We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tirimbina Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tirimbina Lodge to your Saves list
Tirimbina Lodge
La Virgen, Sarapiqui, La Virgen, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We are rather puzzled by some of the rave reviews of this place. Maybe it depends where else you have been and where you have stayed. We stayed in a "de luxe" room, which was pretty basic and over-priced compared with other lodges we have stayed in. Our room was large and very simply furnished. The beds were not ver comfortable. We had a double bed and a single, but the double was pushed against the wall, so not good for a couple if one has to get up in the night and climb over there sleeping partner. The little patio was ok, but did not have the rocking chairs the website mentions.
The restaurant is more canteen in style and quality. The food is just basic Costa Rican fare, filling but very simple. Rice and beans at every meal. The staff were lovely, though. Other than a small gift shop there are no other facilities here. No bar, or anywhere other than your room to go to after an early dinner, unless you go on the night walk, which was excellent. This may not be a problem for guests with their own transport, otherwise you're pretty much stuck.
Many reviewers have praised the grounds and rainforest trails, and these are good, especially the long hanging bridge, but it is worth noting that for a small admission fee you can visit these without staying here. Same goes for the other tours people mentioned.
Would we stay here again? No way. The whole place had more the air of a hostel than a decent lodge. The only upside is access to the forest, and you don't have to stay here to get that.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have private patios where you can watch the birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, VA.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The actual accommodations here are just ok. But don't let that stop you from coming here. It was one of our favorite stops of our whole two week trip! The rooms are large, air-conditioned, clean, but plainly decorated. The beds were only average comfortable. But the patio was great to sit out on and watch the many different species of birds that flew by. The food in the restaurant was buffet, and I am not particularly a fan of buffet food. But I would come here again in a minute! Why? This lodge is part of a research facility, and they have trails into the rainforest, including the longest suspension bridge in the country which goes over the Sarapiqui River and offers a stunning view. You can walk the trails at your leisure which is such a great thing! You can also take a trail down to the river. Best of all, they offer a night hike with a guide which was so much fun! We saw sloth, raccoon, possum (a different species from North America), and a porcupine. Not to mention walking across the suspension bridge in the dark with only flashlights and the stars (so beautiful) to light your way! It is also not real touristy, so you can walk the rainforest trails and only see a few people during your whole walk. It is like being in the jungle all by yourself-loved it!

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room with a patio. It is so worth it just to relax and watch the wildlife from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

La Tirimbina is a fantastic "natural" location to stay in Costa Rica. By natural I mean that the priority of this ecolodge is ecotourism. This means the accommodations are comfortable, but this is not a resort, nor would I want it to be. The rooms are comfortable with bunk beds, air conditioning, daily maid service, a shower (using solar warmed water), and a beautiful porch. Breakfast (the only meal I had there) was delicious Costa Rican fare with warm personable service. However the main attraction of this site is the rain forest and the tours.

Manuel did a fantastic job with the bat and chocolate tours we were on. He was excited, entertaining, and even showed us his bat tattoo bashfully. Our guide for the rain forest was knowledgeable and passionate. He could tell you how frigs reproduced, and could sing to the birds and get a response.

Walking the amazing suspension bridge was just one of the many wonders of this organic, soulful place. The gift shop also had a wonderful array of hand made items, chocolate, and various tourist gifts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
829 helpful votes 829 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A great trip after a 20 minute nature walk across a 264 metre canopy bridge to the tended area where chocolate making is explained and you taste every stage of the production.rather expensive at $27 per person and the promised unlimited chocolate was just a few spoons of the liquid - shame at that price. be warned they will not allow you in without covered up feet, even open topped shoes were banned unless you had socks on and you would have to wear their wellies (without socks, so not an option) or sign a waiver negating them of any blame if bitten. The nature trek was not arduous and the only think likely to attack your feet were the leaf ants which generally dont bother - a little over cautious I thought. The chocolate tour was great fun - watch out for the hot stone and some of us got blisters from the heat and were not warned. Also saw a great preying mantis which kindly remained for numerous photos - a bonus!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirimbina, General Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
So sad, that you can not appreciate our tour. We had some snakes accidents in the past, so this is why we ask to wear shoes, if this make you umcomfortable our apologies, but we are trying to keep you safe. The reason why we are not giving that much chocolate, is because we do not have a real plantation, is just some cacao trees, and we depend on others to bring the chocolate. next time we will have more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tirimbina Lodge is the perfect combination of interesting tours and information about the jungle and a relaxing time. We stayed for just one night but had an amazing time. The chocolate tour with Michael and especially Dennis who was doing the demonstration was really cool.

The food could do with a little upgrade and the ladies with a smile, but otherwise a perfect stay! The hanging bridge over the river into the jungle is worth the trip itself!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huldenberg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and it was a very nice start. Walks are very easy. Wifi in the rooms. Although we stayed with 2 adolescents, we had bunk beds which were large. Very nice personal. Food not really great but that's not why you stay at Tirimbina ;-). We really liked it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at la tirimbina for 2 nights and I have to say that this place is marvelous. I had visited before but never stayed. We hiked the trails several times and saw lots of cool birds, monkyes and a mama sloth with a baby.

The rooms are nice with AC and the food is excellent. I took a bat's tour and the guide Jun Carlos was so knowledgeable even though I'm also a tour guide I have so say that I learned a lot from him.
The staff is very friendly and the services are very good.

I will definitely go back soon.


I would recommend this place if you are in Sarapiqui

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirimbina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Address: La Virgen, Sarapiqui, La Virgen, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiquí River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen
Tirimbina Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirimbina Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.