recommend a short walk at 6.30 in the morning down the road approx half a km to see the sun rise from the east overlooking the surrounding valleys very spectacular look forward to our next visit to unwind and enjoy the puketi estate experience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAURITREE, Owner at Puketi Heights B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hope to see you up this way again, best regards from us all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

From the warm Kiwi hospitality to the excellent NZ wine and sparkling stars, Barbara and Ian delivered a memorable stay and are fantastic hosts. It is a little way out of town but well worth the drive- Great to be close to the stunning Puketi forest and only just out of the Main areas in the Bay of Islands. The room was lovely and fresh and the bathroom quite luxurious. Very comfortable bed and lovely views into thier garden. Enjoyed the spa under the stars and to wake up to the bird song and farm in the morning. Restful and luxurious without the price tag and handy to the Forest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely place to stay.
Very clean and quiet.The Gardens and surrounds are lovely - a wonderful oasis.
Hosts are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble they are very knowledgeable and approachable. .
I had the best nights sleep I've had in ages
The food was awesome. Breakfast was great - beautiful fresh fruit.
A must see for sure

Room Tip: All rooms are clean comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Puketi Heights B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puketi Heights B&B

Address: 476 Puketi Road, Okaihau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Okaihau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Okaihau
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puketi Heights B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.