We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Statesman Hotel

The Statesman Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Statesman Hotel to your Saves list
The Statesman Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr of Strangeways & Theodore Streets, Curtin, Woden Valley 2605 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Curtin
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Pleasant Stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a five night stay at the hotel, very clean and extremely friendly staff. It was recommended to us by our niece Karen and we would be happy to pass on our recommendation to anyone needing accommodation. We had a standard room that had obviously been recently renovated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    13
    10
    1
See reviews for
12
17
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for work recently. Luckily I wasn't paying because I was surprised by the rate charged. Although some nice work has been done to rejuvenate the rooms there are still issues.

The biggest is noise: corridor to room, room to room, carpark to room etc.

Then there are the TVs which only get standard def digital, which means many channels can't be viewed.

There is the over-priced bistro: $20 for a chicken schnitzel?

Did I mention the wifi which doesn't work in many rooms - and no, it's not free.

On the plus side, reception staff are v friendly and helpful, and the location next to shops is an advantage (although its a pity there aren't better dining options there).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for work room was clean staff seemed friendly

Pros: clean, warm, extra blankets available nearby shops and shopping centre only 3km away


Cons bathroom toilet area was small compared with rest of room decor a little dated if you cad about such thingsband limited tv channels air conditioner was warm but had to run constantly. Lighting was poor a,though there was a massive window for daylight and finding all e switches was a bit of an adventure

Room Tip: I stayed in room 50 up the end it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A brief stay for a christening over the road. Location was therefore perfect but the rate for the room far exceeded what it should be. Clean enough and very friendly staff. However, when there are many other places only 10 minutes drive away for substantially less, it's hard to justify price paid ($217 including two meals). Price aside, the place is very reasonable. The meals were tasty and very quick service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although an older etablishment the Statesman proved to be an enjoyable stay. The rooms were comfortable and well serviced and the food was exceptional value (especially the 400 gram rump).

Bar and restaurant charged back to room and found all staff friendly and obliging.

We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in a standard double bed room. It was clean & bright with a large desk. The free wifi was slow and would need to improve for a business stay. The carpets outside the rooms were a little worn (but who cares). I arrived after 20:00 so Bistro was closed but I had breakfast which was frugal but again, at the price, who cares. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I suppose you expect less in out of city centre hotel but this is below average. Bed comfortable enough; room generally tatty with an unfortunate brown coloured wall paint. Dingy, gloomy bar/ bistro with a cave of a breakfast area. Archaic unreliable wifi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Curtin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Statesman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Statesman Hotel

Address: Cnr of Strangeways & Theodore Streets, Curtin, Woden Valley 2605 , Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Woden Valley > Curtin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Curtin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Statesman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Statesman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statesman Hotel Canberra
The Statesman Hotel Greater Canberra/Curtin, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Statesman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.