We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sheltered bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Galion Beach

Le Galion Beach
Le Galion Beach Rd., Quartier D'Orleans, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A horseshoe shaped beach known for its kid friendly atmosphere.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great sheltered bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful little bay!! Unfortunately, recent conditions blew ALOT of weed matter into the bay, mucking up the beach pretty badly. Shallow bay great for the kids nonetheless. If you go, eat at tropical wave--Great place for a great salad!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I walked to Le Galion Beach from Orient Bay Beach. It was a bit hard to find, but we were glad we didn't give up. We were there in December, the high season, so the weather and water were perfect. The water was still and shallow, much different from the waves of Orient Bay. We were glad to be able to relax in the water for a little while without getting sloshed around. I will say, compared to Orient Bay this beach is very quiet and offers few venues in the way of entertainment. If you're looking for noise, you probably won't find it here.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A morning in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We headed to Le Galion Beach for Wind Surfing Lessons and got so mcu more. We had heard from our tour bus driver that this is the beach where many locals learned to swim as children because the surf is gentle, the water warm and a perfect place for children. He was right. The lessons were great but the beach was a terrific bonus. It seemed lightly populated with locals, a peaceful place where children played blissfully unaware that whey completed the picture of paradise.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Le Galion is picturesque and great for little ones - almost no waves in the sheltered bay and yards and yards of clear water and beautiful sand. It would be a little dull for those preferring more wave action, though! We were there on a Sunday and it definitely seemed like a popular hangout for local families... the barbecues were just being fired up when we left at about 1pm.

One note about the dirty water and smell mentioned by some posters - apparently there was a sewage / runoff leak in the area in mid May 2012 whch resulted in the beach being closed for 2 days. But all was pristine and clean again by the time we visited two months later.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Look around for a better beach..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We went to this beach June 20th, 2012 there happened to be a lot of local kids there on a field trip or something..Everything was closed for the day..No restrooms, chairs to rent, or food to purchase. There is a lot of seagrass also. The water is shallow & calm which is good for kids. Next time in the area, I'd opt to try another beach..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galion Beach also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Le Galion Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Galion Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Galion Beach to your Saves list