We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcantara Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alcantara Resort to your Saves list
Alcantara Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Colonnello Francesco Mannino 7, 98030 Gaggi, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vilnius
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our family (two kids 14months and 9 years) had a lovely time at the Alcantara Resort, the staff were very friendly they did everything they could to make sure you were happy and satisfied. The people in reception can speak english so you can get all information you need (places to visit and restaurants to eat).
The hotel was excellent though, the breakfast buffet was delicious and very fresh and the meals in the evening were superb, the 4 course set menu was excellent value for money! The room was amazing, one of the nicest rooms we’ve ever stayed in. The bed was very comfy and everything about the place was faultless. The pool was very nice and no panic for sun beds because there was plenty for everyone.I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but would also recommend car hire because there isn’t anything nearby and taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms quiete, there are one and two badrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel is fantastic in every way. The rooms are of a high standard and the service that the resort provide is outstanding, all of the staff will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and attend to your every need.
Some advice to you if staying is don't pull chairs or furniture across the ceramic floor as this can be heard on either the ground or top floor (no fault of the resort).
The area is away from the big tourist towns which for us was perfect as we wanted to relax by the pool (towels are provided) but if you do decide to venture out there are buses into Giardini Naxos and Taomina approx €3.60 return pp or alternatively hire a car from the resort for a couple of days costing around €55 for 24 hours.
There is a cheap pub/cafe 5 mins walk from the resort offering Cappucino for €1, Ice cream and local snacks as well as a couple of pizzerias.

Room Tip: Top floor room with large terrace perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a lovely time relaxing at the Alcantara Resort, the staff were very friendly and nice although their English wasn’t very good they did everything they could to make sure you were happy and satisfied. The only downside to not having anyone speak very good English at the hotel was we couldn’t really interact with them and ask for information on the local area, places to visit and restaurants to eat at which meant we unfortunately ate at some very poor places at high prices and probably didn’t see the best of what Sicily had to offer.
The hotel was excellent though, the breakfast buffet was delicious and very fresh and the meals in the evening were superb, the 4 course set menu was excellent value for money! The room was amazing, one of the nicest rooms we’ve ever stayed in. The walk-in shower was lovely, the bed was very comfy and everything about the place was faultless. The pool was very nice and no panic for sun beds because there was plenty for everyone. I cannot fault this hotel in anyway, the only thing which would be on the downside for me was the number of young crying children, but I cannot mark this down on the hotel because this isn’t exactly a fault from them.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but would also recommend car hire because there isn’t anything nearby and taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Juniour Suite which had a huge outdoor terrace area with excellent views of Mt Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I don't usually write reviews but I have never enjoyed a holiday so much! The Alcantara Resort is in a beautiful location with stunning views and really is an undiscovered gem. Myself and my boyfriend were very impressed with the level of service we received there. For us it was what made the trip. Angelo and his staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the decor in the rooms is beautiful. Everything is brand new! Really cannot fault this place. It is the perfect place to go to chill out and relax. Taormina is only 10k away if you want to go dancing! The little town of Gaggi where the resort is situated has some nice little pizzerias and delis. Perfect for those looking for the authentic Sicilian experience off the beaten track. Really cannot say enough about this place. We are going back in six months, cannot wait!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We were the first quests to stay here as the hotel had just opened. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully furnished with a large terrace outside from which to enjoy views of the beautiful pool area and landscaped grounds. There is also a tennis court for the sports oriented.

We were made to feel very welcome by all the hotel staff and in particular by the maitre d' who could not have been more helpful, providing excellent service in the restaurant and a wealth of information about the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcantara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcantara Resort

Address: Via Colonnello Francesco Mannino 7, 98030 Gaggi, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gaggi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gaggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcantara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alcantara Resort is set in the beautiful valley of Alcantara, 7 Km. away from Taormina and very close to the magnificent gorges of Alcantara. The resort has 21 rooms, all them arranged in sicilian style and all of them are spacious and bright, classically furnished and equipped with private bedroom, mini-bar, piped music, TV with satellite channels, Internet Wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alcantara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcantara Resort Sicily/Gaggi, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcantara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.