We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list
The White Horse Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Returned for another stay, having had a great experience the last time.
The room we had was on the roadside, which was noisy early evening but quite enought later on and no problem in the mornings. It had an electric shower which was not hot enough only luke warm, even when turned on to full heat . I raised this with the owner when checking out.
Otherwise we had a very good stay, the staff once again were very friendly. Highlight has to be the evening meal, which was excellent. We were two couples and everyone agreed that all three courses were cooked and presented to perfection, a credit to the young chef.
All in all it was excellent value for money and we hope to return in the near future.

PS. Very convienient for Canterbury and the theatre etc.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the rear of the building and a shower with hot water. ! Rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    11
    16
    9
See reviews for
23
61
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked a 2 night Groupon Break at the White Horse. It didn't live up to my expectations from reading previous reviews.
When we checked in we were told the due to a private party we couldn't eat in the restaurant. We had been looking forward to this, had we known we could have planned our day a bit differntly and eaten before we arrived.
When we booked we were advised that all standard rooms were booked and we would have to pay £15 per night for a supierior room, which we agreed to. Our room was directly above the reception area which meant we could hear every conversation that took place in the reception until nearly midnight, and equally they would be able to hear everything that went on in our room. I wouldn't expect this in a superior room! The charge did get waived when we checked out.
There wasn't enough hot water for a bath on Saturday around 5pm, luckily there was a kettle in the room so I could top it up with a couple of kettles of boiling water.
The room it self was clean and comfotable, the building is very old so the ceilings and door frames can be quite low so be prepared to bend low otherwise a nasty bump to the head will be your fate.
We had to wait for over 40minutes for our breakfast on the first morning as there was quite a large group also being served. We did eat in the restaurant on our second evening as we had had rain all day and didn't want to venture out again. The food was OK, we were offered dessert but when we asked what was on the menu we were told they only had 2 things left, obviously had a really busy lunch service.
As a groupon deal not bad but could have been better.

Room Tip: Don't have room 7 above reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

Day one. Allowed to check in early, although had to find staff to do so first... Shown to the smallest room I've stayed in, creaky floor, creaky bed and a toilet door that doesn't close. Music noise directly underneath which transpired is from restaurant/bar underneath our room (12). Went into Canterbury to return later for beer in the bar. Again... find a member of staff.. Beer expensive and not much choice. Up to room, had to wait for music to go off in bar before any rest ensued, then was kept awake all night by the race track of the road outside. We could step onto the number 3 bus it is so close! Oh, joy, 7 o'clock am and there is the bar music again.... Roll on night two.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Oh dear, I wish you had conveyed some of your misery to us on check out.
Your room was above the restaurant and I checked the noise levels and do not think they are unreasonable at night. The music is switched off at 11pm. And in the morning it is very low indeed -I have just gone upstairs to listen with my cleaner and we can't hear any music this morning.
Regarding the road noise, an inn is traditionally a rest stop for travellers so will be on the road side. Your room was on the front and yes, it can be noisy during the day but is not a 'race track' at night which other reviewers will attest to. There are lots of people who live here in the village on the road side quite happily, but we do have lots of 'quiet' room which customers can request.
I am sorry about the creaky floor and bed ( I will get the bed looked at) but the toilet door does seem to shut when I tried it just now so I am not sure what happened there.
Our beer prices - we are a tied house which means we have to buy our beer from Shepherd Neame, the local brewery based in Faversham. They set their prices quite high so we not have the option as a free house does to buy cheap and sell cheap (or do they?), however, we are cheaper than most you will find in Canterbury, and lack of choice? We have Budveiser, Stella, Becks, Sol, Holsten 0 in bottles and on tap Oranjeboom, Asahi and Hurlimans. Real ales we have Masterbrew and Amber Ale on tap and Bishops Finger, Whistable Bay, Spitfire and Newcastle Brown in bottles. That's 8 lagers and 6 ales, and we have 4 types of cider, guiness, lots of soft drinks and a wine list
Finally, I am sorry you had to wait for service, we obviously do not like to keep people waiting and that is inexcusable.
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked through Groupon, got a fantastic deal for 2 nights but after having been there would definitely pay full price for another visit. Had a lovely 2 night stay. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Comfortable clean room. Food was excellent, we had intended to eat in Canterbury the second night but didn't bother as the food was good at the pub. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

What can we say? This was our first weekend away on our own (without the children) in four years and we as so pleased we used the white horse! We enjoyed a two night stay using a groupon voucher in an upgraded room. It was a beautiful room, comfy bed, tv with DVD player and free view and en suite bathroom. The bathroom had a wonderful corner bath with shower and the complimentary toiletries were great quality. We ate at the restaurant for the first evening and were so impressed that we chose to eat there on the second! The food was amazing! The waiting staff friendly! Breakfast was gorgeous with a big selection to choose from. Overall fantastic stay! Friendly staff, lovely location, amazing food! We will definitely be returning! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at The White Horse. We went on a Groupon deal and upgraded to the Four Poster Room. We had a lovely time, the staff were very pleasant, the room was very comfortable, tea and coffee etc great and the toiletries of very fine quality. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was of the highest quality and there was a lovely atmosphere to the place. There was even an ironing board and iron.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ash Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We went on the excellent groupon deal with friends and found great value and a lovely friendly and welcoming inn with cosy dining room and bar. We were in standard room 4, it was a good size and nice and warm especially in the cold weather there was always plenty of hot water. The food in the evening was good sitting in the lovely dinning room with the fire, we had a good choice of food and 6 specials to chose from. Our waitress was lovely and good fun which made for a nice evening and the food was not too expensive, I had the steak one night and the goat curry the next. The breakfast was the best I have had for a long time in a hotel with nice local sausages,poached eggs, fresh mushrooms, bacon and freshly cooked to order. We look forward to a return visit in the summer.

Room Tip: room 4 was nice on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse in Boughton-under-Blean is a historic inn and restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream. Our locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with our chefs combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday lunches take place weekly and jazz suppers are a regular occasion featuring award-winning vocalist Christine Tobin. Located in a village but within easy reach of the channel crossings and many local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches, nature reserves and zoo's, the White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside. And if walking, there are many stunning walking routes on our doorstep. We welcome walkers, cyclists, dogs and families! Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, restaurant and bar. The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
The White Horse Inn Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.