We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort in Sicily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcantara Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alcantara Resort to your Saves list
Alcantara Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Colonnello Francesco Mannino 7, 98030 Gaggi, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Seattle
1 review
“Fantastic Resort in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I went to Alcantara Resort on the advise from my sister and niece and we are so happy we did. It is a beautiful oasis with wonderful staff. Luigi, Melissa, Angelo, Angelo, Dario and the rest made us feel like family! They were always smiling and always willing to help. They even cleaned our laundry when we asked. Our room was beautiful and had everything we needed. It was on the 2nd floor and had a beautiful view of the resort and the surrounding area of Gaggi. The grounds are beautiful, with the cabanas sprinkled throughout. We observed the staff maintaining the grounds daily and keeping everything perfect.
The pool area was our favorite, with Angelo bringing us whatever we wanted to eat or drink as we relaxed.You can see Mt Etna in the distance from your lounge chair. The pool itself is great with a jacuzzi and smaller pool for kids. The morning buffet was more than ample and great food. We ate dinner at the resort restaurant and also enjoyed great food and service then. There was even a confirmation party there one evening and it was fun to watch the festivities. The staff handled the restaurant and the party very well.
The resort was only about a 10-15 minute drive to the beaches which made it a great retreat at the end of the day. It was also a good place to have a base camp as we explored Sicilia. The staff was able to give us great advise on places to visit both tourist and not.
We will definitely return in the future to this beautiful and fun resort.

Room Tip: Ask for and upper room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent our last 3 nights in Sicily at this hotel and it was the best by far. It is like a little paradise with its beautiful garden and swimming pool. The rooms are nice and big and decorated with great taste. Everything neat and perfectly clean. Great choice of food for breakfast and very good meals at the restaurant for a good price in comparison to other restaurants where we've been to. But the best part of this hotel is the staff, they are incredibly helpful and they really look out for you without even asking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qiryat Ono, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We are a family of 3 adults, we stayed 2 nights at the Alcantara resort. it is an easy drive from Gaggim to Taormina, to the northern slopes of mnth Ethna , or to the Alcatara natural park. The hotel is new, very clean, beatifully designed, and the staff are highly professional, friendly, very knowlegable and most helpful. Everything feels very luxurious except the price which was reasonable. breakfast was excellent, and here is my tip: have at least one dinner at the hotel restaurant. The semifredo they make is addictive!! We hope to come next time for a whole week. They have a lovely swimming pool but on May it is too cold to swimm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

From april 27 till may 05, we stayed at the Alcantara resort. We were surprised to find such a beautifull relaxing place in such a small town, close to touristic Taormina. The beautifull rooms, relaxing pool and stunning food made this stay to one we won't forget. Special compliment for the hotel staff, maître Gianfranco and the chef, who did everything possible to make our stay really complete !! The next time we will come back to Sicily to play golf, we will surely choose this hotel again. The fact that a new golf resort is currently built 500 mtrs from the hotel makes the choice even easier to make.
Tip; Make sure you have a rental car, public transport is not relyable in Sicily

Grandia, Rotterdam - The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I am a 65 year old Canadian male and stayed at this resort for ten days in April. I know a small amount of Italian and my title expresses my experiences here - spectacular . . . .

The meals in the restaurant are excellent, varied and competitively priced. My room was large, comfortable, clean, open and airy. I had a clear view of the top of Mount Etna from my porch. I am an avid amateur photographer and with a car I was able to make it easily to a variety of photogenic locations including Taomarina, Noto, and Caltagirone.

By far, the best part of my stay was my encounters with the owners and staff of the resort. Everyone was very professional but, beyond their occupations, they were genuinely concerned with both myself and my needs during my stay. As a result, I have come away from Sicily having a much better understanding of the place and the warm and engaging nature of it's people.

I have traveled through much of Italy. This place is a "gem".

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mechelen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent a week in this beautiful new resort. The location is excellent for excursions in the east of sicily. Not far away from Taormina but in a quiet area. A car is needed to get there. Great breakfast and the food in the restaurant was perfect. The staff is very friendly !!! The rooms are one of the cleanest we ever saw in italy. A place to remember !!!

Room Tip: ake a room on the first floor of the appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The staff at Alcantara are wonderful! Not only did they give suggestions/directions but they actually took us to places of interest! The rooms are gorgeous with unheard of beautiful large bathrooms, flat screen TV's, Wi-fi, patios, etc. The restaurant has great food and service, and the included breakfast buffet is amazing! Alcantara personifies the term "resort"

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcantara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantara Resort

Address: Via Colonnello Francesco Mannino 7, 98030 Gaggi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gaggi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcantara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcantara Resort is set in the beautiful valley of Alcantara, 7 Km. away from Taormina and very close to the magnificent gorges of Alcantara. The resort has 21 rooms, all them arranged in sicilian style and all of them are spacious and bright, classically furnished and equipped with private bedroom, mini-bar, piped music, TV with satellite channels, Internet Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alcantara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Resort Sicily/Gaggi, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcantara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.