We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are a treasure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Keefe's Bar and Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O'Keefe's Bar and Restaurant
The Harbour | Kilcock, Kilcock, Ireland
+353 1 628 7225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Kilcock
Price range: $4 - $27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: O'keeffe's rest/bar has been in our family since 1875. It is an old stone fronted building on the Harbour in Kilcock Co.Kildare. We have 4 nice turf fires burning during the colder weather and in summer we have a beer garden area at the front of the pub and at the rear of the pub. A la carte, tapas and a lunch menu are served daily with a good selection of seafood and local meats.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Staff are a treasure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have eaten here a few times and sampled many of their dishes. Food is hit and miss to be honest. Was there on Saturday 22 June and had tapas menu. Two sardines- standard fare. Three meatballs in tomato sauce. Was less than what would be expected . Sauce was no more than a heated tin of chopped tomatoes. SO bad I couldn't finish it. Had breads with oil/ balsamic dip. Toasted grill plate - which made the bread very dense and altogether was disappointing. other half had a 'curry' of sorts. Bland and standard chipper fare really. On the plus side , the staff are incredible and always manage a smile and delightful service. Wine is served by the glass from bottles, rather than dreary snipes. Beers of the world available. Pricey drinks though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had dinner in O'Keefes yesterday, it was my first time to eat here and was not disappointed. Meal was excellent and was very impressed with the quality of the food. Presented excellently and tasted great. Absolutely fabulous and staff were very friendly. Very reasonably priced, 32 euro for 2 fabulous dinners, will definitely eat here again. Absolutely excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“A Welcoming Watering Hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ireland’s Royal Canal stretches from the sea at Dublin all the way to the River Shannon, a distance of some 140 kilometers and is navigable throughout much of its length. The canal was immortalised in a popular ballad of the 1960s, The Auld Triangle, sung by a clearly drunken Brendan Behan. An interesting piece of mathematical trivia: in 1843 while walking along the canal William Hamilton conceived his formula for quaternions and carved some of his first thoughts on a stone on Brougham Bridge, Dublin, over the canal. The event is commemorated in a plaque in that location today. There is something romantic about canals, evoking as they do the slower more leisurely pace of bygone days. If you are impatient or in a hurry, this is not the mode of transport for you!
O’Keeffe’s Pub in Kilcock, County Kildare, is just one of the many interesting watering holes that spring up along the courses of such waterways and these stopping-off places seem to generate a camaraderie all of their own, whether the passing clientele is boating, cycling or motoring. Because the competition is so very keen, these places also tend to be better than average and this one is no exception.
This pub is an unpretentious establishment in an attractive setting on the banks of the canal and fulfils well the rôle it has set itself. The village of Kilcock is one of those places that has benefited from the opening of the M4 motorway which has been relieved of all the passing traffic that would otherwise clog its streets. In spite of its unreasonably high toll charge (€2.90 for a car) it proves to be a popular, quick and convenient route to and from the West of Ireland.
My family and I were staying nearby recently and we decided to visit this emporium for our evening meal. And a happy choice it was too. Between us we had soup (homemade mushroom soup), Tapas for two (and there was some left over), Dublin Bay Scampi, Haddock in Batter, and a Cajun chicken dish of some sort. The food, better than average, was good in general. And there was plenty of it. We would have preferred to have had a crisper batter on the fish. The wine here is good and does not cost the earth although it is quite expensive by the glass. It is much better value by the bottle and our Chilean Sauvignon Blanc was served at just the right temperature. Dessert was a bowl of ice creams (between five sweet-toothed people) which disappeared all too quickly. There was nothing going back here! The meal for five came to a reasonable €120 which was not expensive.
The service was pleasant and efficient and our Polish server could have passed for a native Irish girl, her English was so colloquial and idiomatic. All the staff we met were cordial and helpful without being obsequious. Bart was particularly helpful and welcoming.
The background music consisted of big band hits of the Frank Sinatra type and was played at a reasonable level. However the third time around the interest began to pall. Let’s have a change of musical scenery every once in a while please!
This is a place well worth a visit or two and, music or no music, we will certainly be back for more!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor food and extortionate prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We ordered from the Tapa's menu, we were so disappointed. Olives from a cheap jar from Lidl, 3 prawns at the cost of 8 euro, 1 slice of bread for 4 euro and chips that were described as chunky chips were just standard frozen chips and the mussel dish was luke warm. Drinks were extortionate. The lounge was warm and comfortable which was the only benefit. We have previously eaten Tapas at Picaderos in Maynooth, which is similarly priced but far more authentic and really quite delicious. We will never again eat at O' Keefe's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We walked in the door to be greeted with the lovely smell of a turf fire. The decor of the pub was tasteful and cosy. A lovely man took his time to come out from behind the bar to explain the many different food menus that we could choose from, huge options. Both our meals were delicious my husband had roast pork and I had a creamy chicken and mushroom pasta dish that just screamed....more! It came with garlic bread that actually tasted like garlic which seems to be difficult to come about in Ireland. Just a pity it's not my local :(

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Keefe's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Kilcock, County Kildare
Kilcock, County Kildare
 
Kilcock, County Kildare
Kilcock, County Kildare
 

Been to O'Keefe's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Keefe's Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.