We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An indelible experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terra

La Terra
Via Tagliata 14, 84017 Montepertuso, Positano, Italy
+39 089 811179
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $64
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: It is a typical italian restaurant on the amalfi coast the location is even more than beautiful in a building of the xv century. the food ,natural and organic, comes strictly by the land coultivated directly by the owner. the great chef prepare everything with love, following the traditions and the rules of the typical way of cooking of the amalfi coast. our secrets:goodness, genuineness,hospitality,simplicity.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An indelible experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great food, a very warm host, breath taking view and wait ..... there is an impromptu performances worthy of Italia Got Talent!
The host he can definitely play his sax. That combined with the silky voice of one of the waitresses - fantastic combination.
You see Montepertuso is not actually that accessible. But they do take the trouble to arrange a van FOC both ways. This being Amalfi Coast you can't not expect fresh seafood. So choosing them is a no-brainer. And we were not disappointed with the calamari, vongole or jumbo gamberi.
Oh btw its inexpensive!! Thank you host for a wonderful evening. We won't forget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    280
    52
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

great dinner at la terra in Positano. with our two best friends . we also had the pleasure of listen to the beautiful voice of Roberta with Raffaele playing sax. Francesco is always a great host. this is a place to visit & have a good italian dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No ambiance!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where's the ambiance!!the dining area was a glorified cafeteria!! The nicest part of the restaurant was the outdoor patio which was closed.the food was average at best! Don't ask the cab drivers where to eat in this region because they keep sending you to the places that they get kickbacks from!!the ride up the mountain to this place is nauseating as well,very difficult to get to!my appetizer of clams n mussels was just ok,had a veal Marsala with mushrooms which was horrendous!! Had a better veal dish on al-Italia flying to Italy!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We tried this place based off all the reviews, and we really don't understand how it is rated the #1 restaurant in all of Positano...

First off a shuttle comes to pick you up, and drives you to the restaurant - which was a big plus. Once you get to the restaurant my girlfriend and I found that it was nothing special at all. The inside isn't nice, and we thought that the restaurant would be outside with a great view. Instead it is completely inside, and honestly the view is so high that we didn't find it to be that nice at all compared to the other restaurants that we ate at in Positano.

We ordered the grilled veggies - which were pretty good.
The filet was cooked well, but had no flavor at all! Definately a big let down.

The restaurant itself also was very warm inside, and had a tremendous number of flies all around.

If I could suggest a restaurant here in Positano, this definately would not be a place that I would tell anybody about. Please save yourself the trouble and eat elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We so enjoyed our dinner at the top of the hill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our group of nine had a lovely dinner at this restaurant... the views are spectacular so go early.
We are even treated to a Saxophone playing and singing by the staff.
It came highly recommended by my travel agent and the hotel owner. We were very happy they provided a ride to and from the restaurant on the fun , scenic, curvy drive to and from it.
All of the food came out very tasty and they went above and beyond to make it a very nice evening for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terra also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.