We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you are in Sarapiqui, Go to this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Andrea Cristina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Andrea Cristina
Save
You added Posada Andrea Cristina to your Saves list
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“When you are in Sarapiqui, Go to this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Alex the owner was the most friendly person we have met in Costa Rica! This B&B is a great family runned place. And the accommodations are nice. If you are going to Sarapiqui: Go to this place! Greetings Elisabeth and Robert

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying I don't enjoy staying at resorts and simply sunbathing throughout the entire trip-- Posada Andrea Cristina provides a unique lodging experience where they offer treehouse accommodations! (Super cool!) The room was incredibly clean considering you're jn a rainforest and they also have mosquito nets attached to the bed. It is tastefully decorated with a rustic feel, and features Eco-friendly materials (recycled and reused). The best part though was the service and staff-- the owner Alexander Martinez couldn't have been friendlier and made sure all the guests had everything they needed. The free breakfast was fantastic (fresh fruit, homemade bread, eggs made on request, delicious coffee...)

It is not a 5 star, but it feels more personal than a 5 star and we definitely received bang for our buck. The only reason it wasn't 5 of 5 for location and rooms was because the showers weren't warm (which bothered other ppl in my group, but I thought it was acceptable) and it's located close to a main street so you can hear trucks going by (but that would only affect a light sleeper).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not so quiet : Well the place is near a road. You can hear trafic at night. So what's the point of being in the middle of the forest if you fell like you are in a big city when you close your eyes. Some friends of ours had a tree-house and decided to leave it because the wind was shaking the house too much. The rooms were ok, not dirty... but not extremely clean either.

Cheap : The price was great but I was a little dissapointed overall. Frankly I would have prefered to pay more to have a more quiet room.

Great breakfast : Well I have nothing to say about the breakfast. Perfect. (and the owners were very nice people too).

Overall good quality for a cheap price. But I wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Posada andrea christina is a small paradise! It contains some rooms and two tree houses located in a rainforest-like garden. The rooms are clean but basic, with a clean bathroom with hot water. The rooms look a little worn but were ok. They serve a delicious breakfast with eggs, lots of fruits, bread, ...
The best thing about this place are however the owners. Alex is a real nature lover with a high birding knowledge, who is always prepared to help you. He can give you very good advice on where to bird. In addition, the garden is designed for birds and frogs, and a large number of bird species come to the feeders in the morning during breakfast. His son Kevin offers also natural guided walks, but unfortunately we had to deal with lots of rain (we enjoyed the first half hour before the rain though). If you are looking for a good place as an independant traveller and if you really love nature, I can only advice this place. Enjoy the hammocks!

Room Tip: The tree houses looked great but they were occupied when we travelled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here at the end of November for 2 nights. It was raining during our stay, but it was a short walk to Puerto Viejo. Alex, the owner, put our cloths in the drier. He and his son, Kevin were very hospitable. There was a bird shower every morning with breakfast. They were very excited about identifying the various birds for the guests--even setting up a telescope. We saw more birds at Posada Andrea Cristina than any other place we stayed or even when we were on tours.
The bed was good. There was a mosquito net, but we did not see any mosquitos and did not get bit.
Alex was very accomodating and likable. We would stay at Posada Andrea Cristina again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Looking thru previous reviews, i can't help but wonder - does rain have such an Impact? We did not feel comfortable finding a big cockroache and a worm in the shower as well as a small snake in the bedroom. Due to the rain and clouds, the room seemed so incredible dark. Lots of moscitos and just cold water in the shower. Others already described the noisy nights. I highly recommend to check the weather forecast before u will visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epe, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Posada Andrea Christina is run by the gentle, very polite, relaxed and friendly Alex. He is a perfect host, speaks English fluently and knows a lot about animals/birds. We didn’t enjoy his company however because there were other guests at his place who had no car and therefore needed transportation and a guide. This place is incredibly cheap compared to other lodges. And still it’s an very nice, comfortable place to stay. Each day the place is being maintained by a gardener and a couple of ladies prepare your breakfast, see to the cleaning of the rooms and they even do your laundry on request.

There are a few disadvantages of this nice place. There are so many mosquitoes! Beware to wear long sleeves and trousers instead of shorts and a t-shirt. You will need it. Also the road, which runs straight by the lodge, produces a terrible noise, especially from passing trucks. So you definitely need earplugs to sleep at night! The third minus is when Alex is not around, there is nobody to help you out. Nobody else speaks English, as far as I can tell. Look out for the sign or better still, use navigation, otherwise you will pass by without noticing this place.

The cabins however are romantic and well furnitured. I think Alex has made the cabins and the furniture himself, he is a real craftsman. He is very modest too. Our stay was cheap as it was and he charged so little for the laundry… we decided to give him a good tip because we had such a nice stay. The car can easily be parked next to each cabin, which is great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Andrea Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Andrea Cristina

Address: Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Posada Andrea Cristina Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Andrea Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.