We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worthwhile place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)

The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)
Le Galion Beach Rd, Quartier D'Orleans 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
590 590 873121
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons) like an insider
$56*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular attraction is home to numerous species of rare butterflies.
NJ
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We actually stayed for 2 tours as the 1st guide was not as informative (maybe bec he had a rather large grp and was harder to move around the enclosure). The 2nd guide was very thorough, and said the Farm opened on 12/26/1994, then next year a huge hurricane destroyed it and owners rebuilt it. Then 3 more hurricanes through 1999 and therefore the Farm was rebuilt a total of 4 times! That's tremendous dedication and hard work and more visitors should go see this beautiful and fascinating place. There is a 10% coupon in the coupon book avail at the international airport when you land.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    140
    36
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Amazing butterflies and very educational tour. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgable. If you buy a ticket you can come back as many times as you want during your stay. I never get tired of butterflies!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & informative. Enjoyed two visits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My son was finished with his studies at AUC Med School in Cupecoy, so I visited St. Maarten (the Dutch side of the island) with the intent of helping him to pack up and come home. To my delight, he had put together a list of activities for us to do during the week of my stay. So glad that The Butterfly Farm near Orient Beach (on the French side) was on that list!

We went twice, once at 3:00 pm and once at 9:30 am. If you go in the morning, the butterflies are very active. Plus, you can watch butterflies just emerging from their chrysalis pumping fluid into their wings. Though the butterflies are less active in the afternoon, we found it was easier for us to photograph them, so you will enjoy your visit regardless of your schedule!

From the very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide, you can learn everything you would want to know about butterflies (in English or French). Our guide located a large caterpillar on a leaf and asked to place it on my hand. It immediately began forming silk threads to anchor itself--fascinating to watch. We learned how we can support the butterfly population back home, including their preferred plants. In addition to the netting that keeps birds out, she pointed out all the other measures they use to foil ants, centipedes, and other predators.

After the tour, we took our time meandering the pathways. They recommend wearing a flowery or citrus fragrance and to dress in bright colors if you want the butterflies to land on you. This worked both times that we visited.

On display for viewing and purchase near the entry/exit to the farm were some beautiful single and grouped butterflies, mounted in glass frames. I have posted the one we selected--a permanent remembrance of our visit. It is absolutely captivating in person--definitely not your average souvenir! Because the butterflies are mounted between two panes of glass, both sides of the butterflies are visible in the frame. A few of the butterflies were even more beautiful on the underside!

Entrance cost was $15/adult with free return throughout our Island stay. They offered a discounted amount for one-time cruise ship visitors (and AUC Med School students--yippee!) We decided to leave a donation in their donation box at the end of our visit, as well... hurricanes have virtually destroyed the farm 3 or 4 times over the 2 decades of its existence and the owner has painstakingly re-established it each time.

If you are staying on the Island and have a rental car, it's an interesting drive, which I LOVED--sort of a combination of the Grand Prix and the Smokey Mountains... :) There is a main road that is basically a circle around the Island. Just head for the Orient Beach area from wherever you are and watch carefully for the Butterfly Farm sign.

A great place to visit for adults and children of all ages!

http://www.thebutterflyfarm.com/visitor-information

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place was great and the people here are so friendly! I could have stayed for hours, and I think we did. It was so interesting and the butterfly's were beautiful! The lady who gave us the tour was relaxed and gave our group all the attention we needed! Afterwards, I really like a homemade bird feeder and when I told them I liked it one of the guys climbed a tree and made me one! It was a great experience!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Far better than ever expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We took our children (ages 6 and 8) and we enjoyed it as much or even more than they did. I felt that the whole place is a labour of love. The good thing is that they give you a pass for as long as your stay last in the island
if you wish to return. It is not easy to find it as the whole of this island suffers of one bad habit which is NO SIGNS. There is only one sign posted at the entrance of the turning point just before the farm but absolutely no signs guiding you to this point of interest as from anywhere.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons) also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butterfly Farm (La Ferme des Papillons), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.