We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Restaurant & Bar

Waterside Restaurant & Bar
1 Inghams Lane, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0AY, England
01706376250
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Pennines, this loungey little bar and restaurant in Littleborough provides the perfect pitstop for weary sightseers and is a cosy spot popular with locals for intimate evening meals and superb Sunday roasts. The Waterside Restaurant and Bar has a stylish and comfortable interior decorated with chocolate brown sofas and high-backed leather booths for semi-private dining, and there is an al fresco terrace for sunny outdoor dining during the warmer months. Famous for its roasts, the kitchen at Waterside offers a variety of options from the minted lamb shoulder to the salted pork crackling and roasted Tunisian lemon chicken. Fish fans will also love the seafood selection ��� we love the smoked haddock lasagne with Atlantic shrimps and wilted spinach.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited the Watetside today for the 1st time in many years,enjoyed a terrific meal reasonably priced and great service.
We both had Sunday lunch menus,roast beef and turkey,very well presented great quality and excellent service.
I think we will be regular visitors to this little oasis.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    91
    43
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Now as you will know if you've read my other reviews, I am not averse to spending money on nice things and I have to say that the food here was nice. But that's all - just nice! Not oh wow that was amazing I must go back, not oh look at the different things they've got on the menu - just run of the mill, cooked well, nice but much more expensive than you're used to paying for a smallish venue out of the way!

The prices are very much 'city centre' prices with average starters being £7 and mains being £18, desserts were again around the £7 mark so it's easy to rack up a big bill.

So, although it was 'nice' it wasn't good enough at those prices to rush back, when there are equally nice restaurants doing the same for 'local' pricing - sorry

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Food, ambiance and hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Excellent meal this afternoon at the Waterside. Sat in the garden, really chilled vibe. Great music. I had the Rib of beef roast dinner which was delish, My friends raved about the mussels and the Lamb Kleftico. Felt very welcomed and staff were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
“Been a few times, staff are familiar with us and very friendly. Food is exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Amazing place, exceptional food. Quiet and calm atmosphere just right for a perfect meal. The staff always remember us. They are personable and genuine. The food is superb. A great variety of food. With a a couple of new additions to the menu since we last went. Even management talk to you and recognised us!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food in tasteful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It was a well overdue return visit to this restaurant. My friend and I took full advantage of the fact that this restaurant honours the tastecard, so we indulged more than the norm!!
Wonderflull.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Littleborough, Rochdale
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.