We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par for the course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments

Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Belconnen Way and Springvale Drive | Hawker, Belconnen ACT 2614, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belconnen
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Par for the course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Pretty much what you expect in a non-CBD hotel/motel these days no matter what city or country you are in. I wanted to play golf while I was in Canberra for business, so it was perfect for what I wanted. A hot shower and a comfortable bed are the key criteria for me. If I want the Hyatt, I'll pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    11
    9
    14
See reviews for
17
9
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently stayed here as a family. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff friendly and the convenience to the near by shops were a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2012 while our house was being renovated.

I didn't expect much for $130 but was hoping it was clean. Thankfully it was clean. The bathroom looked like it had been recently refurnished and was quite acceptable.

The furniture is what you would expect of a cheaper hotel - outdated and not that comfertable. Beds could use updating (could feel springs etc).

It did have a slightly musty smell to it,but an open window dealt with most of that.

Quite acceptable if looking for cheap accomodation (not my normal standard when holidaying).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

If we had been in a position to inspect first, we would have made an offer of $60 for night, in desperation. As it was, we (wife and I) were charged $190 for a "double room" - as the last available room - and found ourselves in a dingy, dirty setting, Television not working and unable to be fixed by night manager, lounge chair with wet greenish "blob" that the manager apologised for, turned cushion over and said he "would write up in the book" (didn't seem surprised by things, and suggested we make our criticisms known strongly in the morning), lounge would not have been accepted by St Vinnies - dirty and ragged, shampoo sachet opened/used and left for next unfortunate traveller, garbage bag emptied and left in middle of floor, no milk - longlife or fresh. Torn carpet to trip up in the dark. Never again. Sleeping in the street would be cleaner.

Room Tip: Tip to find a "good room" - you are in the wrong motel
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was forced to stay here as a result of a last minute requirement to be in Canberra; Parliament was sitting and there was just no other option. Where to start...
The room is dark, dank and smells;
Lightbulbs that don't work;
Blinds that don't close properly;
A shower that is so 1970s it has a curtain (dirty) rather than a shower door;
The room stinks of smoke even though it is "Non-smoking".
A half-ironing board (really? in 2011?);
A Tv screen that is smaller than my laptop;
Dial-up interet access, and only limited wireless access;
No change of towels, replacement of soap and shampoo, nor replacement of used coffee sachets.
Seriously - if you have to stay here, delay your trip, or bring a tent and find a nice paddock. This place should be bull-dozed and rebuilt.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed a couple of nights, there wasn't any other option as parliament was sitting.
The room was dingy, which made the nicotine coloured walls even more unpalatable.
The bedspread was dirty and the non-smoking room stunk of cigarettes.
Don't confuse this Belconnen hotel with the other Premier Inn, which is much more modern and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was booked here for 3 nights at a cost of $465. This is far more than a motel room in this type of location is worth, but it seems to be the reality of "sitting week" in Canberra that they can charge these rates.

On the positive side, my room was spacious, generally clean and reasonably comfortable, there was free wi-fi which worked more than half the time, and everything I tried worked (except the phone). The bathroom was fresh, basic amenities provided, and the towels were particularly good.

However the room smelt of years of industrial cleaning products trying to mask an overall staleness - probably from the ancient carpet (which had a hole in it). I overcame this by leaving the window partly open, despite overnight low temperatures of around 0ºC.

Lighting was poor - two wall lights were fitted with "daylight" fluorescent bulbs, which provided a strange blue-ish light that was insufficient to illuminate the further reaches of the room, and made ironing on the little table-top ironing board provided rather difficult.

The motel has a restaurant, but it was not operational - breakfast was available to take to the room in a paper bag.

The lift was old, slow and noisy - avoid the rooms next to it. I wouldn't normally use the lift for 2 floors, but the stairwell was unlit when I checked it out so stairs weren't really an option.

Reception was attended from 7am until an unspecified time (understood to be about 2am), but if you required assistance to access the building at other times there was a $50 charge.

Although the motel is located in a shopping centre, it is only a small suburban centre (not the main Belconnen shops), and the only stores open when I arrived were a liquor store and a KFC. This is a long way from anything and public transport is very limited - I was really glad I had hired a car and I would not recommend staying here without one.

In short, this is an ordinary motel deep in the suburbs and while my room was OK, it was seriously overpriced. So the sign on the back of the door asking guests to assist with straightening the beds "to enable us to continue with reduced rates" did make me laugh...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments

Address: Cnr Belconnen Way and Springvale Drive | Hawker, Belconnen ACT 2614, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Belconnen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Belconnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.