We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and good - will go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Restaurant

The White Horse Restaurant
White Horse Inn, The Street, Boughton, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
01227 751343
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The White Horse in Boughton is a historic pub restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant's Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishmans dream. Locally renowned chefs are creating quite a stir in the kitchen with locally sourced food which has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday roasts take place weekly and occasionally the restaurant hosts live music events.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“friendly and good - will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

friendly and good - will go back! excellent breakfast as there was none at the Travelodge we stayed in

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    17
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for daughters wedding nearby and had a meal the night before.There was about fourteen of us .Everyone remarked how superb the food and service was and the portions were big.All in all a very good experience.We will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and really well presented food, also great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant is truly first class and a credit to the chef. We stayed for a short weekend break recently and dined in the restaurant both nights, (there is no need to drive anywhere for better quality or value for money, and there is the added advantage that you can have a glass of wine or two without worrying about the driving...). The garlic prawns in chilli starter, is to be recommended as is the smoked haddock fillet which was so good that I had it on both nights. !!!
The cheese board is larger than you would expect, tastes delicious and a great way to round off the evening.
The waitress on the first night (Tobie), was bubbly, refreshing and really made the meal all the more enjoyable with her funny quips. She is the sort of waitress who just seemed to be really happy and enjoying what she was doing, a credit to the white horse restaurant team.
My wife and I have dined in this restaurant a few times now and have always been very impressed by the standard and quality of the food and the overall friendly and cosy atmosphere.
We will certainly return to sample the delights once again in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year for a few days and although we were out sightseeing all day we ate in the reataurant both nights and we really impressed with the food. There was a great range of food and wine, all meals were delicious and the service was great, helpful but not intrusive... I would not hesitate to recommend eating here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We literally found The White Horse by mistake whilst we were in the area looking for anywhere to have lunch. We arrived right at the end of the lunch service (in fact a little over) but the Chef kindly said he would stay on to feed us and we so glad that he did. The food was delicious with good size portions and the staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome. We like the whole atmosphere so much that we cancelled the hotel we were due to stay in that night and booked to stay in the White Horse. It's a great restuarant offer loads of choice and they even do themed nights. Really recommend a try!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.