We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moths Bogon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alpha Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Alpha Hotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Rowland Rees Crescent | Greenway, Tuggeranong 2900, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Greenway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuggeranong
Parramatta, Australia
1 review
“Moths Bogon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Well we checked in and the room we were given had at least 20 Bogon Moths flying around in it. They did change us to another room, but I think that would have preferred not to have to do that. They do supply fly spray , but you need heavy anti aircfraft fire to deal with Bogon Moths.

Room Tip: Make sure that you state that your not sharing with any moths
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    51
    35
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
31
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this country comfort and it was just as nice the second time around. We decided to come back as we were visiting friends and this hotel is perfect for us since it is close to everything in Canberra. For a motel, the food is top notch. The service was a bit slow, but that was only because it was packed. It's a great place for a family; free parking and wifi and peaceful surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was recommedned to us by our friend living in Monash so we used the Country Comfort Hotel has our base for the three weeks stay and travelled arounf the area, the hotel is very close to the main shopping centre and the lcal town centre Tuggeranong which has plenty to do and many restuarants to eat, and of course you will find the local Wallworth supermarket in the shopping centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and always had time to speak with you about England. we checked in and out of the Country Comfort Hotel on 4 occassions so we could travel around New South Wales and the lovely coast along with other areas. the staff was always helpfull with us. the breakfast food was very nice and alway fresh and had hot and cold food on the menu. the hotel had a large car park and used to let the locl people you park their car for all day shopping at about 5 dollars.close to the hotel the local Kangaroo's would come out at early evening to great you home???. would recommend the Country Comfort Hotel and would used this again..

Room Tip: During our three week stay checked in and out 4 times and diffrent rooms all vey clean and to a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here even though it was only for one night. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff are very welcoming. Greenway is around 22k out of the centre of Canberra in a nice suburb that has a large shopping mall and a couple of good clubs for eating. Plenty of Kangaroos in the surrounding fields to see. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a terrace or balcony, the other rooms seemed a bit dark and no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Country Comfort Greenaway and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant and the newly renovated fireplace just added to the warm ambience of the hotel. During the day we visited all the tourist sites and then would arrive back to watch the kangaroos congregate in the bush-surround. The room was comfortable and large enough for my 2 kids and us. We will be coming back! Looking forward to experiencing the new fitness centre!

Room Tip: Try one of the suites - great for a family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Country Comfort Greenway. This is my second stay at this Hotel and I was very disappointed at the deterioration of this establishments service.

The website clearly advertises restaurant Mon - Sat as well as gym and pool facilities. Good luck finding the gym and pool and don't expect to eat lunch or dinner anywhere on site from Friday to Sunday.
Staff will send you out into the cold to the near by club where you will need to pay to become a member to eat at their restaurant. A lonely and underwhelming experience to say the least.

Good luck sleeping. The paper thin walls mean that you are at the mercy of inconsiderate partiers. The staffs ability to wrangle unruly guest resulted in a long night of no sleep.

A simple map to the city a real challenge for reception!

No real County Comfort identifiable on this trip.

Sorry guys, won't be rushing back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Though not luxurious, this Country Comfort motel is true to name. No frills, just clean and comfortable rooms in a quiet, bush land setting. It was a great location for my purposes but may be a bit out of the way for those who need to be closer to the city. Good value for families.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel Canberra

Address: 46 Rowland Rees Crescent | Greenway, Tuggeranong 2900, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Greenway)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Tuggeranong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuggeranong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Hotel Canberra, is nestled in the Tuggeranong Valley. Alpha Hotel Canberra is an easy 20 minute drive from Canberra City and the Canberra International Airport and is set against the backdrop the beautiful Brindabella ranges. The wide variety of stylishly decorated hotel rooms available will appeal to business travelers, couples, and families. The extensive facilities at Alpha Hotel Canberra have been thoughtfully designed to offer guests everything they need under one roof including; free Internet, free car parking, a gym, spa and sauna, and the Tinderbox restaurant and bar. We are pleased to advise that Alpha Hotel Canberra continues with its extensive renovation program in 2014. There will be no disruption to guests during this process and we look forward to a completion date in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpha Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Comfort Greenway Hotel Tuggeranong
Country Comfort Greenway Canberra
Alpha Hotel Canberra Tuggeranong, Greater Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.