We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon - 2 nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silver Point Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Silver Sands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Honeymoon - 2 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the restaurant. It was delicious, better than any other food we ate in Barbados, plus you get to watch kite boarders and wind surfers while you eat. They have a nice combination of local foods as well as more traditional dishes. We had the fried fish as a sandwich and a wrap, the wrap was my favorite. Also be warned they pour the bar drinks with a heavy hand, just the way I like them! The breakfast is also traditional, bacon, eggs, bagels, fruit etc, and the coffee was fresh and strong.

The room was nice and clean. We were on the ground floor in a partial ocean view (very partial, I think the rooms on higher floors would have more of a view). The wifi was spotty, it worked to check email but if you needed to do any real work you would need to do it in the restaurant lobby where the signal was stronger.

We booked a rental car for the day through the hotel staff, it was about $100 USD. It was on the expensive side but the airport was out of rentals and it was conveniently delivered to the hotel. We also got the GPS for $5 which was worth more than that because the company had programmed their own points of interest with pictures and restaurant descriptions and hours. Be warned, Barbados does have traffic, we got stuck in it around 4:30 trying to get from the North back down, it took about an hour.

The taxi from the airport was $24 USD and the taxi back was $30. There is an ATM at the airport if you don't have cash.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    181
    59
    23
    8
See reviews for
48
299
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have vacationed to Barbados many times over the years. I have stayed at some low end to upper end hotels. My family and I stayed at Silver Point back in November for the first time, and with out a doubt silver Point is one of the nicest resort style hotels I ever stayed at. Located in the southern section "Silver Sands" of the island. The resort is located in a more residential area, but just a short drive to the Gap, and Crane Beach. The staff were very pleasant, and accommodating. However, they did not make you feel rushed, or were intrusive. Great ocean views from most of the rooms, and loved the bar, pools, Spa and decking area!! It's a gated hotel with 24 hour security which lets you sleep easy at night. Only draw back would be that since it is a resort the meals are pretty $$$$, so I would suggest eating elsewhere. Other than that Silver Point is an outstanding resort and well worth the bang for your buck you get!! Rest assured we will be staying there again, and again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I spent 4 nights at Silverpoint in Silver Sands area. Enjoyed every moment! Booked at the very last moment in high season so the only room available was a loft studio #319. Was initially a little concerned about space, but room was on the top 3rd floor w/ partial ocean views and was very reasonably priced. Arrived to find a wonderful queen bed in loft area with full sleeper sofa for our daughter downstairs. Also had a small refrigerator and coffee maker. Bathroom was small but clean with wonderful shower. Balcony w/ 2 chairs and a small table overlooked a very quiet parking lot but also had gorgeous views of the water and kitesurfers. Incredible sea breezes. Efficient A/C in room if you need it. Except for chirping of frogs at night, hotel was very quiet despite being full. Staff from security to front desk, housekeeping and restaurant was always helpful and very friendly. The on-site restaurant is tremendous – better than most restaurants on the island. The grounds are unusually clean, and landscaping is beautiful. Saw several families with young children and many Europeans. Nice pool area. Beach directly in front of hotel is gorgeous. Lots of kitesurfers. My daughter loved the cabanas – perfect for reading! Clyde, a taxi driver recommended by the hotel, took us on a 6-hour tour of the island -definitely worthwhile. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing stay in Barbados, Silverpoint is wonderful. It’s a bit isolated so you will need to rent a car or hire taxis (very easily procured from front desk). If you want to be surrounded by hordes of tourists, traffic, shopping, nightlife and hustle-bustle, then you should stay on the west coast at one of the resorts. Would definitely return to Silverpoint – it surpassed our expectations and represented excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Close to airport. Very casual hotel right on the beach. Loads of kite surfing going on.
Rooms comfortable and if you get partial ocean sea view pleasant.
Food available on site, casual dining,nice food and bar are all very good.
Staff helpful, especially reception staff that can assist with car hire, etc...... Recommend car hire because of location.... Unless want to use local transport or taxi. Good place to chill out or to tour island from if you get a car.

Room Tip: Partial sea view on second floor good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Silver Point between Dec. 17-20 and had a fantastic time. The hotel wasn't busy, and there was always room to lounge on one of the beds or watch the kite surfers from the sun deck.

The food at the restaurant was fantastic, although the hotel is a bit out of the way so you'll need a car if you want to go into town or be comfortable taking the public transit.

We met some fantastic friends ,and even walked down the beach to a small surf bar and watched the sunset.

The rooms are VERY nice - we stayed in an ocean view suite. Looks just like the photos.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first trip to the island of Barbados, our choice of hotel was Silver Point. We chose because of the price,the closeness to the Airport,the restaurant on site and the Ocean views. We were not disappointed at all. We had beautiful weather during the first week of December. We had breakfast on site every morning,the food was always good and the wait staff friendly. The bar staff Richelle and Michael, the best. We had drinks everynight at the bar and met very friendly people from all over the globe, the UK, Holland, New York etc. The Beach Front Ocean Front Corner room was awesome, we had a table and chairs, a day bed all over looking the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Absolutely loved the poster beds on the deck, great way to relax. Rented a car one day to go to the East Coast, beautiful beaches, the best was Bottom Bay. We decided that we wanted to go over to Bequia in the Grenadines for a couple of days. The front desk staff went out of their way to make our airplane reservations, this process took a good chunk of time, which we were grateful that someone else was booking. Upon our return stayed our last night again at Silver Point and enjoyed watching the many Kitesurfers. Friday night fish fry at Ostins is a great experience that should not be misssed, the hotel will call you a cab anytime. We felt safe at all times. We also liked the party at St. Lawrence Gap. We would definetly stay here again. The only down side to Silver Point is walking up three flights up stairs with heavy Luggage. Security will help you with luggage if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic hotel situated on a fantastic quiet beach . Could not fault it apart from the noise from the staff in the morning (7:30 am) . Could of done with some local info like busses to town ! The surrounding area is a bit of a shanty town with locals but they seemed ok , try and sell you a few drugs ! Be polite and there fine .

To catch a bus into town is a 5 minute walk away but very simple , the little mini buses to look out for are white with a maroon stripe down the side with the number 11 on them , you can take it all the way to Bridgetown for 2 Barbadian dollars or 1 us dollar . Stop of at oystins great local dishes , and 4 local beers 10 Barbadian dollars ( banks beer ) .

Over all great value for money , better beaches on west coast but the 1 at oystins is lovely . When leaving the island check in early and take a look at he concord next to the airport , around £15 I think but worth it all day long ! A heat way to finish your holiday off !!!

Also a quick reminder the 2 dogs outside the hotel (sandy coloured, and a little scruffy 1 ) are best buddies and are homeless even 1 having a collar on , are so friendly every night we would come home to the hotel they would run up to us for our left over bits . , so if you have leftovers from the fine food think of these 2 .

If your thinking of very hectic place to visit this hotel is not for you so wonderfully chilled out !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.