We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nocelle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast
Via Nocelle, 116, 84017 Nocelle, Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Nocelle B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently traveled to Positano with my daughter and her best friend. I booked this location due to the price, the reviews and the view. The view was lovely, however, to get there was a bit difficult, due to the fact that it was in Nocelle, which requires you to take a bus into the town of Positano and back to the hotel (it is at the very last bus stop). The issue we had was getting back to our hotel in the evenings, the fight to get on the public bus was awful. The advantage of the locaiton, however, was the view, it was spectacular. The family was lovely and very helpful in every way. There is no air conditioning, but with the fan and the door open it was fine. Breakfast was simple, dry toast, croissants, coffee and juice. I highly recommned using Sergio with Taxi 5 to get from Naples to the hotel as he was an amazing taxi driver, the van he drove was beautiful, he was a joy to be with, and he was so helpful in every way! Note that many steps are required, so if you have difficulty walking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked Villa Sophia based on what we had read. We were backpacking and looking for a beautiful relaxing place to stay. We were unaware that the bus ride up to the top of Nocelle would be an experience we would not forget! From the bus stop in town that comes hourly, then the ride most times standing, unless you push your weight around, takes about 30 minutes through very narrow winding roads way above Positano. Then to walk to Villa Sophia takes about 10 minutes and 200++ stairs and pathways... Bring a flashlight if you arrive late. (I wouldn't suggest arriving in the dark). We stayed 4 nights and found the bed very small and for our North American standards very uncomfortable. Luciana and the family were very hard working and gracious but you are coming into their world and lives, and they are busy. If you expect a 5 star experience it isn't, but if you want an authentic experience with an unforgettable view off the cliff tops you won't be disappointed! When you understand the home was built and literally carried on their backs, it is surreal. The family is sharing their home and life, from mom bringing us her own homemade Limoncello to dad bringing us fresh figs from the tree (they were a first for us and delicious) to Luciana and Rafael always willing to offer help and answer questions. We would hand wash our laundry and hang to dry and it was always nicely folded when we returned in the evening. We enjoyed both restaurants close by (within 10 minutes walk) and the views were amazing there too! If you are looking for a beach front stay in Positano this is not it, but if you are willing to experience time with an authentic hardworking Italian family, this is for you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is stunningly beautiful, but I don't get the fuss...
Our bed was uncomfortable with awful pillows, and the breakfast that everyone raves about was some pastries from a box (or one morning in a bag), juice from a box, packaged toast, and fresh coffee (the coffee was good though!).
On top of that, to get to Positano you have to take a 20-30 minute bus ride down the mountain. This bus runs every hour. On top of that, if you then want to go to somewhere else in the Amalfi region you have to get on another bus for 30 minutes. This was just too remote for us.
On the plus side, it is a perfect location for the Path of the Gods hike. But we would personally look elsewhere in Nocelle.
Bathroom had no amenities, and the hot water was spotty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Exceeded all expectations! We had a wonderful weekend stay and Luciana was a friendly, informative, generous and great host. She even helped our friends find their place on arrival. The room was well appointed and clean -- the view absolutely stunning. The bus ride up the mountain is not for the feint of heart -- Nocelle is absolutely worth it though! Pack light and wear your walking shoes, it is about a 7min walk including up and down stairs from the bus stop (they do have a winch for luggage if you must) but Luciana came and got us at the stop and walked us down to the B&B, providing some history and guidance along the way. We were cared for from the first minutes of our arrival and it was a fantastic place for a weekend escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Luciana and her mother are easily some of the best hosts we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. It felt more like staying at a good friend's house than lodging at someone's accommodation.
The view from all rooms is simply incredible. We arrived at night and got the surprise of our lives when we woke up to this awesome view, right from our room's entrance.

Their garden is beautiful with plenty of places to sit under the shade and the rooftop has deck chairs and without a doubt the best outlook for taking your breakfast while watching Positano wake up below you.

The owners will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome, from serving you a magnificent breakfast to filling you with insiders tips and information on anything from hiking routes to dining suggestions.

The location itself is ideally situated for the Trail of the Gods hike and the villa is right at the start of the path.

You simply cannot go wrong with this, especially since it is by far one of the most reasonably-priced options in the area.

I have travelled extensively and I cannot fault this, whether you are young, old, a family or single.

Villa Sofia has become a good enough excuse for us to visit Nocelle again. Thank you Luciana with the big smile for making our stay so incredibly memorable! We look forward to seeing you again sometime!

Costas and Annie

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms at Villa Sofia. One of the few times I can say this about a property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in September with my husband and two year old son. We came as we were attending a wedding in priano and chose this b&b due to its price and the fact that some of the rooms had kitchens.
The location is quite remote but don't let this put you off. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. Quiet, amazing views and Lucianna and her family really went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
In general, the amalfi coast is not the most child friendly. The b&b is a bus ride from positano and off peak only run once an hour so an infinite amount of planning is needed. A few times we missed the evening bus but as Lucianna knows everyone, there are many restaurants that will pick you up via shuttle from nocelle or positano and then drop you back. Lucianna was always happy to arrange this. They also helped arrange transport to the wedding we were attending.
Our room was simple but very clean and we had a kitchen which was very helpful with a toddler. There are lots of steps getting to and from villa Sophia which we did find challenging, but we were definately fitter after!
All in all, we loved this place. If you don't like walking or steps, this is def not the place to stay. But if you love an amazing location and good hospitality, I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Villa Sofia is the perfect retreat with views that have to be seen to be believed. On arrival we were offered limoncello and fruit on our terrace overlooking the Amalfi coast all the way down to Capri. Luciana is the perfect host - friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. Her and her family were always eager to help and make our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Our stay felt like we were seeing real Italian life in the mountains. When we visited (21st-27th October) the hamlet of Nocelle was awash with nets to catch the ripened olives as they fell from the branches. Luciana told us all about the history of her home, where olive trees, fruit trees, vines and herbs have been grown for generations by her family. Nocelle is on the Path of the Gods in one direction and the ancient path to Montepertuso in the other - amazing walks, and that is quite important here - you can't be afraid of a little walking. There is a very good local bus service down to Positano but walking will be involved in your visit, if only walking to and from the bus stop and walking around hilly Positano, where most streets are stairways. If you like walking, as we do, this place is paradise. In the hamlet of Nocelle there are two delicious restaurants with amazing views down to Positano, where meals are prepared using the ingredients growing around you. Breakfast in the B&B, served to you on your private terrace, is simple but delicious - it changes day to day but always includes delicious coffee, fruit, toast and pastries. It takes a bit more effort to get here compared to places in Positano but without a doubt this was worth it and we plan to visit again. Thank you Luciana!

Room Tip: All rooms have the same amazing view - for a private terrace, pay 10Euros mroe for a living room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Nocelle, 116, 84017 Nocelle, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano > Nocelle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nocelle
Also Known As:
Villa Sofia Hotel Nocelle
Villa Sofia b&b
Villa Sofia Bed And Breakfast Positano, Italy - Nocelle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Sofia Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list