We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of endless discovery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn to your Saves list
La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   96 kilometers from San Jose | Puerto Viejo de Sarapiquí, 18 Km South, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Toronto,Ont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place of endless discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

If wildlife and birdwatching is your thing...La Quinta is a fabulous spot to be immersed in nature just steps away from your room. The covered walkways connecting our room with the dining room and guest lounge area gave us cover when the weather became wet.. The rooms available are neat. The bed is comfortable and there is a walkout deck with chairs and hammock with privacy provided by thick foliage. With high humidity and low air flow it is recommended to obtain a room with available air conditioning and therefore comfort will not be sacrificed. All meals were enjoyable. This is a great home base if visiting Le Selva and only a 20 min drive away. Highly recommend getting a guided tour of Le Selva to enhance the wildlife viewing and information one gains.
However, simply wandering on the grounds on the well marked trails was a pleasure to explore and offered many bird and wildlife sightings. The on site pool was a refreshing activity after a walk in the woods. One of our fondest encounters was meeting Blanketa
the family dog

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
-England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The gardens were delightful and hotel is located right by the river. The only down side was that I was with a large tour group and another equally large group was there at the same time. I felt sorry for anyone who had come for a nice quiet stay.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

La Quinta is perfectly located for birding and wildlife groups visiting OTS La Selva and Tirimbina (each a few miles drive in each direction), and there were several of these small parties (US, UK , German) filling the place pretty much to capacity during our stay. This gave the place a different feel to other places we stayed at; it may just have been a time-of-year thing. The main impact, as ever, was at meal times, with simultaneous arrival, large noisy group tables and much queueing – all easily avoided by showing up a bit later than the crowd. Meals are in any case all buffet-style, and excellent – good choices of salads, soup and mains (variations on chicken and beef, plus the usual Costa Rican staples); and nicely varied over the three evenings we stayed. Everything was constantly, freshly and abundantly replenished.Beer and wine, at better prices than usual, is available from an informal ‘bar’ (charge-to room-only).

We had bad luck with the weather, with almost continuous heavy rain; this dampened any impression we might have had of the grounds or pool area, but the latter looked nice, and a reasonable size. The butterfly enclosure was fun. The whole of the covered dining and reception areas, however, and the covered walkways between the accommodation blocks – however sensible given the downpours – did give the experience a somewhat claustrophobic feeling. It would have been nice to see the sky – or some tree-top birds. Otherwise, this is effectively the eco-lodge thing; very pleasant large rooms, with a small sitting out/hammock area. However, we had a washbasin coming loose from the wall, and a loose showerhead, showing up a lack of care for things which would have been obvious to the room maid. There were the usual ubiquitous ants. The lobby has wi-fi.

Staff were very variably helpful: one person on Reception couldn’t help us enough with choosing things to do, and didn’t push things that the hotel could benefit from in commission; another person, at another time, was almost obstructively uninterested and unhelpful. For serious or even casual birders, the hotel provides a list of the extensive range of birds recorded in the gardens, and a mid-afternoon feature, as elsewhere, is the feeding of the local tanagers, aracaris and honeyeaters with fruit on a raised bird table. This attracted as good a range of species as we saw anywhere in Costa Rica; but it would have helped the photographers had it been situated in what little sun was available to us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Full of character. We thought our cabin accommodation was below average, but the birds, butterflys and frogs made up for this.
Our cabin was spacious, but we would have appreciated a softer mattress and pillows, hair shampoo, conditioner and facecloths. Shrubbery planted around base of our balcony obscured about 75% of daylight and views. Food in self-service restaurant was good and suited us.
Wildlife in Hotel gardens marvellous. We watched a large butterfly emerge from crysalis and nearby were thumbnail-sized red frogs which were poisonous, but only if swallowed ! A large variety of brightly coloured birds were everywhere, and especially on the babana-fed bird table. Many other guests were bird-watchers. Field guides available which helped us identify most of what we saw.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were only here for two nights but found the setting thoroughly relaxing. The ensuite bedroom areas, which also had a large useful shelved alcove for hanging/airing clothes and a porch with chairs, table and a hammock, were scattered about the lush gardens. All was very clean and comfortable. The public areas were rustic in design and attractively frunished. The food, which was presented buffet style, was perfectly acceptable and plentiful. The highlight, however, was probably the bird table which attracted a large variety of birds, both common species and the more exotic ones.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

A tropical rain forest hotel ideal if you are interested in bird watching. Many birds are easily seen in the gardens, eg humming birds, vultures, toucans, tanagers, herons and lots more. Room was large with a terrace complete with hammock to watch birds at close quarters. From here we visited La Selva Research Centre which has a large variety of mammals, birds, plants.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

After a shaky start ( no water in the bathroom after a very hot day's travelling ! ) soon sorted out by very pleasant staff , we grew to absolutely love this place ! Lodge oozed character, room was fine reached by a covered walkway in beautiful gardens and had air conditioning. Good food and lots to enjoy including a fascinating bug and butterfly museum and the birdtable attracting numerous kinds of birds including toucans. Great walks closeby for the wildlife - monkeys, sloths etc. Probably the best place we stayed at during our trip, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn

Address: 96 kilometers from San Jose | Puerto Viejo de Sarapiquí, 18 Km South, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta de Sarapiquí Country Inn is a beautiful cozy hotel, located 60 miles from San José, with a perfect destination that combines a tremendous biological diversity with comfortable accommodations, easy access and personalized Costa Rican hospitality. Is an ideal base for both casual and avid birders. The Inn has 28 rooms in bungalows, most of them are wheel chair accessible, and surrounded by the tropical garden rich in heliconias, gingers, palms and flowering trees, and a beautiful thatched roof porch facing the gardens with hammocks and rocking chairs, from where you can enjoy the view of flowers and birds. On site features include a butterfly house, a frog land, lush tropical gardens, La Galería with an insect’s inventory, two swimming pools and pathways along the riverside as well as a tubing ride and our SPAce of the River. One of the very few Costa Rican hotels certified with 5 leaves in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta De Sarapiqui Country Hotel Sarapiqui
La Quinta Sarapiqui
Country Inn Sarapiqui
Sarapiqui La Quinta
Sarapiqui Country Inn
La Quinta De Sarapiqui Country Inn Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta de Sarapiqui Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.