We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alpha Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Alpha Hotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Rowland Rees Crescent | Greenway, Tuggeranong 2900, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Greenway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuggeranong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Country Comfort Greenaway and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast and dinner were served in the restaurant and the newly renovated fireplace just added to the warm ambience of the hotel. During the day we visited all the tourist sites and then would arrive back to watch the kangaroos congregate in the bush-surround. The room was comfortable and large enough for my 2 kids and us. We will be coming back! Looking forward to experiencing the new fitness centre!

Room Tip: Try one of the suites - great for a family stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    42
    11
    6
See reviews for
43
36
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed for 4 nights at the Country Comfort Greenway. This is my second stay at this Hotel and I was very disappointed at the deterioration of this establishments service.

The website clearly advertises restaurant Mon - Sat as well as gym and pool facilities. Good luck finding the gym and pool and don't expect to eat lunch or dinner anywhere on site from Friday to Sunday.
Staff will send you out into the cold to the near by club where you will need to pay to become a member to eat at their restaurant. A lonely and underwhelming experience to say the least.

Good luck sleeping. The paper thin walls mean that you are at the mercy of inconsiderate partiers. The staffs ability to wrangle unruly guest resulted in a long night of no sleep.

A simple map to the city a real challenge for reception!

No real County Comfort identifiable on this trip.

Sorry guys, won't be rushing back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Though not luxurious, this Country Comfort motel is true to name. No frills, just clean and comfortable rooms in a quiet, bush land setting. It was a great location for my purposes but may be a bit out of the way for those who need to be closer to the city. Good value for families.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Like most of the guests here during the week i was on a business trip , and for that purpose this motel is great , central to the shopping and business area and a club right next door . Plenty of off street parking. The rooms are clean and friendly , large TV and comfy beds , room are very quiet. Whilst I was there the motel was undertaking renovations so the pool and gym area were closed , Breakfast in the restaurant was plentiful and quite nice I would happily stay here again if I needed to be in the southern side of Canberra . Dont forget to say hello to all the kangaroos who congregate in the adjoining parklans .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as we were visiting friends in the area. We have stayed here before and have been very happy with the hotel, however, this time I think it was a bit rude that we were not advised when we booked (over the phone) that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant was closed. However, the rooms were still clean and neat and there was no loud noises (it was a weekend though) so we weren't inconvenienced too much but still would have liked to have known.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved our stay - the service and overall impression was that we werent in a motel but a hotel. It was so quiet and peaceful with nice surrounds. The room was clean and staff friendly - buffet breakfast was delish too!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First trip to Canberra and some friends had recommended the Country Comfort. The room was perfect and had a great night sleep (even got greeting from kangaroos in the morning). We brought our 14 month old and the staff were very accomodating. The breakfast buffet was much more than I extected from a smaller hotel It was well stocked and the food was freshly prepared and quite tasty. The location was ideal for us. Very close to shops and an easy drive into Canberra. I would certainly recommend staying here and I would stay again on my next trip to Canberra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel Canberra

Address: 46 Rowland Rees Crescent | Greenway, Tuggeranong 2900, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Greenway)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Tuggeranong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tuggeranong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Hotel Canberra is Tuggeranong's premier accommodation provider and is ideally located in the Tuggeranong Valley just 20 minutes drive south of Canberra City (with all of its attractions that include Parliament House, The Australian War Memorial, National Portrait Gallery etc) and the Canberra International Airport. The hotel backs on to the Brindabella ranges, right on the Murrumbidgee Corridor. Within a brief walking distance you will discover the Tuggeranong Hyperdome (with all of its restaurants and bars), Tuggeranong Vikings Club, Southern Cross Club, Ten Pin Bowling Centre, Cinema Complex, local restaurants, Basketball Stadium, Tuggeranong Lake, Aquatic Centre and the bus terminal, which has buses servicing the Canberra district on a regular basis. Guests at Alpha Hotel Canberra can enjoy lunch and dinner at Baa Moo restaurant 7 days a week (located at the Vikings Club). Room Service and restaurant dining is also available for dinner 7 days a week. Breakfast (including room service) is available 7 days a week in the Tinderbox Restaurant. The Tinderbox lobby bar with bar snacks is available 7 nights a week. Alpha Hotel Canberra is also close to the Department of Human Services (DHS), Department of Social Services (DSS), Defence and is adjacent to the Tuggeranong Office Park. We have a variety of hotel rooms and bedding configurations to suit all needs. These include Deluxe rooms with queen and twin bedding, Family Rooms that can sleep up to 6 and Spa or Honeymoon Suites for romantic getaways. We also have disabled rooms for those requiring easier access. Facilities include free wifi (limits apply), free car parking, free in room movies, a new large gym, spa and sauna, and a bar and restaurant. In room facilities include free wifi (limits apply), free in-room movies, tea, coffee, irons and ironing boards, individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room breakfast and dinner service (subject to restaurant opening times). Alpha Hotel Canberra also has 2 meeting and function rooms for conferences and weddings. These can accommodate up to 150 attendees. Attractive packages have been created for accommodation, conferences and groups. HOTEL FEATURES • Gym, spa and sauna • Free wifi (limits apply) • Free car parking • Conference and function rooms • Express Check Out • Wheelchair access throughout Hotel • Safety Deposit Box at reception Guest Laundry Facilities ROOM FEATURES • Variety of room types for the business traveller, families and romantics alike • Some rooms have views of the Brindabella ranges • Some rooms have external balconies or terraces. All have opening windows • Free wifi (limits apply) • Iron / Ironing Board • Air Conditioning • Direct Dial Telephone • Coffee / Tea Making Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpha Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Comfort Greenway Hotel Tuggeranong
Country Comfort Greenway Canberra
Alpha Hotel Canberra Tuggeranong, Greater Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.