We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to go for Kiteboarders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Point Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Point Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Venice CA USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best way to go for Kiteboarders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed SPH immensely. We had room 101 - 2BR ocean front suite - they're best room. I suggest ear plugs because the local frogs are very loud. The ocean front deck and pool are very pleasant, the beach is the best kite and windsurfing area (Long Beach and Silver Sands) and there are no other hotels in the area that haven't closed their doors due to the recession. There are always security guards around, taxis out front, there's a little store for basics and the reception desk can organize any excursions and suggest activities and restaurants. We went in June which is off season, but frankly, I can't see why. The weather is PERFECT - 85 and breezy. The water is sublime. We toured all of the island and unless you want 5 star service, this is the best place to stay on the island IMO. But I'm not a beach lounger. If you want that, then Holetown or the Hilton are better bets. I like design oriented, boutique hotels that have great food and service and more natural locations without the crowds.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to have reasonably good locations with some sort of view, but my room was 101 - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    187
    62
    23
    8
See reviews for
48
312
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK Crawley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have been to Silver point and we loved it more than the 1st. They staff remembered us as well and it had been nearly 2 years. The staff are so friendly, they resolve issues right away and above and beyond the necessary for example, we only had a very small fridge yet there were 4 adults and 2 babies; within 10 minutes they brought us an american style fridge freezer to our suite. They were great with the babies too and this place just generally is a great place to be. The accomodation was clean as were the facilities. The staff behind the bar were great fun and we felt so welcome. Silver point is a fantasic hotel with a great location, the only slight negative is that the food is quite limited and expensive. The majority of the time we just got food in from the supermarket but once in a while it was nice to get food from the hotel. This hotel accomodates all, we met some lovely people there, it's well kept and looks stunning, a lovely boutique style. For once this accomodation is what it says. not disappointed at all. We can't wait to come back. Oh and we had a lovely massage in the spa...amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front suite...amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I went there in 2011 and the hotel was pretty good! The food was amazing!!! I tried everything on the menu and everything was delicious!! The staff was super friendly and helpful and the hotel has practically everything you can need. Minus points: the whistling frogs! they are all over barbados and the make a lot of noise especially during the night!!! Also no wi-fi in the rooms but there is free at the pool area.
The beach was great and there is a kite surfing school on it although a bit pricey (*cough*rip-off*cough*). The rooms have usb chargers (a big plus for me!) and the reception even has free DVDs for the rainy days!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently returned from a stay at the Silver Point and was very impressed overall! Below are a list of pro's & con's from my experience:

Pro's:
-Affordable (great rates) especially for the niceness/level of hotel
-Gorgeous outside pool/beach/laying out area
-Proximity of restaurant to pool and beach view at restaurant
-Live poolside music on Saturday
-AMAZINGLY friendly staff
-Strong drinks with generous portions
-Pool/beach not crowded at all, no need to fight over chairs (was nervous about this after reading other reviews but definitely not an issue at all, if anything, pretty empty)

Con's:
-No elevator, so lugging suitcase is tough if on 3rd floor
-Air conditioning isn't very cold
-Surrounding area is a bit sketchy
-Due to above, important to take cabs everywhere which can be pricey
-Due to above, if bad weather, not much else to do nearby
-No "free" refills on soda

Overall, we had a wonderful time and if in Barbados again, would definitely go back to this hotel as it was a great value for the price. If it town on a Friday, definitely check out the Oistins Fish Fry as it's nearby and lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

i loved the silverpoint right on the beach the beds on the deck just made it that much more distinctive.
the staff were all excellent.
it is off the beaten path but you can just jump on the rasta bus and go to oustins or bridgetown.
we had the oceanfront studio and arriving at night could hear the waves breaking.
the next morning we were pleasantly surprised to see many kite boarders right outside.... what a spectacle

Room Tip: go for the ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great Hotel, warm welcome, super nice staff. Great value for budgeted vacation in Barbados. They upgraded us to a OCEAN FRONT VIEW (is a must-but its not only reason why I'm writing this review)!! The staff were super helpful, we called almost everyday to get a local restaurant's/activities phone numbers and cabs. They provided us with beach towels and gave us access to their wifi (kinda super low but who needs to be in touch with the internet when you are in vacation!)

This is a great place just for couples!! Nice rooms with fridge, microwave and small kitchen. Its so great to wake up every morning and going to bed hearing the waves crashing! The room also has a DVD player so if you want, you can bring some movies with you! The front desk has movies but only like 6 selections. There is a small convenient store for snacks, drinks, magazines, gifts..etc..

The pool isn't big or small. Its a perfect size. Every time we went into the pool (almost everyday), there would be only like 3-4 other people joining us. Never crowded. Love Love Love the day beds outside near the pool!!!

The only bad thing about this place-is that it is very isolated from other towns (where there's restaurants and nightlife)- It cost us like $30 round trip going to St. Lawrence and $50 round trip going into Bridgetown. It only takes about 15mins with the cab rides which is not bad. Get to see the neighborhood. We went out to eat almost every night in St. Lawrence. So it was kinda of expensive. We didn't bother to rent a car because it was super expensive, plus gas and plus getting some kind of temp. id permit?!.


.....HOTEL FOOD....

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and it was NOT BAD AT ALL! I read lots of reviews and some say the food were okay or it was bad. But honestly it was good! The selections maybe very small but it saved us the cab ride into town at nights. The breakfast is a must! The cinnamon brown sugar french toast and eggs&sausages--yummers, with a side of pineapple juice. They are very generous with the coffee..can serve up to 4 cups! The prices are not bad, I'd say reasonable. I mean every hotel that has its own restaurant inside, the prices of course it would be a bit more!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I will be upfront and say that off and on the whole time I stayed at SilverPoint in Barbados, the weather was cloudy with frequent rain showers. This leads me to the first problem; all of the hotel aisles are outside and are marble—which becomes very slippery in the rain. I saw so many people almost hurt themselves simply by walking after the rain, and a number actually fall and sustain minor injuries. The other thing I noticed is there was no lift. Those two items alone pretty much should eliminate this as a choice for elderly or those without good mobility.
Since the hotel is largely open (and even the parts that are ‘closed’ get wet in a rainstorm), there is little to do here during bad weather except stay in the only place where you can stay dry; inside your room. Who wants to go on vacation and spend it in the hotel room?
Thirdly, the hotel is located on ‘deAction’ beach which is a mecca for those who kite surf. Pretty much the entire (small) beach was covered either by the kite surfers or their equipment.
There is one restaurant at the hotel, which, after staying in two other hotels with outstanding dining options, the SilverPoint leaves much to be desired. The one bar is conveniently located to the pool, outdoor area, and restaurant, but the workers try to cover everything meaning the service is typically very slow, even for Barbados.
The spa, located across the street, had an excellent massuse who took her time and had to strength to give a real deep-tissue massage. The office was verbally helpful, but when I asked for two keys, or a power adapter, said they would work on it, and never produced any item or explanation as to why they couldn’t accomplish it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.