We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views over chesil beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tout Quarry Sculpture Park and Nature Reserve

Tout Quarry Sculpture Park and Nature Reserve
Portland, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Portland
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Bovington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views over chesil beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a lovely day out here today, really interesting sculptures in the rocks. I have to agree with the review below, there is a lot of dog mess which is a shame but definitely worth a visit and great if you do have a dog. It was a beautiful day and the views over chesil beach were completely stunning. If you do visit here be sure to wear proper walking boots.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tout Quarry - mind the dog muck!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Would agree with everyone who has written about Tout Quarry; it is a great place to go and explore the carvings.

Spent a couple of hours there this morning (Wednesday 5th March) but was shocked by the amount of dog muck on the paths and at the sides of the paths. As a dog owner and having our dog with us, my wife and I were ashamed to be dog owners - why can't people pick up the mess from their dog(s) and find a bin?

We felt that if we had children with us we would be very concerned about letting them explore because the chances would be that they would stand in the dog mess. It is also not good for other dog owners either and does spoil the start of the walk around the quarry.

Shame that a small group of people have spoilt what is an excellent recreational and educational visit for all ages.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent a cold and windy hour afternoon exploring Tout Quarry, myself, my husband, boys age 9 & 14 and dog. We found the Tout Quarry really interesting and enjoyed discovering all the sculptures. The views out over chesil beach were breathtaking, we enjoyed a short walk along the coast path but had to turn back after a while as it was so windy! The boys,and dog loved all the tunnels and crevices in the rocks to hide in and climb on. We will definitely return later on in the year when the weather is better.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

a great place to take the kids and dog. looking for the different carvings and sculptures gives the family endless hours of fun and excersise no matter how often we return. it does need some more care to cut back the bushes and repair the damaged carvings

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tout Quarry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Tout Quarry became a sculpture park in 1983, and since then the nature reserve site has become home to a wonderful collection of many sculptures and carvings, all dotted around the quarry. I spent many hours here as a child. The quarry itself has become reclaimed by nature and holds many rare plants and wildlife. As the sculptures are found everywhere over the site, there is certainly plenty of exploring time to be had to track them all down. These works of art themselves vary nicely in creativity and design, and therefore so many are worth seeking out, whilst perhaps the most obvious relic of the quarrying past would be the magnificent Lano's Bridge - built in the mid-1800s to carry a high level tramway taking stone waste to the cliff edge. A great attraction with plenty to discover.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tout Quarry Sculpture Park and Nature Reserve also viewed

Portland, Isle of Portland
 
Portland, Isle of Portland
Portland, Isle of Portland
 

Been to Tout Quarry Sculpture Park and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tout Quarry Sculpture Park and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.