We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Point Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Point Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Real Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

The Silver Point is a small hotel on a popular kitebording beach. The hotel itself is directly on the water and in a Bajan neighborhood. Although some travelers seem to be intimidated by the nearby mix of poverty and million dollar homes, this is unfounded. Both my wife and I ran everyday in a variety of directions and were met by friendly greetings from nearly everyone we encountered. Part of the charm is the distance of the hotel strips from this hotel. Bus service is good as is taxi service, but we rented a car both times, and I think this was the right move as it allowed us to explore the island and choose different restaurants and beaches (such as Crane Beach, a short 15 minute drive) each day. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but there are options nearby and Oistins everyday, not just Friday night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    200
    70
    26
    8
See reviews for
49
335
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed at the Silver Point during the Christmas holidays. I've been to Barbados several time, but usually stay on the Platinum Coast. The price was exceptional for a ocean-front one-bedroom suite, so we decided to give it a try. I liked it a lot, and I'd go back.

Now, I have to tell you that I was a little worried when we pulled up. I couldn't see the beach, and there's no real lobby. There is the business office, which is rather small and unpretentious. It looks a bit like a rental office at an apartment building. But, I am pleased to say it went WAY up from there. The suite was literally steps from the ocean. The view was breathtaking, and it was very peaceful. The only drawback is the beach...it is, indeed, kinda rough. There are no lounge chairs on the beach. And, it's full of kite surfers and all their gear. The neighborhood is ok. It's really residential, so there are no cute shops and touristy things. But, it was safe and clean, with very little pedestrian traffic.

I LOVED the decor of the room, and the resort in general. It's funky and modern and very attractive. It was very comfortable and well appointed. It's an adorable boutique hotel. No crowds, and the staff is incredibly attentive. They are all so nice. And for the money, it is an incredible value. We rented a car for the week and went all around the island. It's a quick drive to many attactions like Oistens and the Gap.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

So this was our FIRST time in Barbados and I must say, it is a very beautiful place. When we arrived at the Silver Point Hotel, the location was abit disappointing because it was rather far from shops and of course, Bridgetown. We had to get a taxi into Bridgetown (well, everywhere actually) which was quite abit of money there and back. But I have to say if you want your hotel in a secluded peaceful area then I highly recommend the Silver Point.
The hotel food was absolutely wonderful, I was literally dragged out by my boyfriend because I wanted to stay at the hotel for dinner almost every night!!! But of course, its good to try out other places. We were given complimentary bed and breakfast for our entire stay which was a great surprise!!!! Staff was very helpful and friendly, the Barman is especially kind and always smiling! Everyday , the bedrooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean and very well-maintained. It almost looks brand new!!!
The beach was nice although the sea is very rough at this destination. We hardly went swimming in the sea because the current was quite strong ¬.¬ and also some parts of the beach were covered in dirt and rubbish.... Hmmm....bit disappointing but certainly didnt ruin our stay here.

Overall, we were very glad to have picked this place and definitely would consider coming back :)

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

if you are staying in Christ Church (South tip of Barbados), you are probably not into "sceney" so this may not be the right hotel. That being said, it's a nice place, with Bali beds, small pool, trendy rooms (all white and dark brown), room service. There is no break at the hotel, but you can rent surf boards (kite boards) at the place next door and drive to close breaks. Beach is nice, and again, if laying out on Bali Beds is your thing, it's a great stay. Everyone was super nice, bed was totally comfortable, and it's quiet.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed there over the MLK holiday weekend. We booked a quick getaway which put us at the hotel for exactly 48 hours. We truly enjoyed our time at Silver Point AND in Barbados.

I had read MANY reviews on Trip Advisor, and much of what everyone else said is true, however, I figured it woud be good to put in a current review, so people know that all still stands true.

The Hotel itself is quite eye catching. Although it IS in a residential area, I do not find this different than most resorts in the Carribean. The difference of course is that when you stay at a large resort like the Hilton Barbados, they have created the layout of your hotel to always be looking out to the beach side, so even though it is in a particularly random location, you are not focused on where it is located. For Silver Point, because part of the hotel IS located across the street, and because you are overlooking the neighborhood from the PARTIAL ocean view balconies (on the higher floors especially) , it is obvious that you are in a neighborhood. However, that being said, the neighborhood is quite quaint. It is better than being located on the side of a busy street. Even though the hotel is split, MOST of the hotel is on the south side of the street, AND to even say that you have to cross a STREET is a bit of an exaggeration. It is a very small little road, with hardly any traffic.

The layout of the rest of the hotel is very nice. We stay in Partial Ocan View room 322. Which is the farthest one from the beach on the third floor. I have to say at first I did not want to be so far from the ocean (all things releative here), but then it was actually quite nice to not have people walking past your room. The rooms are nice, they have a dark wood theme with a King Sized bed with a Down comforter. They have a flat screen TV and a refrigerator, but no microwave. I think some of the other rooms have them. The bathrooms were very nice with a wash basin sink, and a glass door shower. Some of the issues with the room were the following: There was no clock ANYWHERE in the room, the lighting is quite bad for actually living in there for a while, if all you are using the room for is to shower then it is not bad. If you want to blow dry your hair, the bathroom only has a plug for a shaver, so you have to plug it behind the bed in order to be able to see yourself int he bedroom mirror. The bedroom has a very tall full-sized mirror which is very nice.

When not in the hotel, the best part of the hotel is definitely the day beds. The hotel has a very South Beach vibe with canopied day beds, large wicker loungers, and a deck, which was nice instead of concrete. The day beds are very clean, the sheets are changed every day, and it is so romantic and relaxing. The pool is slightly small but never really crowded so it is fine for a dip. There is a bit of wind off the beach (which is what makes the beach popular with kitesurfers) so generally you are only just so hot that a dip in the pool is all you need. It would be nice if they added a hot tub to the layout though. Although the hotel is SOO crowded with couples, that that might be very overcrowded as well. The beach is a very nice one, and stretches just far enough to go for a walk. Although there a bunch of kite surfers who have docked their kites in the sand, it is to too distracting. There are NO chairs ont he beach though. All ot the lounging at this hotel is done byt he pool. Important to note if you dont like that. Make sure to explore the walk to the east of the hotel. It is very rocky, so wear shoes, but there are some really cool geyser type rock formations to see.

The food at the hotel was great I thought. Yes, it is "expensive", but one must think relatively. ALL food at hotels is expensive. It doesnt matter if you are at the Holiday Inn in Kenosha, Wisconsin, the hotel knows you are stuck there, so they can charge higher prices. On the whole, Barbados is an expensive island, so it is not surprising either here. But again, it is not outrageous. A Caeser Salad was $24 BBD, which is $12. I think that is normal for a hotel. The wraps and sandwiches are approzimately $34 BBD or $17, but the fish wrap is soo good. The hotel staff is great and during the lunch and breakfast, the views of the ocean make this worth the price. We did not eat here for dinner. I could see people not being happy with paying so much for dinner, because compared to the other off site restaurants, the setting is not nearly as good, so one would think it should be a bit less expensive, and not the same as a waterfront restaurant on the West Coast.

The restaurants in Barbados are to die for, but be ready to spend some money. We ate at Cafe Luna and Josef's and each meal cost us $80 USD pp. And the only included one drink. Cafe Luna is a very cute romantic place on the top of Little Arches Hotel. It is NOT on the water though. That is the draw of most restaurants in Barbados, so you may not like that, but it was still quite nice and the food was AMAZING! Get the Fried Bananna dessert! Josef's is in the St. Lawrence Gap and we loved it. When you first walk in you are slightly suspect as they are playing 80's R & B music, but then they lead you out on the deck where your private table over looks the ocean horizon and a millon stars. And the food was also great. This one is a bit less well known as Champers, the Cliff, Tides, etc, but we liked it. The reason we chose both of these places was the location. We were able to take a taxi from Silver Point to Cafe Luna for $10 USD and to the Gap for $15. Any other place would be too expensive without a car of your own.

Overall we had an Amazing trip. Every thing was perfect for a short little getaway. Because this place is quierter and does not have all the entertainment of a large resort, you might get stir crazy for over 4 days without car, but if you had a car to go explore the island, you would love it. There is a bus that you can walk to that only costs $1.00 USD, but we did not take it. The hotel reccomends it so it must be safe.

We loved the Silver Point and will definitely reccomend to friends. We hope to go back soon! Oh and also, they are building a spa next to reception. I can only imagine that addition will make the Silver Point even more amazing!

I would say longer time, not good

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

If you like to kite surf or wind surf ---- stay here. If you don't do those two things --- stay elsewhere. The hotel is difficult to find.....especially at night. (which can be very annoying after going out for dinner ---- and you WILL go out for dinner --- you won't always eat at this hotel) The bedroom is the only room with air conditioning --- which only has the bed and some lamps. The TV area, eating area, and bathroom do not have air conditioning ---- so it can be pretty hot and sticky. Do not expect to come back from a day of island adventure and relax in a cool room. That's not going to happen. If it's your first time to the island --- and you have a few extra dollars to spend --- do the Hilton or the Crane. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is a great boutique hotel, with a fantastic deck that overlooks the ocean. The pool/ocean area has lots of cabanas and lounge chairs; never had a problem finding an open one. Next door to the hotel is a para-surfing school, so lots of entertainment watching both the skilled and first-timers.

Hotel has a small, limited menu restaurant that serves good food. Ask for room on the 2nd floor so you have a balcony and (very limited) ocean view, but better than nothing. Hotel has free parking and a security guard. Also, is 10 minutes walk from the #11 bus route--an bus ride you must experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Priceline so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.