We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet there not” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shingle inn, Belconnen, Australia

Shingle inn, Belconnen, Australia
Benjamin Way, Belconnen 2617, Australia
02 6251 3949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 69 Restaurants in Belconnen
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gourmet there not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Over priced for very under rated food. Ordered 2 gourmet sandwiches for $14 each. Was expecting lovely thick tasty bread not supermarket bought sandwich bread. 1 was gluten free, got frozen stale bread. If you are going to offer the gluten free option get it right. Coffees Luke warm. Never again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want:
Your order wrong (not once, but four times) in one sitting...
To be charged for the mistakes of the staff...
To get parts of your meal left out...
To get nothing that resembles the menu...
To get serve contaminated, old food...
To be told that you will get a refund, only to be ignored, even when you get up to leave in disgust... (we never did get that refund and were way over charged)...
To leave hungry and dissatisfied...
To pretty have your outing ruined...
THERE IS ONLY ONE PLACE TO GO... SHINGLE INN, BELCONNEN!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mouldy Cake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited this cafe with my daughter. We ordered orange and almond cake and a coffee each. On tasting my cake it seemed somewhat stale. My daughter cut into her piece and noticed a couple of green spots underneath it, she then turned over the rest of her piece which was covered with green mould. I took the cake back to the counter and requested a refund, which was quickly given. The young man who had served us was very apologetic and said "that was only cut yesterday", ie by his own admission their cakes are obviously not baked daily, despite Shingle Inn's claim on their website that their "busy pastry chefs work through the night to ensure you experience delicious freshness every time you visit a Shingle Inn Cafe". I doubt that the cake was even cut "yesterday", with the amount of mould that was on the cake, it had to be at least 4-5 days old. Even three day old crumpets only have a couple of spots on them. This piece of cake was covered in it. We paid $7.70 per slice of cake, for this amount of money you would expect freshness. Not good enough Shingle Inn. The whole episode ruined our morning. We will not be returning to this establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awful food, poor service but great follow up by its owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited Shingle Inn for lunch and, based on experience at other Shingle Inns, we ordered the decadent High Tea. What a disappointment ! Despite what was listed on the menu, we were denied the lime mint julip. The waitress told us that we would only receive what the manager said, despite what was on the menu. The scones and cakes were dry and stale. There was very little cream was what was there was runny. There was no hot food. The amount of food received was far less than that served at other Shingle Inns. We had to ask 3 times before we received any milk and we had to ask again before receiving any plates and cutlery. We left having eaten less than a quarter of the food; $50 spent yet we were still hungry. We swore we would never go to a Shingle Inn again and I sent them an email to tell them that I felt ripped off.

Now the good news. The owner phoned me and apologized profusely. She checked my grievance and agreed that her staff were wrong and would be retrained. I received a full refund and 2 complimentary coffee coupons. Any restaurant can have a bad day and although we did not enjoy our meal there on this occasion, I feel confident that the problem will be fixed and that if we return, we will get a much better dining experience. I was very impressed with the owner's actions to resolve my grievance so I will certainly return and give them a second chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shingle inn, Belconnen, Australia also viewed

Macquarie, Belconnen
Belconnen, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Shingle inn, Belconnen, Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shingle inn, Belconnen, Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.