We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away From It All at Moxon's Beach Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moxons Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moxons Beach Club to your Saves list
Moxons Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get Away From It All at Moxon's Beach Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived very late after a four-hour odyssey from Montego Bay via Appleton Estate. Even though the hour was late we were well received, greeted personally by the owner, and upgraded to two great rooms. The morning can be spent sitting on the balcony with a great view of the ocean, the fishermen, and the seabirds. The dining room offers a great breakfast. It takes a while but that's kind of the point. What's the hurry?
The place and the pace really grows on you after a few days (we stayed four). It feels like you are a guest at a friend's beach-side mansion, mahogany stairs and an old bookcase add to the ambiance, and that any moment a guy will order a martini from the bar, shaken not stirred, and say, "The name's Bond...James Bond." There's even a nearby beach called James Bond's beach. This is a great place if you want to get away from it all, and Ocho Rios is just a short, five dollar cab ride away. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
46
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The lavish but quant hotel From the James Bond movie took my breath away.
$25ea way from MBJ airport and 1 1/2 hours to Resort. Our gracious host and Owner Ms Mack gave us a warm welcome upon arrival to Moxons with some sparkling water and a cool damp washcloth.
Most rooms wifi
June through November rainy season.
Has a great Snorkeling beach

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recommended the Moxons Beach Club to a couple of friends almost two years ago. The hotel is only about three miles from the beautiful home of my dear friends where my family and I stayed. This time I needed total relaxation after a fast pace year. I checked in Aught 31 to September 4, 2012. It was like I struck gold, the staff was amazingly friendly and attentive to my every needs. The charm of the hotel with its own private beach, kayaks, music videos at the pool at night and star gazing. My room (405) on the top floor over looks the entire beach area, spectacular view. Coincidentally, it appears that the Moxons is under the orbit of several satellites, I counted 7 satellites in one night sitting on the deck star gazing. Since my stay was the slow season, I was given even more special attention and that's great when ordering a drink at the beach. The Moxons has a special charm that exudes character. I did venture into Ocho Rios and that's a quick eighteen minutes and about $120 Jamaican. It's a boutique hotel without frills of an all inclusive but a joy to experience just like the tasty pomegranates on property. Total R & R.

Room Tip: Room 405 has the best view with its adjacent room. Also room 102, closer to the beach and dining, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband & I got married and honeymooned at Moxon's Beach Club. We had a beautiful king sized room with a private balcony overlooking the most spectacular ocean view. The added touch of flower petals on our bed and flowers spelling out Just Married was unexpected and beautiful. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant and the owner/manager, Johanne went out of her way to make everything just right. We loved that it is a small boutique room, tucked away made it even better - romantic, quiet and special. We go back to celebrate our anniversary every year and get more flower petals. We've found a home at Moxons.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean but the ones higher up have spectacular views. Get one with a private balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My mistake for trying to over plan Jamaica, but..

We knew be arriving late so I asked our resort to recommend a place with a bed and AC that was cheap and close.

the cab arrived at 10pm to a completely dark hotel surrounded by iron gates and reeking of burning wood (so much it made us cough). I looked around and understood the need for the iron gates. I approached the gate and a man silently emerged from the shadows. Checking in I said. Without a word he unlocked and opened the gate and pointed to a lighted room.

A very pleasant -- even exuberant -- woman checked us in, pointed to our room and proudly told us she had even turned the light on. What she should have done was turn the AC on. She told us the bar -- darkened and empty -- was open for another hour, but we wanted to get to the safety of our room ASAP.

Plainly spoken, the room was a dump. The windows were open to let all the heat, humidity and smoke in, there was mold at the bottom of doors to the point where the wood was crumbling. the bed was cement, the linen frayed, I would not remove my socks on the floor.

But the worst part was the AC. it was HOT. It took awhile to figure out how to use the split system and even then it kicked out warmish air. For a small room, it wasn't until 2 or 3 am before the room was below 80 degrees. after traveling all day, it was a nightmare.

We had the cab ready to pick us up first thing the next morning. We took a brief walk to see the ocean -- amazing view -- and a very pleasant woman talked us into breakfast -- "and we have free kayaks too" - even though the cab was coming in 10 minutes. While breakfast cooked we took a look at the small pool -- covered in a layer of scum -- and again marveled at the view. The taxi came before the food and we rushed out to meet it before it even came to a complete stop.

I think we saved maybe $80 by spending the night there -- but lost sleep, several pounds in water weight and parts of our mind. This is not a resort by any stretch of the imagination, I'm not sure I'd even call it a "club". I apologize to the staff for being so harsh in my review, but yikes!!!

Room Tip: Have staff turn on AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calljojamaica, Front Office Manager at Moxons Beach Club, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
How very Sad & surprising!
These guests arrived as we were closing down for the day. At that late hour we were not sure they were coming, The restaurant had just closed at 10pm ., however we do have a chef who lives on property available to offer midnight room service .
When the guest requested the least expensive room for one night, we then assumed at that late hour that the guest might be one of our late night repeat travelors on the raod to Kingston. When these guests arrived, They did not want to be engaged and only wanted to go to bed,..... we normally always offer our guests complementary upgrades, when rooms are available at check in, but these guests were on a mission to go to bed.,
In the morning, The staff was ready & willing to take them snorkling and offered them a freshly cooked local Jamaican breakfast. But the guests ran off the property within 10 minutes of coming out of their room., we had no idea they were having any problems with us., staff is available to remedy any and all within reason and try to interact with guests, but also sence when to keep their distance .., We only had to be asked and be told they were having problems.
As for the pool it had just been completely resurfaced with Diamond Brite (10 day job) and filled up within less than 48 hours., the film was only from the clhorine settling in.,
We only hope the rest of their stay in Jamaica went better for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I spent a couple of days at Moxon with my husband and my four year old son just a couple of weeks ago. The place is so chilled and friendly and served great food. You have a private little clean beach with crystal clear water, lifeguard always on duty. The patio and pool music was awesome. This beach club is authentic yet very stylish, with deep mahogany wood everywhere. There is internet and the view from the rooms and the dining room is to die for. We loved it and we will go back. Joanne, the owner, is a real inspirational human being, with lots of class. Congratulations to her and her staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

On the way back from St Thomas our driver suggested that we stop for a drink at Moxons.

To be honest, we were tired and crabby and wanted to get back to our resort in Montego Bay.

Thank GOODNESS we stopped. The place is just amazing. The beach club is located on the water and from the club one literally feels like one is on a boat (the sea is that close).

The highlight of our experience was that we actually saw a sting ray. The water was so clear that we could watch it feeding for around 20 minutes - magical!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moxons Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxons Beach Club

Address: Boscobel, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moxons Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly built 20 room boutique hotel and restaurant built on 4 levels cascading down to our own private beach flanked by 2 large piers. We are on a one mile reef making this some of the best snorkeling around. 80% of the rooms face the sea with large private verandas. The balance faces our charming courtyard. We do have a restaurant but also encourage you to tour our island and get the full Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Moxons Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxons Beach Club Hotel Boscobel
Moxons Beach Hotel
Hotel Moxons Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxons Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.