We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional...as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Littleborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rake
Save
You added The Rake to your Saves list
Blackstone Edge Old Road, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional...as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I brought my cousin here for her birthday tonight and we had a lovely time, sat infront of a roaring fire and had the most delicious meal, for one of our choices we asked for a mixed salad to share ...nothing was too much trouble and the chef made us a special salad to die for, all our dishes were fresh and absolutely gorgeous, I would highly recommed this cozy place, its the best tappas restaurant ever, staff are wonderful and the chef is a top banana....well......come and taste for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
27
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The friendliness and comfort of this small but perfectly formed hostelry is warm and inviting. One of the oldest inns in the area has been turned into a tapas bar and restaurant with unique, boutique accommodation. The breakfast is of a wide choice and with good quality local products including mine hosts home grown pork products.
A welcoming, wonderful find, tucked away in the small Pennine town of Littleborough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As I have previously stated because I live locally eating out in Littleborough is not normally a first choice purely because Manchester is so accessible. However if you are to eat in Littleborough then the Rake and the Waterside are pretty good choices. The RAKE has moved on from the usual Pub Grub into Tapas. For me Tapas is not a first choice but the RAKE does conjure up a very good selection of UK/Spanish meals based on the Tapas idea.
With Good Food, Wine and Beers, Rustic surroundings, Good and attentive staff, and the relaxed atmosphere of the Tapas style eatery The Rake is a worthwhile visit for either Lunch or an Evening
So if Tapas style is your thing, you should like very much what the RAKE has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After being told about the rake restaurant and reading some reviews I decided to book a table for my girlfriend and I. As it's a fair distance from home I booked a room too and planned to make a night of it. And what a night.
Where to start...
We arrived to a very warm welcome, and were taken to our room. The rooms are huge with high ceilings. After a quick shower in the huge walk in shower, we got dressed and went down to our table. The seating and tables are simple, and the decor gives it the feel actually being abroad in a little Spanish tapas restaurant. The menu was simple to use and had a lot to choose from. The food is to die for. Everything came out hot and full of flavour, adequately timed so that nothing went cold or the table was too full. For 6 dishes between two of us cost about £60, that's without drinks, but the quality and amount of food you get, its well worth it.

On to the room...
The room was so cosy. The bed was massive and really comfy. The tv is huge and it had a coffee machine. You really couldn't want for much more.

Already planning another visit. 10 out of 10

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Rake in September, the end of the season I think which is probably why there was no one to open and allow check in until 4-5pm. Having finally done so the route to the room involved outside stone steps up the banking into which the property is built.
The room itself was elegantly furnished to a high level. I am sure it would have impressed any romantic couple with its designer bath but unfortunately I prefer a functional shower.
The bar restaurant area is excellent, the staff very nice with not only a good selection of beers and wines but good food too. Breakfast was made available on a complimentary basis as I had eaten in the Rake in the evening. I did enjoy the Rake even though it is not my typical hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a great stay at The Rake. Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast both days was lovely. They even gave us a table on the saturday evening for tapas which was well worth having. The room was really nice, bed was comfortable. It was all lovely and clean. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to the Rake and it won't be our last, the staff were very welcoming and as we hadn't been before took the time to explain the menu and how we ordered. The experience from start to finish was fantastic, from being very hospitable to the food being one of the best meals we have had in some time. The choice from the 'specials' board was extensive. We tried 6 dishes, three from the menu and three from the 'specials' board along with dessert and coffee. We were not disappointed with any dish and it also proved great value for money. No issues with recommending this restaurant and can't wait for our next visit. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel very at home. Ray Shelton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rake

Address: Blackstone Edge Old Road, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Littleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Littleborough
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* rating accommodation with silver star breakfast award. Our rooms have been lovingly restored to a standard never seen at the Rake over its 400 years. They are finished mixing the existing character of the Rake with cutting edge modern styling. All are en-suite with either shower or bath. Each room has flatscreen TV with freeview. Internet access available. Popular tapas restaurant on site. Lovely garden/patio area for residents. Set in semi-rural setting with easy motorway access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.