We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great easy place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Point Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Point Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great easy place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Close to airport. Very casual hotel right on the beach. Loads of kite surfing going on.
Rooms comfortable and if you get partial ocean sea view pleasant.
Food available on site, casual dining,nice food and bar are all very good.
Staff helpful, especially reception staff that can assist with car hire, etc...... Recommend car hire because of location.... Unless want to use local transport or taxi. Good place to chill out or to tour island from if you get a car.

Room Tip: Partial sea view on second floor good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    187
    62
    24
    8
See reviews for
48
312
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Silver Point between Dec. 17-20 and had a fantastic time. The hotel wasn't busy, and there was always room to lounge on one of the beds or watch the kite surfers from the sun deck.

The food at the restaurant was fantastic, although the hotel is a bit out of the way so you'll need a car if you want to go into town or be comfortable taking the public transit.

We met some fantastic friends ,and even walked down the beach to a small surf bar and watched the sunset.

The rooms are VERY nice - we stayed in an ocean view suite. Looks just like the photos.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first trip to the island of Barbados, our choice of hotel was Silver Point. We chose because of the price,the closeness to the Airport,the restaurant on site and the Ocean views. We were not disappointed at all. We had beautiful weather during the first week of December. We had breakfast on site every morning,the food was always good and the wait staff friendly. The bar staff Richelle and Michael, the best. We had drinks everynight at the bar and met very friendly people from all over the globe, the UK, Holland, New York etc. The Beach Front Ocean Front Corner room was awesome, we had a table and chairs, a day bed all over looking the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Absolutely loved the poster beds on the deck, great way to relax. Rented a car one day to go to the East Coast, beautiful beaches, the best was Bottom Bay. We decided that we wanted to go over to Bequia in the Grenadines for a couple of days. The front desk staff went out of their way to make our airplane reservations, this process took a good chunk of time, which we were grateful that someone else was booking. Upon our return stayed our last night again at Silver Point and enjoyed watching the many Kitesurfers. Friday night fish fry at Ostins is a great experience that should not be misssed, the hotel will call you a cab anytime. We felt safe at all times. We also liked the party at St. Lawrence Gap. We would definetly stay here again. The only down side to Silver Point is walking up three flights up stairs with heavy Luggage. Security will help you with luggage if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
p
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic hotel situated on a fantastic quiet beach . Could not fault it apart from the noise from the staff in the morning (7:30 am) . Could of done with some local info like busses to town ! The surrounding area is a bit of a shanty town with locals but they seemed ok , try and sell you a few drugs ! Be polite and there fine .

To catch a bus into town is a 5 minute walk away but very simple , the little mini buses to look out for are white with a maroon stripe down the side with the number 11 on them , you can take it all the way to Bridgetown for 2 Barbadian dollars or 1 us dollar . Stop of at oystins great local dishes , and 4 local beers 10 Barbadian dollars ( banks beer ) .

Over all great value for money , better beaches on west coast but the 1 at oystins is lovely . When leaving the island check in early and take a look at he concord next to the airport , around £15 I think but worth it all day long ! A heat way to finish your holiday off !!!

Also a quick reminder the 2 dogs outside the hotel (sandy coloured, and a little scruffy 1 ) are best buddies and are homeless even 1 having a collar on , are so friendly every night we would come home to the hotel they would run up to us for our left over bits . , so if you have leftovers from the fine food think of these 2 .

If your thinking of very hectic place to visit this hotel is not for you so wonderfully chilled out !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend here at Silver Point and had a fantastic time overall. The service was great, food was delicious and we even popped into their sales office considering to buy a unit of their condos...not too bad pricing for some decent returns.

Anyways, the resort was high end without being snooby, but as we aren't wind surfers or para sailers, this end of the island was a bit windy for us.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went to Barbados for the first time from the UK, and being in our early to mid twenties had a bit of a budget to stick to. We chose Silver Point having booked very late with very few options and it seemed to be the nicest option despite rumours of bad weather, reburbs and prices!

Having now done our week out there I would say that Silverpoint is in a great, authentic location, with one of the best beaches I saw on my whole trip. The rooms are nice, and the bed was huge but we were not particularly impressed with the wardrobe space or the cleanliness as there were public hairs on the shower wall and handprints all up the bathroom door. However the staff are very nice which makes up for that, Rochelle on the bar and all her friends that work there are great, the reception staff are very pleasant too.

The pool is nice but small, however as it was quiet is was quite a nice little area to go to cool down, but not really a pool for keen swimmers! The sea however is excellent; very warm, clear and shallow quite far out. The sea is usually full of kite surfers, but they are well out of the way from the swimmers. We saw some turtles there one evening and it is very clean. The guys that sell things on the beach are a bit of a pain, but they are polite and they do take no for an answer, thankfully.

The food is excellent but very expensive. I would recommend the lunch menu but for the evenings, take a $2 bus to Oistins (Angels was nice) or St Lawrence Gap (has to be cafe sol) for a more reasonable priced meal or better atmosphere respectively. The shop at the hotel is also a bit steep, especially for drink, so take a short walk to the little grubby shop down the road and it is cheap as chips.

Don't bother with taxi's unless youre going to or from the airport. The shuttles are fun, reasonably well driven and quite safe. You will save a small fortune. Also, dont pay to swim with turtles, they are at the Oistins pier everyday and fish guts from the neibouring market are free (this brings them over very quickly!). Miss out on Mount Gay Rum tours; they are ridiculously dear and are so disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I decide to stay at the silver point after looking on virgin holidays and found a good deal the place looked Nice clean and the weather would be good...the hotel staff are very un motivated they say the management offer them no food all day and they seem to be in a bad mood. This excludes the bar staff a guy Michael and woman rochelle are very helpful an friendly and always smiling.shame about the rest..the rooms are always clean and the maids have always been polite .after finding the shop keeper asleep many times on the counter I opted out going there.I found all the problems I had here and issued with the reception that they had no authority to dO anything so everytime had to call the manager who clearly had poor management skills I would not rate the hotel as a virgin holiday. I actually feel sorry for the staff as they have no motivation. There was also many guests outside the hotel just coming in locals, with about 10 kids taking over a small pool we complained that there was no sunbeds for the guests and thy next day they was still here..way to treat paying customers! Would stay in an apartment next time And agree with the previous review! Wouldn't return

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.