We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunedin Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otago Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Otago Peninsula Motel to your Saves list
Otago Peninsula Motel
CNR Highcliff and Portobello Rd, Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dunedin Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When visiting NZ in October we visited Dunedin to visit Larnach Castle. We traveled along Portobello Road along the Otago Harbour and up Castlewood Road to Larnach Castle. After our castle adventure we headed towards Portobello and to find somewhere to stay the evening. We found a delightful motel overlooking the water of Otago Harbour - Otago Peninsula Motel. Mary was there to greet us and provide us more information about the Albatross Colony and Penguin Place as these were some of the places we wished to visit. Mary even phoned the Penguin Place to confirm times. We found the room to be just lovely,it was clean, I felt secure and the place was warm and well equipped for our stay. We made ourselves comfortable and the prepared to travel to the locations with the map provided by Mary. Mary was so helpful.... I believe we will visit there again when in travelling to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed some of the attractions on the Otago Peninsula, have a safe journey back home and we look forward to you coming and staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this motel end of September with my husband , everything was excellent! From the weather right through to the bed we slept in! Mary and Gerrald were wonderful hosts couldn't do enough for us they have done magnificent job ,definitely should be number 1 in Dunedin! Will be coming back here for sure

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again.
Lovely to see our guests returning and noticing all our changes.
Have a wonderful time in NZ and a safe trip back to Australia a place we love too. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a fantastic time exploring the Otago Peninsula during our holiday in September. We stayed at Otago Peninsula Motels located in a wee sea side village name Portobello. The motel was very clean, warm and the level of service was exceptional. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were well equipped with stunning views over the harbour. They owners made things easy, provided some local knowledge and advice when called upon and even had a set of golf clubs for us to use. Which we were more than happy to take advantage of and play a round at the Otakou golf course less than 10 minutes away. With a dairy, café, local pub and restaurant just across the road from the Motel makes it extremely handy and convenient to all the amenities. The Motel also has free wi-fi access which was handy to flick the quick email away to our friends and family. Thank you very much Mary and Gerald for your warm, friendly hospitality and excellent customer service in what was a most enjoyable and memorable stay in NZ.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room with a balcony which over looks the harbour views of this special wee seaside v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Henry for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay
with us, and that you enjoy the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and have a save journey back to Australia. take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night on a cold Dunedin night and found the service to be fine. As other reviewers have said, the place is absolutely spotless and looks brand new. While the location is tricky to get to along the windy peninsula road, a pleasant stay overlooking the water is on the cards for any guest. A perfectly reasonable option for those wanting to explore the peninsula and visit Larnach Castle. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Location 5, value 5, cleanliness 5, facilities 5. You can tell a place that is totally owner operated. The pride that has gone into this place shows. The beds and linen are good quality. Great kitchen amenities if you want to self cater. Mary is friendly and as she seems to do most of the work, quality control isn't an issue. We were three adults and found the place to be more than adequate. Wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the ambience of Portobello and the Peninsula Motel. Thank you Mary.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our small complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great room and facilities with beautiful views over the harbour. Magical Otago Penninsula and wildlife, bird spotters paradise. Hosts lovely and shops and cafes close by. Excellent all round. Good luck in the Americas cup "last" race

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ .We hope to be sailing to victory this morning it sure is a nail biter, but I think Deano can do it this morning, fingers xd.
Take Care and have a safe journey back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Thank God for this location, the service was overwhelming, room was comfortable, great location, next to an award winning fish & chips, also close to a few wild life viewing points, this is a best place to stay on the penesula

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you Chris, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
When travelling ourselves we like to go in and inspect before we accept. I don,t push these sites
to our guests as I know they don't reflet the true standard of accommodation in the Dunedin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otago Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otago Peninsula Motel

Address: CNR Highcliff and Portobello Rd, Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello's Newest Motel in Portobello Township, Quality units, some with spa baths.Extensive interior upgrade 2012.ie new flatscreen tv,s with freeview. YES FREE WI.FI.New Beds and Bedding, new carpets, to all units Private Balcony, Heatpumps, Excellent Harbour views. Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Next to Cafe for breakfast, Stroll to Shop and Restaurant.Near all Otago Peninsula Attractions."Come and stay and enjoy our wee piece of paradise. "PS. Only Motel right across the road to the harbor. Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Otago Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Otago
Peninsula Dunedin
Dunedin Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otago Peninsula Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.