We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatyard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Boatyard to your Saves list
The Boatyard
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Bolton Road, Hoghton, Preston PR5 0SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely lunch with friends. The fish was excellent and obviously very fresh. All the other meals looked equally delicious. The staff were very attentive and professional and the position of this pub on the canalside makes it a very attractive place to visit. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
29
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs, Englandpbd1004
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With three close chums, went for lunch at Boatyard.Lovely meal, I had a perfect steak. What a change from mid summer ie poor service, boring menu,walked out. The new Management seems to be working wonders. Will be back. ,

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned home from an excellent meal with friends, I'd recommend this place to anyone...the food was cooked perfectly and my steak was cooked just how I like it, which is hard to find a restaurant which cooks a decent steak, must mention the staff were very polite and courteous.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just back from the boatyard inn, went for my husbands birthday never been before. We enjoyed it wasn't really busy but it is November. We had a meal which was lovely, you make look and think bit pricey but you do get loads to eat, well delicious, Now to the room WOW it was lovely and big the bed
was so big and so so comfy. The bathroom was big also had a bath in as well as a shower, desperate not shower over the bath. it was lovely and clean.
The staff was lovely and friendly Rachael was the first member to greet us very pleasant and friendly shown us to are room,Was really helpful, then Lauren and tom was on in the evening very friendly again, The only thing is we got served by another girl from Rachael and she charged us a different price???? for a glass of wine and a pint of larger, but other than that we both enjoyed our stay there. It also so has kettle tea/coffee and packet of biscuits in the room,xxx

Room Tip: we had room 1 but think they only have 1-6 if they are same as number one you will not be disapointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Visited The Boatyard with mum and dad for a Sunday lunch. It was quite busy but we were seated quickly and the food arrived in good time. The food was nice but not a huge selection on the menu, a lot of the dishes were similar.

Good value for money and would go back

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

My wife and I broke up our journey to the Lake District with the recommendation from a friend that we spend the night at this Inn beside the canal. Located conveniently adjoining the motorway system and yet at the same time nestling in some delightful Lancashire countryside, this was the perfect respite from a car journey blighted by a jammed-up M6 all the way up from the West Midlands. The warmth of the welcome we received in the bar that Thursday evening was a blessed relief in itself. We were joined in the restaurant by another couple (good friends of ours) who were also stopping on the way to Cumbria. The food was just as you would hope for after a tiring stint on the road - tasty, perfectly prepared and served with efficiency and a smile. Our room, with en-suite, was clean and inviting just when we were happily tired and ready for a good night's sleep. Apologies to the staff for briefly allowing our black labrador Annie to have a look around the room before we bedded her down in the car for the night. Clear message - dogs are quite rightly not permitted in the rooms! The lady serving breakfast politely informed us that Annie had been spotted on CCTV walking in and out of the room. "My boss would go ballistic if she knew a dog had been in your room!" she said sternly but without resentment. After a hearty cooked breakfast (my only criticism being that the portions were a touch too generous and that brown bread/toast would be a good alternative to white) we headed happily off to the Lakes with batteries recharged for the final leg. We know where to break up our journey the next time Cumbria beckons. There is nothing like a Lancashire welcome.

Room Tip: Just ask the management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Good location next to canal. 6 large rooms nicely decorated. Free wifi. Soap dispenser awkwardly located on bathroom wall. Clean on arrival and cleaned for our second night. Well serviced. Comfortable bed.

Breakfast no menu - " you can have anything you would like" Toast served on same plate as hot meal so you might get egg or beans on your marmalade.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Guess that all are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard

Address: Bolton Road, Hoghton, Preston PR5 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boatyard 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.