We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Ending!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Statesman Hotel

The Statesman Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Statesman Hotel to your Saves list
The Statesman Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of Strangeways & Theodore Streets, Curtin, Woden Valley 2605 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Curtin
Gippsland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy Ending!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked online and arrived at reception. They organised our room however it was not made up. The lovely lady at reception then re-assigned us an even better room. King sized bed, balcony, new updated bathroom, lovely clean room that smelled nice, quiet location and secure parking. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. WHAT A FIND! The staff were really friendly and helpful too. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I turned up here and was a little surprised as I had booked it online and wasn't expecting a hotel/motel and worried about noise from the bar/bistro initially. But the customer service was absolutely terrific, while it was a night early in the week I found the rooms really quiet. Small, clean and basic, and warm! The bathroom was small but the shower was awesome! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, rooms at the front of the building I think might be quieter if thats what you're loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed for one night in room 10 and it was a fairly pleasant stay. The reception staff were friendly on my arrival and pointed me in the direction of my room. Parking was very easy right out the front of the hotel. When I opened the door I was surprised to find the sink standing by itself in the hall of the room and not in the bathroom and there was a slightly funny smell in the room but other than that it seemed clean and tidy. I enquired about the hotels internet and reception printed me off a ticket with login details for the wifi (note-it says in the welcome log that wifi is available to purchase from reception, it is now free so don't let this put you off using the internet!). The bed was comfortable and the air con was powerful which is just as well as they've sealed the windows shut. I gave them a few pointers by filling in a room maintainence sheet that the hotel provided so hopefully they use this as constructive feedback and not throw it away! Overall nice stay, 7/10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Location was quite, convenient and close to everything we needed. Room was on the smaller side, but being a small family we adjusted fine. The room, in particular the bathroom was very clean. Fold out bed was extremely comfortable.

Only problem was being put in a room next to the laundry, we were greeted with a 6:00am wake up call from the washing machines! A small inquiry to the staff about it and our problems were solved, we never heard the washing machines again. Staff were very warm and friendly, helping us with a lovely smile.

Wi-fi was very temperamental, but staff were aware of this and therefore waived the fee.

Overall a very enjoyable place, run by very friendly and hospitable people.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from laundry. There are two floors of rooms, but no lift/escalator, so if unable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the minute I booked this was an excellent choice. The staff were always friendly and obliging, the room was very quiet and nicely decorated, the bed very comfortable. Yes the room is small but it had everything you needed. The shower was great too. The location was handy to town and the zoo. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Shower excellent but the bed was better I could have slept for days best bed I have slept in in a hotel/motel for years and the special $60.00 for the night great bargain.
Hotel meal steak was cooked to perfection Service excellent staff friendly bed oh boy bed bloody brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We found our one night stay at The Statesman to be very comfortable. With outside temperatures hovering around the forty degree mark it was a delight to find our room was already pleasantly cool when we entered it. The room was not huge, but had all that we wished and needed. The terrapins and blue tongued lizards near reception were a welcome extra to us reptile lovers! Our room was booked at the special discount rate of $60.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Statesman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statesman Hotel

Address: Cnr of Strangeways & Theodore Streets, Curtin, Woden Valley 2605 , Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Woden Valley > Curtin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Curtin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Statesman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Statesman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statesman Hotel Canberra
The Statesman Hotel Greater Canberra/Curtin, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Statesman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.