We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Portland

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Portland to your Saves list
YHA Portland
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Hardy House, Castle Town, Portland DT5 1AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been to YHA portland on my way to dorset. It was a lastminute reservation and this was very economical. Ken who was the incharge has guided me well to reach the place late in the night nad even cooked dinner for me. this is hosteland thereare bunk beds. They were neat and the shared wash room was well lit, dry and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice house right in the front of the d day road of us g.i.for omaha beach, june 5 1944. I liked everything: beds, kitchen, tv room, living rooms , ensuite bath in dormitory.
Could rest 4 days on the island before going elsewhere.
Portland being windy and exposed to the sea weather it seemed that heating was on in august; and we had just a little control over only one window in the room and it was a liitle too warm for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The review below for jb surely doesnt belong to the YHA Portland. I stayed her over the end of April/Early May and it was brilliant. Everywhere was clean, lovely friendlt staff. The breakfast was brilliant. There was a chap mowing the lawn which I gather the had gone a little wild over the winter but all looked fantastic the campers were loving it. Could do with ensuites in all the rooms but I was lucky to get the one room with en suite. Local bus stop nearby and friendly staff happy to chat all evening

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely, all have bunk beds but room 5 is a good one if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As two single females we stayed here in May, grass at least 10 inches high and very scruffy frontage, porch very dirty. Sitting room had remainder of lunch and snacks left around from the staff. Kitchen and floor was filthy,had to clean work surfaces, insides of cupboards horrible - took out one pan to cook all our food, washed glasses before using, teapot on window still was half full and had a complete thick layer of mould on it-how long does that take to grow. Corridor floor - was it ever mopped?
Upstairs toilet - floor as kitchen both not cleaned for at least a week.
As we left, sitting room had remainer of yogurt & breakfast stuff from staff, TV on, We were suprised to learn 3 staff working here. This was a first 'bad experience' only 2 others staying and had already left. Dining room ok ,but dirty dishes left on table, Staff helpfull, but very poor standards

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yha P, Manager at YHA Portland, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
My name is Angela and I am the current manager of YHA Portland. I can only apologise on behalf of the company if there were issues which affected your stay with us. I would like to welcome you back to YHA Portland this year if you are in the area to hopefully given you a more positive experience of staying at a YHA. If you contact me directly at the hostel I am sure we can arrange something. Kind regards Angela and the YHA Portland Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while in Dorset. We had a shared dormitory, we usually go for a twin room but these were unusually expensive here. The showers were clean and hot, if a little poky. The breakfast was great, you didn't need lunch! Staff helpful with recommendations of where to go and lending maps.

The rooms were a little stuffy at night as you can't open the windows very wide and the usual creaky YHA bunk beds. Only complaint was that there were 6 beds but very little storage space for that many people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at Portland Youth Hostel. The hostel is in an excellent location, and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are very good value and the breakfast was very good. The evening meal was good value as well. The Isle of Portland is excellent for walkers and families, the view from the heights is particularly stunning. The round island walk is very scenic indeed and their are lots of places to stop off for a cream tea or a ploughmans. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here in September with 9 friends, the people running YHA Portland are lovely and willing to help with anything. The showers were hot and there is a large garden area outside where we had a BBQ one night. The rooms were a bit on the small side and got quite hot at night due to the lovely weather we were having but we only paid £18 per night so overall it was very good value. Weymouth is about 15mins drive away, which has some lovely sandy beaches and a large ASDA to stock up on supplies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Portland

Address: Hardy House, Castle Town, Portland DT5 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Portland > Portland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Portland England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.