We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Woden

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Woden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Woden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Melrose Dr. and Launceston St., Phillip, Woden Valley 2606, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Phillip
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The low key reception area is amply compensated by the very large room. I stayed 4 nights in 317, overlooking the parking lot of back office buildings. Nice sunshine came in in the morning through the huge windows.

Never ate at the Tradies. Always ate downtown or at the small restaurants in the Westfield shopping center, close to the Woden library, between the Coales an Woolworth grocery stores, about 10 minutes walk up the street.

I enjoyed using the Canberra bus system. I bought a pre paid card for $20 (each ride about $2 but transfers within 90 min are free). I also got a bus map from downton bus station main office.

Room Tip: I specified in the reservation "upper floor, quiet room away from elevators and ice machines&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
11
2
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I enjoyed and excellently appointed room on the fourth floor. Couldn't fault it. Despite being a Saturday night it was also lovely and quiet. My room rate included in-house digital movies. These are not of the 'on demand' type. Two of the channels on the TV run a series of recent released movies to a fixed schedule a copy of which is in the room.

If I needed to stay near Woden again I'd stay here. I recommend using the opportunity to enjoy a meal at Belucci's which is very close by or take a short walk to Woden Plaza which has plenty to offer. Secure parking under the building was an added plus.

Room Tip: South facing room on the top floor was good for me. Faces a large open car park which was deserted o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Quality Hotel Woden (Phillip, ACT) is as advertised, clean and simple. It is attached to the Tradies club, which provides only club grade food. However, across the road are two restaurants. Belucci's is an expensive Italian-style place. Next to it is the Asian Noodle House, which is much more reasonably priced, for a good, tasty meal. The ice skating rink and swimming pool is also across the road. The Hellenic club is nearby.

The Quality Hotel is excellently positioned for anyone visiting the federal government's Department of Health, or IPAustralia, previously known as the patents, trade marks and designs office.

This is also the nearest decent accommodation for hospital visitors.

Room Tip: some suites are bigger, so ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good quality hotel located above the Woden Tradies club - which has great meals, drinks and club facilities. Very clean and comfortable rooms - my room had a balcony. Within walking distance to shopping area, or a quick car drive. Your room access card allows access to the club and restricts movement of unauthorised people back into the hotel. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Carparking facilities in open area at the front of the hotel. Your access card is also required to access the lift. Good hotel to stay for business activities in the vicinity. I was upgraded to suite, however the only TV was in the loungeroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is well located, close to shops and the Tradies club yet quiet.
If you are a schnitzel fan then Tradies will offer a great dinner at club prices which is a real bonus when compared with the usual restaurant prices.

Room Tip: Accessible rooms are available with disabled parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently stayed in room 206 on a business trip. The room was on the second floor but there was no view to speak of, The hotel (the word used loosely) is clean with spacious bathrooms with good showers. The room was made up while I was out during the day and they were thoughtful enough to leave the heat pump on the setting I had chosen so my return after 5pm was warm. Aviation House is just at the end of the car park and across a wee street.

The down side
Upon arrival at 9.45pm we had to be let in by the one person at Reception. However later the same evening one of our colleagues had trouble entering as the Reception staff were not at the front desk and as they had not checked in had no card to swipe for entry. This leaves you standing in the dark in a strange place hoping nothing happens. While I appreciate they are concerned for their staff's safety this can be a little disconcerting if you find yourself in this situation. Upon check in there is a $100 fee of which is refunded upon presentation of your visa or whatever account card you used when you check out. This is a little rich in my book, they are supposed to be offering accommodation not being a financial institution. However, I am sure the interest they receive is worth it. Your license is also scanned. While I have no issue with providing photo ID why do they have to take a scan of my license? I only hope their scanner has the memory wiped prior to disposal. The mini bar is dry (no alcohol) which was a bit of a blow at the end of a long haul, the milk was out of date and the kettle did not have auto turn off (instant sauna if you forget). Room service is between 6.00 and 8.45pm only and comes from the Tradies club, oh and there is a $3 tray fee attached. Breakfast was unavailable in room service, this is obtained by attending the Tradies Club. The Club is basically a pokies venue/pub and while joined to the hotel does not seem to be part of it as you are required to use your room card to enter and leave from the hotel. Drinks are cheap but food not great and expensive. Best to look across the road for morning and evening meals. The lift is novel as there is only one and you must insert your room card to go anywhere, up or down. It has a habit of stopping just before the floor requested, waiting a minute and then doing a little jolt before opening the doors.

Overall the room was adequate and I was only staying two nights. What ever you do DON'T LOOSE YOUR DOOR CARD as you will not be able to do a thing (use lifts, enter, use bar)...maybe use the stairs...nar, bet you still have to swipe. I would not choose this as a place to stay while on holiday and would investigate other options for future work events in this area who provide more services with less fuss.

Room Tip: Floors three or four may have better views than one or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I recently stayed here while attending a work conference. There is nothing else in the area worth mentioning and I was quite nervy about staying here. To my surprise it was quite a find. Very clean, friendly staff and a good price. "Tradies" club and restaurant is on site. Typical pub food and pokies, cheap drinks and an "interesting" clientele. Felt like it was still in the 1980's but not bad if you want a quick bite before doing some work. Would recommend if you had business in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Woden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Woden

Address: Corner of Melrose Dr. and Launceston St., Phillip, Woden Valley 2606, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Woden Valley > Phillip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Phillip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Woden 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Hotel Woden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Woden Woden Valley, Greater Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Woden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.