We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good that we've already booked our next stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No. 35 at The New Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added No. 35 at The New Inn to your Saves list
No. 35 at The New Inn
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   35 Easton Street, Portland DT5 1BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Always Book Direct
Ranked #1 of 5 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So good that we've already booked our next stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Very friendly in bar, restaurant and hotel part to this accommodation. Great feel in the bar and good choice of local produce. The food in the restaurant was really very good. A great sounding menu with lots of choices off the the daily specials - just as it should be. The accommodation was great also - clean, comfortable, well appointed. We would have liked to have stayed longer but couldn't on this occasion - so we've already planned and booked our next trip back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your lovely review. It was great reading and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and meal with us. Thank you for your repeat booking and look forward to seeing you soon.

Many thanks again
Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
67
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lovely room, reasonable rates, and breakfast hamper is a great idea. Handy to have the very good restaurant downstairs. But make sure you have the self check details beforehand! We weren't given them and there was no one around until 4.30pm, then there was some confusion as the helpful lady behind the bar had not been given our details.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you found your room 'lovely' and our restaurant very good. We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast hamper too.

Apologies again for the confusion at check in, we will ensure guests have self check in details in future.

Thank you for posting your review.

Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

overall not a bad nights stay. Room was on the small side but not of real concern and was decorated nicley. Few hairs on the bed sheets though! evening meal in the pub below was a lonely affair as i was the only one eating......strange. Seemed like they were trying too hard in the kitchen to produce gastro pub food. Ordered the liver and it came with a salad garnish in the gravey??? also took about 30 mins between starter and main to come which is worrying considering no one else was there. Waiter was very good though. breakfast hamper was better than expected and they delivered it early as i had to be away early. Very noisey road outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your business overnighter.

It is disappointing that you found your stay average. We are very sorry that we did not meet our usually high standards and our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered.

In regard to our restaurant, we work very hard to produce exciting menu's using fresh, locally sourced and seasonal produce. We are offering something very different to other pubs in the area and this is shown in our reviews on our Restaurant listing. It would be fantastic to be busy every night of the week, but we do have quieter evenings too.

Again than you for taking the time to post your review.
Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A really delightful stay. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The food was first class. The rooms could have been a little bigger, but that was more than made up for by the decor. The hampers worked will for us. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you found our food 'first class'.

So lovely meeting your family and we really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks
Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Lovely stay at new inn. I can recommend to everyone about staying here. Great idea about breakfast basket .
Great area to visit and have a relaxing break.
Lovely room and comfortable bed .
Great food and good selection of drinks .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your excellent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks
Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Had a very nice weekend break, the staff were well informed and very helpful, the accommodation very comfortable with a decent shower, I was initially sceptical about a hamper breakfast (rather than the old fry up) but I must say it was excellent and it set us up for a hard day on the water. the pub has a nice atmosphere and although we did not eat in the restaurant the food looked excellent. I would definitely recommend The New Inn to anyone considering a stay in Portland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast hamper exceeded your expectations.

Hopefully you will choose us again on your next trip to Portland.

Many thanks
Stacey, Spencer & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

As a Portlander I can say, with no doubt, that we had the best meal we have ever had on the Island last night. The new Chef is fantastic and has turned the menu around. Now I would suggest we have a great place to eat and it is within walking distance, so don't have to take the car :O)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovesshopping, Owner at No. 35 at The New Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Well thank you so much for your great review. So pleased you enjoyed your Valentine's meal with us and it's always a pleasure to see you all.

See you soon.

Best wishes
Stacey, Spencer & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to No. 35 at The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 35 at The New Inn

Address: 35 Easton Street, Portland DT5 1BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 35 at The New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.35 At The New Inn, Portland. Independent Bar & Restaurant with boutique styled rooms. Now you can enjoy the wonderful local food & ale on offer at The New Inn, then stay the night & enjoy our breakfast in bed. Not your normal B&B, we offer stylish accommodation & our unique 'breakfast experience' with our delicious breakfast hampers delivered to your door. We have 4 ensuite rooms + a beautiful & spacious family suite/luxury room to choose from. Our restaurant serves wonderful, fresh, local produce. Please check out our Restaurant listing to see our reviews The New Inn, Portland. Stacey, Spencer & our team offer a friendly, welcoming and chilled out approach to B&B, excellent customer service is very important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your No. 35 at The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 35 At The New Inn Portland, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 35 at The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.