We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches Ocho Rios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beaches Ocho Rios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a good family vacation, with beautiful location and fantastic customer service oriented staff. The two hour drive from airport was a bit long but it got us away from the usual hassles. There was a lot of effort at customer service, and it was done well. The beach swimming area was a bit small as in other reviews, but fine for us; water sports were very good, with kayaks, wind surfing, and the speed boat-pulled banana boat ride that my kids loved. Food was very good as well, and wonderful bar services! Room was very nice--we paid for a concierge room though I don't know that we got much extra for that--had to call to track them down and several times the answer was that they couldn't help with that (e.g. you have to call the water sports office direct). The scuba was really beautiful--we came as certified divers so were able to sign up for two dives per day. There was one frightening incident, though, of a divemaster not responding to my son's signals of low air unfortunately to the point we had to do buddy breathing for a safe ascent. I don't think it was malicious or intentional, just a serious mistake--we dove other times with the same person without concerns, just learned to be very alert. Overall a good vacation--might try Beaches and/or Sandals again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    808
    270
    146
    131
See reviews for
1,971
60
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

1 grandma 1 aunt son and daughter in law and 15 and 12 year old grandsons. Enough for all to enjoy, meeting up to dine each evening and share the day's activities. Very friendly, courteous and well trained staff greeting us all with wide smiles and warm words. The grounds are beautifully kept and plantings lovely to behold, a pleasure to wander anywhere. A 2 hr. ride to and fro from the airport gives one the opportunity to see the landscape and notice the lifestyle of the Jamaican people. Each of us enjoyed Beaches 100%.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor, quieter away from foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family recently stayed (July 2013) at the Beaches Ocho Rios in Jamaica. The resort was fantastic. There were plenty of land and water activities for my daughters to keep busy. The staff was outstanding. The pool bartenders were great, Devon, Aaron, Devirowe, Curnel they were entertaining and were a great reflection of the resort. The activity staff was also outstanding, Ash, Renex, Monique, Keniel, Robert, Zane and Dean. Because of our wonderful experience our family will be returning next year in June of 2014, but with (4) families. I would also like to acknowledge Fiona, who booked our stay for next year she was very sweet and personable. She booked all 4 families for next year including us. Besides the property being beautifully landscaped the rooms well appointed and the housekeeping staff was attentive to any needs were required. Thank you for wonderful vacation and keep up the good work it shows!!

Room Tip: a room with the ocean view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our resort. We're so thrilled that you all had a great stay with us at Beaches Ocho Rios. We love to hear about the wonderful experiences of our guests and we're thrilled that we were able to make your experience so memorable.

We can't wait to see you all next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms Brook, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family of 5 traveled to beaches Ocho Rios in August of 2012, this was a great place!! So much for the kids to do. The staff was terrific!! Our kids made friends with quite a few of them and still keep in contact with a couple of them. It was about a 2 hour ride from the airport and it was a pretty wild bus ride!! The resort is clean and the food was great!! Our kids loved to eat at the Arizona's they went one night without us and enjoyed dinner by themselves while we went to eat Italian. The pools and slides are loads of fun for the kids as well. Our kids also did the certification and scuba diving. They really enjoyed it but did not see much while they were diving. Beaches exceeded our expectations!!! This was one of the most enjoyable vacations!!!! Only downfall was a lot of remodeling going on during our stay. We will return and highly recommend this resort! A++++ to the staff!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed with my husband and 11-year old daughter at Beaches Ocho Rios (formerly known as Beaches Boscobel) in Jamaica, and we had an awesome time. The resort has undergone major renovations and it has a great water park for the entire family. The rooms are very well appointed, beautiful surroundings, and the staff are very welcoming and super friendly.
Special thanks to Shannekuia (sorry for mispelling your first name, I'm almost positive it's not right). You are a wonderful young lady with a beautiful smile!! Thank you for making us feel at home away from home....We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We're delighted to read that you had such an amazing trip. We always want the genuine hospitality of our staff to make you feel welcomed and at home. Also, we're glad that you got a chance to enjoy our newly renovated water park. Thank you for your great review of Beaches Ocho Rios.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you like noise and Bob Marley Music you are in for a right treat!! In fairness as a family holiday there is plenty to keep the kids entertained. The staff are genuinely friendly, however if you have a hangover, avoid the Bayside restaurant for breakfast as the singing from Juanita is hard to bear. The food is OK, however I have seen better variety and presentation at other hotels in the Caribbean. The al a carte restaurants are good with service to match. The rooms and resort are looking a bit tired despite the refurbishment that took place recently. They do try hard to keep the place clean, but there are always dirty plates and cups around. There is some construction on the beach where they are building a new jetty, this is fairly noisy during the day. Would I go back, probably not, Beaches is not the cheapest resort and for me it didnt justify the aditional spend Vs other 4/5 star hotels like RIU or Iberostar.

Room Tip: There are a number of problematic rooms due to noise polution, rooms 12xx are very near what can onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of five traveled to Beaches Ocho Rios 7/6 - 7/13/13.
The vacation was great. The property is very well run and the staff is so genuine.
It was so nice to see such a genuine level of mutual respect from so many people.
Thank you to the ladies in the 5-7 year old kid's camp. They do a great job with the kids.
Neptune Restaurant was great with superior service from AlDane & Kirklon.
Venetian Restaurant was great with superior service from Orean & Anthony
Bayside Restaurant was good with superior cooking from Gavin and superior service from Juanita
I would highly recommend this property to any family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.