We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Otago Peninsula Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Otago Peninsula Motel to your Saves list
Otago Peninsula Motel
CNR Highcliff and Portobello Rd, Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good value basic accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night because everywhere in Dunedin center was packed out for a rugby game and we didn't fancy paying in excess of $200 per night to stay in the town center. The rooms are fairly basic but have a reasonably good range of facilities and can be kept warm with a heat pump in the room. There is a small store nearby and a cafe and a couple of restaurants which supply most needs. We had a room on the ground floor with nice views of the bay but this also means that anybody can see in from the road so we had to keep the curtains closed much of the time. It's a bit of a drive to get here, be warned to take the coast road and not the scary road over the hill like we did. The owners claim that it's 15 minutes from town but it took us more like double that time. It's also a good location if you want to see the penguins in the local sanctuary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Dunedin and Otego Peninsula. Bit of a drive from Dunedin but we were mostly there for the wildlife. The Peninsula is fabulous. Beautiful drives and scenery, loved the penguins and the Albatross Center. The gardens at Lamach Castle were lovely and driving the back of the peninsula was stunning on a sunny day. Did seem like Scotland!

The room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Mary was knowledgeable and helpful about everything in the area. All of NZ is great but this really was one of our favorite stays both for the motel and the area.

Room Tip: I think they all have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thankyou to all our kind guests who have taken the time to give us such wonderful reviews this is very much appreciated, Hence our 4 and 1/2 Star Excellence Rating for 2011.
We pride ourselves in the way in which we operate our Botique Motels, we therefore can assure our guests of the best service and the highest quality appointments in our units.We are continuously upgrading our units for the benefit of our guests.
ie Free WI.FI., New LCD 32inch wall mounted TV,s which are Freeview Digital.
And all new bedding and furnishings. This season we have installed lace curtains for privacy downstairs units.
Owners Mary and Gerrald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Friendly staff, roomy units, smart furnishings. Good place to stay on this lovely Peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The room was very clean and had an amazing view of the bay, though a bit small as we had 5 people. The owner was really lovely and helpful, providing us information that only a local would know where we would have to join a paid tour otherwise! It made for such a wonderful visit to the Otago Peninsula! There's free wifi too (bonus!) but the room has to be fairly close to the reception office.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Peaceful view, firm bed, no padding under the carpet that was over a cold cement slab, and not well thought out overall. We'd hoped to stay several days but couldn't possibly do so. A lamp on one side of the bed only?

This place is fairly new and overlooks a nice peaceful bay but it is almost as though they took the things they wanted from various places but didn't think it through for guests. It's built like a bunker but they didn't bother to put padding under the carpet and it was cold. We put on the heater and it was so noisy we couldn't sleep. I had called the innkeeper from another town and she wasn't so friendly when we arrived although she had several empty rooms. Not only was the room cold but the bathroom was like an ice box in the night. When I told the manager the next morning I was awaken by noise she told me "no one has ever complained about that..."

People on this site raved about this motel but I would give it a c-

Great restaurant down the road within walking distance and a great location to get a jump on seeing the albatross colony at the end of the peninsula.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Its sad when one arrives on the peninsula we call paradise in a grump, and regardless of what we do for them they are never satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Owner was very friendly and helpful. The views were great, the room clean, comfy and well equipped. Only two slight niggles, the bathroom fan especially at night and the small car park, otherwise could have stayed here even longer than we did. Blue Penguins obliged by coming into the beach at about 9.30pm, and some Albatross flew over the car park at the Royal Albatross Centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The owners Mary and Gerrald were wonderful and could not do enough for us, they rang and booked us on the tours we wanted to do with no extra charge, the unit was more like an appartment which was immaculately presented, had the best unit upstairs with our own private balcony which we enjoyed a glass of wine and fresh local fish and chips. there is free wi fi in all rooms and a large flat screen tv to watch the rugby games. new and comfy king size bed and with heat pump to supply us with heating. Mary and Gerrald were rewarded with a 4 1/2 star excellent award from trip advisor.. which they deserve!!! :)

Room Tip: Upstairs is excellent! but down stairs is also amazing as they all look at acroos the road to the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Otago Peninsula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otago Peninsula Motel

Address: CNR Highcliff and Portobello Rd, Portobello, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello's Newest Motel in Portobello Township, Quality units, some with spa baths.Extensive interior upgrade 2012.ie new flatscreen tv,s with freeview. YES FREE WI.FI.New Beds and Bedding, new carpets, to all units Private Balcony, Heatpumps, Excellent Harbour views. Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Next to Cafe for breakfast, Stroll to Shop and Restaurant.Near all Otago Peninsula Attractions."Come and stay and enjoy our wee piece of paradise. "PS. Only Motel right across the road to the harbor. Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Otago Peninsula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Otago
Peninsula Dunedin
Dunedin Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Dunedin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otago Peninsula Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.